PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 4:17 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Hi,

Has there been any known issues with LGA socket 2011 v1 working or not working with Xite-1?

1151 is known not to work with Xite-1

I mention 2011 v1 although it was just known as 2011 before v3 arrived.

X79 LGA 2011 - Any known issues?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12610
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Chipsets are what seem to be where the issues are.
Z77/87/97 work great
Z170 is where I experienced ASIO issues.
Scope worked great, but ASIO would be seen then disconnected.

I am looking forward to AMD and skipping the Z170.

X99 and Scope works fine on the PCI Cards a guy in Vegas uses.
X79 should be okay....

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3168
Just so you know, I had huge issues with X99 and XITE:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33610&start=20

I ended up with a Z79 which works fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 3:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Mr Arkadin wrote:
Just so you know, I had huge issues with X99 and XITE:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33610&start=20

I ended up with a Z79 which works fine.


Yes it was X79 that I was asking about for Xite which is LGA 2011 v1 which may be same as Z79 [sort of]-

Garyb already mentioned 1155 Z-77 works OK on Xite but not for PCI cards. And now X79 is OK for Xite.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 6:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:42 pm
Posts: 358
I'm using a p79x79 from Asus, and i7 3930k, and it works perfectly with xite, lots of pciexpress slots, no shared irq.
Looks like a strong chipset.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 5:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
guppy wrote:
I'm using a p79x79 from Asus, and i7 3930k, and it works perfectly with xite, lots of pciexpress slots, no shared irq.
Looks like a strong chipset.


That's good to read X79 ! LGA 2011 v1 - Good CPU the 3930k - Have you overclocked? - Also good was 3770k [not as good as 3930k] 1155 Z77 that works OK on Xite-1 apparently.

I don't have any Z-170 1151 but do have 2011 v3 which won't go near Xite-1 if it doesn't work

Off topic but it'll be 1150 on PCI cards if the P5 Q 775 stops working!!!

I'm surprised X99 doesn't work on Xite


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:42 pm
Posts: 358
Quote:
That's good to read X79 ! LGA 2011 v1 - Good CPU the 3930k - Have you overclocked?


Sure !
It's heavily overclocked cause i'm mining altcoins with it when i'm sleeping (in fact i'm always mining with it, just with 2 or 3 core :) )
AVX is really powerful on this computer :)
I was running an i7 860 just before that was really nice too, but there's no braining, it's another world !
can go easily to 4200Mhz, for each core, with quasi low temp (i'm using a very big coooler).
It's just warming my studio as it must be in winter :)


Last edited by guppy on Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:42 pm
Posts: 358
Sorry, got a problem with editing :)


Last edited by guppy on Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:42 pm
Posts: 358
then again :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
guppy wrote:
Quote:
That's good to read X79 ! LGA 2011 v1 - Good CPU the 3930k - Have you overclocked?


Sure !
It's heavily overclocked cause i'm mining altcoins with it when i'm sleeping (in fact i'm always mining with it, just with 2 or 3 core :) )
AVX is really powerful on this computer :)
I was running an i7 860 just before that was really nice too, but there's no braining, it's another world !
can go easily to 4200Mhz, for each core, with quasi low temp (i'm using a very big coooler).
It's just warming my studio as it must be in winter :)


Hi,

A bit off topic, mining alt coins , is this bit coin digital currency? - And you "mine" whilst you are sleeping with 3930 k over locked on 3 of the 6 cores.

You mine to get digital currency right?-How do you do this?
When you wake up you have digital currency that has been mined right?
What do you do then?-With this "mined" alt coins?

don't know anything about this and it's off topic slightly :lol:

Just read online it runs up your electricity bill and costs you money and your hardware gets abused and someone else makes money but not much, who would want to do this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Mr Arkadin wrote:
Just so you know, I had huge issues with X99 and XITE:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33610&start=20

I ended up with a Z79 which works fine.


I'm sorry to hear this :cry: - :roll: - Was this a one off? - or is it generally known that X99 is not good for Xite-1? - PCI cards would be out of the question anyway on X99 due to PCI absence of slots.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3168
fraz wrote:
Mr Arkadin wrote:
Just so you know, I had huge issues with X99 and XITE:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33610&start=20

I ended up with a Z79 which works fine.


I'm sorry to hear this :cry: - :roll: - Was this a one off? - or is it generally known that X99 is not good for Xite-1? - PCI cards would be out of the question anyway on X99 due to PCI absence of slots.


If you read my thread you'll see I tried four different X99 boards and none worked.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Mr Arkadin wrote:
fraz wrote:
Mr Arkadin wrote:
Just so you know, I had huge issues with X99 and XITE:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33610&start=20

I ended up with a Z79 which works fine.


I'm sorry to hear this :cry: - :roll: - Was this a one off? - or is it generally known that X99 is not good for Xite-1? - PCI cards would be out of the question anyway on X99 due to PCI absence of slots.


If you read my thread you'll see I tried four different X99 boards and none worked.


Yes OK I didn't read your threads, sorry - I did start looking through but it's 7 pages so I'll have another look later on


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Hello Mr Arkadin

I did read several pages of your problems with X99 motherboards - I can't say I understood all of it but I am surprised that the PCI-e 2 X 1 slots did not work which are available on the Asus X99 Pro. I did note what Garyb mentioned about inserting Xite-1 PCI-e card into a x1 slot so if I ever try this in the future I'll be sure to try the x1 slot but I won't expect it to work.

