PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:05 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
Seems like this should be a no-brainer but I'm vexed.

I wanted to route Windows audio (mainly internet audio through my browser) directly through XITE/Scope. In effect, XITE is now my soundblaster lol

Problem is I'm getting nothing. It appears as though Windows recognizes XITE as the default sound system but I've tried loading all the various WAVE source modules in Scope and am seeing/hearing nothing. I'm sure it's a mouse click somewhere or OS config problem perhaps. I disabled the on-board soundcard in BIOS.

Any suggestions?

PS - using Win 10 Home 64.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1431
I added a second XITE WAVE source device to my projects, and that's the one that seems to have sound from the system.

I think the system sets up 2 wave ports to the XITE by default, but the project only has one. I never bothered to look into changing windows configs/registry to use the first WAVE source (or reduce it to only 1 instead of 2 that the system sees by default), but I'd guess that it is possible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
click on speaker icon near the clock and choose playback devices. one of the SonicCore XITE-1 "speakers" is the proper choice.

but first, you have to restart two services. with Scope open, right click on Computer" and choose "manage". click on "services". find "Windows Audio". right click and choose "restart". go to "Windows Audio Endpoint Builder" and again right click and choose "restart". audio should work.

welcome to Windows 10.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
jksuperstar wrote:
I added a second XITE WAVE source device to my projects, and that's the one that seems to have sound from the system.

I think the system sets up 2 wave ports to the XITE by default, but the project only has one. I never bothered to look into changing windows configs/registry to use the first WAVE source (or reduce it to only 1 instead of 2 that the system sees by default), but I'd guess that it is possible.



thanks for the suggestion - tried that still getting nothing. I see two instance of XITE in the control panel/sound/playback window (labeled "speakers"). There are also two instances of the SPDIF interface.

ahhh just saw Gary's response let me try that back in a sec


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
garyb wrote:
click on speaker icon near the clock and choose playback devices. one of the SonicCore XITE-1 "speakers" is the proper choice.

but first, you have to restart two services. with Scope open, right click on Computer" and choose "manage". click on "services". find "Windows Audio". right click and choose "restart". go to "Windows Audio Endpoint Builder" and again right click and choose "restart". audio should work.

welcome to Windows 10.


Thanks Gary - tried all that still seeing no audio activity through XITE/Scope. I have the simple Wave Source module loaded in Scope feeding into a dynamic mixer (mainly just to see activity). So far nothing. Tried the Wave 24 bit source module too. There's a YouTube video playing. Should hear something


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
you have to have the correct "speaker" selected. the number 2 speaker is probably the correct one. there isn't anything else.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
garyb wrote:
you have to have the correct "speaker" selected. the number 2 speaker is probably the correct one. there isn't anything else.



Ahh - working now! Thanks Gary!

so the solution was to make the second instance of "speakers" the default device. I had to reboot the computer to make it work. Only one Wave source driver loaded in Scope. I assume this configuration will "stick" so that I can use it as a default going forward. I can hear the improvement in sound quality already. Very nice.

Cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12699
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Damn.
Ive been including a 24bit Wave Source module giving it a stereo mixer channel for years.
Now I can do it the right way.

On 2nd thought I might miss the reverb settings I add to liven things up.

SSB Modulator really mangles things up by speeding things up and altering pitch....

Nope.

The new way will be a fresh approach.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows audio through XITE/Scope
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
dawman wrote:
Damn.
Ive been including a 24bit Wave Source module giving it a stereo mixer channel for years.
Now I can do it the right way.

On 2nd thought I might miss the reverb settings I add to liven things up.

SSB Modulator really mangles things up by speeding things up and altering pitch....

Nope.

The new way will be a fresh approach.



Right! Exactly! I was doing the same thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group