PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:55 am
Posts: 12
Hello,

first of all thank you for the great posts about pc-configurations helped me a lot to exclude and test out several options.

I have bought a very nice silent 0db pc with the following configuration :

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P Board
NVM M2 Samsung 950 Pro (500GB)
intel Core i5-6600 4x 3,3 - 3,9GHz
32GB DDR4-2133 Crucial 4x8GB
Windows 7 Professional 64Bit

Problem :
i get a master overflow - pci limit reached error if i use more as 10 ASIO Inputs while loading ableton live (or switching to the asio driver)
with my old system i could go up to 24 ASIO Inputs with no problem...

the following things didn't change anything
- using 32bit win7
- changing graphic cards resolution
- changing the asio modules devices
- moving card to different slots (always stays at irq19 together with family controller)
- changing different bios settings, turning off all internal cards like audio, network
- changing main frequency
- turn off speed stepping and all mentioned tips about cpu sleep states and changes
- removing all other scope devices in and outputs
- changing samplerate
- changing latency ULLI mode

Masterverbs (20+) then i gave up... :)

so if you have any other tip that i maybe can get 16 channels out of this great system is welcomed...
otherwise i have to send it back... and will try a system with a asus or msi motherboard as this seem to have less problems...

any flawless current motherboard configuration appreciated

all the best,
Helmut / Klartraum


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
is that an XITE or a PCI card?

PCI cards seem to work well with socket 1151 motherboards, but XITEs seem to have issues....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:55 am
Posts: 12
Hi Gary,

thanks for fast reply...

yes an xite-1 with a pci x1 card... (DVI(looks like it) -> HDMI)

all the best,
Helmut


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:55 am
Posts: 12
Hi Gary,

any mainboards or brands that work good with xite ?

all the best,
Helmut


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
the Z97 motherboards are almost a gen old now, but they're probably the best choice at this time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12700
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
I even suggest buying a spare as Z170 and B150s are having trouble with ASIO.
When mine wear out in 2020 Ill be goung to UAD and Crapple/Mac.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New computer - limited asio channels - any tip welcome
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Posts: 181
Location: New York
I've actually never had a motherboard die, but I also never had a motherboard longer than 5 years. I'm really hoping my current motherboard Supermicro X8DAI lasts for the next 10 years. I kind of love it. It seems to be able to run three 15 DSP PCI cards and XITE-1 simultaneously with Ableton just fine. I haven't used it much since I got my XITE-1 but when I tested it the whole thing was running and it was dynamite! I'm waiting to get some gear back from repair before I can make music again, but yeah, the new setup is crazy. I'll post the details of my entire setup once I have it finished.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group