PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1?)
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Posts: 181
Location: New York
Is the best mixer for XITE1 one of the stock mixers since they are optimised for XITE1? Is the SpaceF Modular Mixer in use by anyone currently? I'm not a wizard on the mixing board so I'm not someone who would benefit the most from the advanced capabilities available in the Modular Mixer. I have enjoyed messing around with the Modular Mixer with my PCI cards and would like to know if that's a sensible plugin to transfer or if I should just stick with the stock mixers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1431
It works, but routing a large (32chan) mixer with all components can be tricky. Sticking to DSPs 7-10 works the best. This, is also where the stock STM24 and STM48 get placed. I like the modular mixer as I built effects into the mixer instead of using a ton of aux channels on the standard mixers (plus it has stereo aux!). Otherwise, for standard mixing duties, the STM mixers are great. I did the built in effects for live/improvised uses.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 349
I tend to use the MB7 module a lot as a stems mixer out of the back of a STM 24 when mixing.
I agree with JK, putting together a large mixer with these modules can be problematic with DSP usage
Great concept though.
maus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
Try Roy's DAW mixers and see if they suit you. I have been testing the updated DAWMix24 on my Xite Scope 5.1 64bit and it is working great.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=33979


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12700
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
For live work RoyT mixers are solid.
SpaceFs MB7 with the 247 Stem works great.
Been using STM 1632X lately as my needs are meager.
SpaceFs AUX Bleeder is really great though
Lots of cool ways to bleed Delays into Reverb and Chorus.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2386
Hi there,
That's my default project modular mixer setup under xite-1 / win 7 pro 64 bits, for quite a while now, a few years I think.
I am using it without a problem with studio one v3, and various external sources (synths, mic, guitar , bass etc).
I have several gates, Vincos, Eqs etc in the channels in the default project. I can add modulators, synths etc if needed, but i confess i under-use the xite in favour of vstis and hardware synths these days, eventhough I would not change it (xite/mod mixer) for anything else for direct inputs of synths, guitars, mics etc. it works perfect for live too (i am just rehearsing stuff for fun, hoping that i will be able to bring my whole setup on a scene in a few month, which is just a matter of working a few tracks, and finding a couple of other musicians (and a big car or a truck because my setup begins to be heavy and big ;-)

(pic is 80% of real size).


Attachments:
MODULAR-MIXER-XITE.jpg
MODULAR-MIXER-XITE.jpg [ 448.53 KiB | Viewed 950 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 4:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12700
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Cool the way DSP 18 gets maxed out.

I find that leaves room for everything else after the last 4 are packed.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2386
dawman wrote:
Cool the way DSP 18 gets maxed out.

I find that leaves room for everything else after the last 4 are packed.


Yes, dsp 18 is fully used, then the dsp 17 is less than 15%, and the few first ones are around 30 / 40%.
I can still load many stuff.

Also, I don't use DSP allocation, I let Scope do its thing by itself, it works just fine that way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 774
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Where is the Modular mixer available? Where to buy? Or free?

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2386
Hi Anabella, I just sent you a PM, but basically, the reason why it is not available is because I cannot provide support because I don't have much time right now, nor can I send help files or manuals as everything was lost when spacef-devices was hacked and I lost the web files. It was also made on Scope PCI and eventhough everything works fine, may be there are ways to optimize it for Xite, which means rebuilding it almost from scratch, and I currently don't have much time to do that seriously.
Thanks for your interest.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2386
dawman wrote:
Cool the way DSP 18 gets maxed out.

I find that leaves room for everything else after the last 4 are packed.


There is something to know when this DSP is packed, because you might think that Xite won't let you add any connection.
In fact it is possible, but needs a little bit of project-rebuilding.
You may get messages like "no more connections from DSP x to DSP Y (or DSP "d"). In fact that's how you can add many connections:

- First make a backup copy of your working project, just in case.

- then you need to remove a couple of modules from the project: check on the DSP meter that the dsp that was full is now less full.

- save that project. I save it as a default project, so it loads imme di ately on scope restart, and dsp allocation is not "polluted" by a previous project.
- Exit the Scope application, then re-start it : that's how you really "flush" xite's "memory of connections" that are still there even if DSPs look half used (meaning even with a less full dsp, you can't add connections until you have exitted and restarted scope app.

- Now, once the project is restarted, load again the modules that you need (the ones that you removed), and connect them as usual: it should work without problem. And add the connections that you couldn't add: now you can.

- Save your new project with the additional connections,

- re-exit scope, and restart it: the new project should load fine (and Xite will put all the connections on the last DSP(s) ) .

That's something I posted somewhere on Z already, but worth posting again, as I needed to add 4 connections to ADATs, and Xite won't let me, while I had no problems adding devices and effects here and there. I even used ligheter devices, but it did not work. That's how I remembered that scope in xite keeps a trace of the connections, and has to be "flushed" by closing the app and restarting it.

So try to remember that trick: when Xite says that it has no more connections availale between 2 DSPs, the solution is most of the time to remove a few modules/devices to free like 25%-30% of that DSP. Then save, then restart, and add modules and do connections only when scope app is restarted, because at this moment it is still "dynamic" and the application did not yet allocate all the connections of the modular mixer to the DSP 18.

With that trick, you can add a lot of connections to a project that said you could not a few minutes ago.

Generally, it's enough to remove 1 router/stem. but it depends on each project. You will quickly find out though. You can always make tries to see which individual module frees the most of DSP 18, and save a preset of that module to be recalled later on, then apply the full procedure above-described.

And remember, the important thing is to exit and restart scope to flush its "memory of connections between dsps", otherwise, it won't let you go anywhere.... Myself, at some point I even switched thee Xite rack off and restarted the PC, but I am not sure it is necessary. Exiting and restarting scope with less modules on that DSP 18 is the real trick.

Happy modular mixing :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 2:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:11 pm
Posts: 146
spacef wrote:
... as everything was lost when spacef-devices was hacked and I lost the web files. ... I currently don't have much time ... .

das ist sehr schade :cry:
good luck in 2017!!

_________________
|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅] Lange Welle, Mittelwelle, Kurze Welle, Ultra Kurze Welle


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12700
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Your advice is appreciated.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SpaceF Modular Mixer in 2016 (anyone using it with XITE1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 780
Location: Portugal
Great advice, I didn't know this.

I always use the MB7 on my projects, btw.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group