It was very odd Garyb talking about Z77 chipset PCI slots not working with the PCI cards [Pulsar 2 etc...] but they do work fine with 1150 Z97 which came after Z77.

Z77 apparently works well with Xite-1

Sometimes on a motherboard if a PCI-e slot is used the PCI-e x 1 slots do not work.

An example of this MSI Z97 GAMING 3 - If PCI-e slot x4 speed is used then ALL two PCI-e x 1 slots will not work.

I'm not saying this occured on X99 - I'm as keen as you to know what works and what doesn't on both my Xite-1 and the PCI cards and then try to remember for future reference.

Going back to Z77 not working with PCI slots but 1150 Z97 working with PCI slots and X99 not working with Xite maybe the next incarnation will.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3168
Another problem is modern graphics cards often cover one of the PCI-e slots - usually the one you would prefer to use!


Last edited by Mr Arkadin on Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Mr Arkadin wrote:
Another problem is modern graphics cards often cover on of the PCI-e slots - usually the one you would prefer to use!


Yes maybe if it's a bigger memory card - There are slimmer cards available -

After reading your thread on X99 problems I googled and found this

http://forum.tcelectronic.com/topic/172 ... ainboards/

According to the author of the thread he used Asrock X99 WS which does not have a single pci-e x1 slot

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/X99%20WS ... ifications

But his Xite and UAD worked but one of his other TC Electronic cards did not work - A different problem hence the post

Do you know of anyone else who has got X99 to work with Xite-1 or Xite-D here on Planet Z?

I'm a semi- geek like you - Sort of reluctant to learn enough to get by - and building a computer but not anything major!!!

Sometimes there can be BIOS settings [don't ask me which ones] that affect how things work - Apart from that Scope should work out of the box and I'm confused a little how you've had such a bad time with X99 and the person above in the link has got Xite working with AsRock motherboard


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3168
I had an ASUS X99-S at home and tried many BIOS tweaks. Did nothing.

Went to the manufacturer with my XITE and tried another ASUS X99-S. Same result as my one at home. We then tried another ASUS X99 model (can't remember which, maybe Deluxe) and tried a Gigabyte X99 (can't remember which model, but it had a x1 slot which we natuarlly tried first). We did all this with a slim video card so I could try all the slots and tweaked BIOS settings as per garyb's usual suggestions. None worked past about four or six ASIO channels as I recall.

Next we tried it with a Z97-K (the cheapest Z97) and it worked first time, with a large graphics card and no BIOS tweaking. I ended up getting the Z97 Pro on my final machine spec.


Last edited by Mr Arkadin on Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Don't you mean X79 Pro Asus? - Which CPU did you go with?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3168
All failed boards were X99 variants (ASUS and Gigabit) - actually I just checked and it was X99-S that I had originally.

The good board (for me) was the ASUS Z97 Pro. Processors are i7-4790K (overclocked).

Sorry for the confusion - have edited my posts to reflect this in case anyone else comes across this thread.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: LGA 2011 v1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 1:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Springfield !
Mr Arkadin wrote:
All failed boards were X99 variants (ASUS and Gigabit) - actually I just checked and it was X99-S that I had originally.

The good board (for me) was the ASUS Z97 Pro. Processors are i7-4790K (overclocked).

Sorry for the confusion - have edited my posts to reflect this in case anyone else comes across this thread.


According to DAWMAN here on forum - mentions it is "motherboard chipsets" that cause the problem with Scope PCI or Xite so your X99 S chipset that caused the problem. I've got some X99 motherboards with 5820k CPU for my sins. What CPU did you use on your X99S?

S|C haven't as yet been able to release an update - As far as X99 goes compared to Z97 there are differences in the way in some "programming" somewhere - I did read something about it but forgot but the important issue is there are differences.

https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/X99S/

X99 motherboards though are excellent with lots of RAM OK it's DDR4 and the Hawell-E CPU processors are fabulous too.

As it is I've got several Z97 motherboards as they are not produced anymore so lets say hypothetically S|C never release Scope 7 then I should be OK to use Scope with the Z97 boards. If X99 just don't work which is how it looks then they can be used for something else.

Someone else has had great results on Xite with X79 chipset - for example Asus P9X79 Pro with Intel 3930k CPU [6 cores] LGA 2011 not to be confused with LGA 2011 v3 X99.

It seems Z97 is just safe with Scope and i7 4790k is a great CPU too

There doesn't seem to be many others [if any] who have tried X99 on Xite apart from the thread further up from the TC forum. The X99 boards don't have any PCI slots so useless for PCI cards so if the X99 boards just don't work they are useless for Scope full stop.

It seems you tested 4 of the X99 boards which seems conclusive and Asus are ranked pretty much the best along with MSI and Gigabyte with the same chipsets.

With differences in X99 compared to Z97 it's obvious the "goal posts" have moved and with lack of updates from S|C has given rise to this situation. I'm not finger pointing here, just speaking about it.

Lets say an update comes from S|C and then in x years the goal posts shift again which requires more maintenance from S|C you can see the periodic "endless" cycle but if WE Scopers have Z97 we'll be OK :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group