PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
I have a few questions related to word clocking using Xite-1 and A16

Does it make a difference which device acts as WC master? Is the clock inside Xite better than the one in the A16 (or vice versa)?

Does an external clock (like a Big Ben or anything for that matter) improve anything?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20806
Location: ghetto by the sea
both clocks are excellent, and both were designed by the same person. if it's an older A16 Ultra, the XITE is probably better.

yes, an external clock is better, but the difference is VERY subtle, probably so samll that your clients would never know the difference. if you have 3 or more digital devices to clock together, an external clock is probably a good move, but if it's just the XITE and the A16, i wouldn't bother unless you just have money to burn.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
Cool thanks Gary. I've been using the A16 Ultra (older black-face Sonic Core version) as master but I think I'll experiment with the Xite as master. I have a session tonite I'll see if I can detect a difference. I'm still so impressed with the quality improvement clocking made on my system I've been wondering if an external clock would make it even better lol There seems to be a lot of voodoo out there in reference to clocking. The cost of acquisition for an external clock is rather steep in most cases (unless u buy used). I'll respond back with my findings.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
Well, that was fast.

I tried running with Xite as WC master, and A16 Ultra as WC slave, and that random crackling/popping I had reported a month or so ago came back.

With ADAT source modules A & B fully connected to 16 input channels of the STM2448, I am getting consistent crackling on channels 1-8 (source A) and only periodic random crackling on channels 9-16 at 44.1 kHz.

Switching to 48Khz, I only see consistent popping from channels 2-8 and nothing at all on channels 9-16.

So, this setup is not going to work for me. It's back to using A16 as WC master and XITE as slave.

Any thoughts?


Last edited by krizrox on Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20806
Location: ghetto by the sea
whatever way works best is fine imo.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
krizrox wrote:
Well, that was fast.

I tried running with Xite as WC master, and A16 Ultra as WC slave, and that random crackling/popping I had reported a month or so ago came back.

With ADAT source modules A & B fully connected to 16 input channels of the STM2448, I am getting consistent crackling on channels 1-8 (source A) and only periodic random crackling on channels 9-16 at 44.1 kHz.

Switching to 48Khz, I only see consistent popping from channels 2-8 and nothing at all on channels 9-16.

So, this setup is not going to work for me. It's back to using A16 as WC master and XITE as slave.

Any thoughts?

That sounds familiar: nearly the same behavior with the new A16. Only on the new one, 48KHz has crackles everywhere.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
I know, it was disappointing to see that problem rear it's ugly head again. Anyway - it's not worth losing sleep over. The way I had it before works fine. I know now to just leave it alone and get on with life lol


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12615
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
I guess I should be grateful I don't have issues.
I only wish we had more source and destinations and cascadable A16s...

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am
Posts: 232
I found a minimal improvement audio quality with external clocking, clients could not hear the difference. It was a necessary complication for one project and then I switched back to internal clocking. I found my system became very unstable due to static shocks that would crash xite and cause cascading protection fault errors on a regular basis. Very annoying. This could be due to my choice of an inexpensive clock (Art gensync) but I can't say for certain. Could also be a grounding problem in my system, but it only happens with external sync.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12615
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Mutec is the bomb, especially if video and SMPTE are being used.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
catscratch wrote:
I found a minimal improvement audio quality with external clocking, clients could not hear the difference. It was a necessary complication for one project and then I switched back to internal clocking. I found my system became very unstable due to static shocks that would crash xite and cause cascading protection fault errors on a regular basis. Very annoying. This could be due to my choice of an inexpensive clock (Art gensync) but I can't say for certain. Could also be a grounding problem in my system, but it only happens with external sync.

ART syncgen works here without any probs. Of course, not with A16.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 clocking
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am
Posts: 232
[quote="DragonSF"
ART syncgen works here without any probs. Of course, not with A16.[/quote]

Good to know. I will be forced to try again one day.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group