PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1893
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Very strange / bad issue !

To day, impossible to launch any project. I made a fresh Scope install, the issue is still there. After a lot of search, I finally find that when I launch the STM4896, even alone (!), Scope crashes !

Gary, HELP ! I begin to believe my Xite-1 has an hardware problem ! ShshshshiiiiT ! What could that be ??

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
dunno, but it's something that only affects your machine, i think.

do you have a Scope PCI system as well? is it possible that you're using a project that originally was in a PCI system?

i think a reinstall might be in order.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1893
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
TOTALLY INSANE !!

I've found what brakes my balls since 7 hours !! It was the STM4896 preset file that seems to be corrupted ! Incredible ! Only this ! I was already planning to contact SC and to send the Xite-1 in Germany !

PpFFFFfffff !!

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1893
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Oh ! Gary ! I think we posted together...

Everything is fine finally, after deleting the STM4896 preset file !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
:lol:

all's well that ends well, i guess...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 643
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Wouldn't be the first time a corrupted or somehow or other borked preset file sexually penetrates you from an oblique angle. Just doesn't occur to think of that right off the bat with the mixers. I sometimes temporarily copy the presets for all the plugs in my project to a different folder so the device cant find them and then load what I want from there when the perpetrator shows up, I remove the device from the project, delete or rename the preset file without the screwy one in it and then reload the device and move on. with another preset Pain int he butt however you can re save the good ones to the original location and then delete the copies. Just remember SCOPE, like all geniuses are by nature eccentric and idiosyncratic from time to time. I back up my presets to a different folder (most of the time) in case of just such a scenario. Hopefully the preset you lost is not too hard to recreate. I n my case I can store the parameters in a UC-33e or a BCF 2000 program and send them back into SCOPE via MIDI and then save them as a preset. After so many years you learn to work your way around and most times stuff is never lost when you have the experience. SCOPE is not for the weak of heart or the plug and play crowd. If you're on this board you know what i mean.

_________________
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1893
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
This preset file was very old, I started it with PCI's. But I already had issues with it. And 2 months ago, when I saved it for the 1000° time, it crashes Scope and the file was 0kb. But I had a backup. But this time, I'm going to start a new preset file from scratch and will not use the backup one ! I use mainly STM preset for midi cc since STM doesn't want to keep cc assignments.

Anyway... I was the first time I have such an issue and I was really worring because after trying all tricks I know, it was still there ! But now, I know, that's the way one learns ! And it could help other users if they have similar troubles.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
yes, exactly why we are here...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1893
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
ronnie wrote:
I n my case I can store the parameters in a UC-33e or a BCF 2000 program and send them back into SCOPE via MIDI and then save them as a preset. After so many years you learn to work your way around and most times stuff is never lost when you have the experience.

:-? I don't get it ! How do you store Scope parameters in a BCF 2000 ? :-? Or maybe I didn't understand well... Again ...

Fo my BCF 2000, I use this very convenient editor : http://mountainutilities.eu/bcmanager. But I'd like to know how to store Scope parameters in a BCF !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scope crash when lauching STM 4896
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2460
hey JoPo, I think he means he has a template in BCF, and then a preset list in scope, and sometimes he needs to re-co,figure the midi CC the usual way (send midi CC to a parameter to learn in scope) :-)

_________________
plug-ins for scope


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: petal and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group