PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:36 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Xite-1 and Alesis BRC?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:37 am
Posts: 304
Is there any way to make the beautiful Alesis BRC work with an Xite-1 to control VDAT?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 and Alesis BRC?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20815
Location: ghetto by the sea
not really.

with PCI cards and a Syncplate it was once possible, but even then it was only at 48k and it didn't work as nicely as one would hope.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 and Alesis BRC?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:37 am
Posts: 304
What PCI cards are actually compatible with the Sync Plate?
Are these only Pulsar II and the cards with 14/15 DSP or also Pulsar I and Luna (or other ones)?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 and Alesis BRC?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20815
Location: ghetto by the sea
all of them.

i messed around with this 10 years ago. i was never happy with it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite-1 and Alesis BRC?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 7938
Location: Germany
just spottet this topic...
I agree with Gary - it's a rather bitchy setup - wouldn't consider it in a regular DAW environment
but might be a valid option to recycle both a Pulsar One and a BRC into something useful for tracking

it's very sensitive regarding sync and RS-232 serial connection
even worse: Alesis delivered wrong cables with some BRC units and due to the lenght of the cable this indeed matters
(there's a note from Alesis how to identify the proper ones)
high quality serial cables are almost absent in today's PC stores

I've setup a dedicated Win98 box for a BRC controlled VDAT, but put it on hold as my trusted old Pulsar One suffers from SRam Amnesia

when I used it's predecessor it generally worked fine, but some control-leds for track state flickered from time to time
it didn't seem to do anything, but was irritating... not sure about the reason
you may have to care for proper tape length when 'formatting', eg create a tape via Scope
a real Adat tape has several minutes of Data content before the audio starts

the real trouble is that the BRC will not show you that it lost sync with the software (which may happen)
so it looks like it's doing it's job but actually nothing gets recorded
the original Alesis BRC manual is a must-read (it's online, as is the service manual)

cheers, Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group