A couple more Xite questions

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

auricle

A couple more Xite questions

Post by auricle »

Hi guys,

I'm still learning as much as I can about Xite before I make the order (probably next week). I do have a couple of questions, though.

1) I understand that there is the XTC mode for using Xite's plugins within a host's mixer as a VST plugin. You can also forego using a host's mixer at all and do everything within the Xite. But is it possible to do both at the same time? For example, I have a couple of tracks where I want to use my favourite VST plugins or even a VSTi plugin and other tracks I want to send to the Xite for mixing, adding dsp effects, etc. Could I do this? use both the Xite's mixer and the host's mixer at the same time to use both native plugins and dsp plugins? I think an either/or situation would be a bit limiting.

2) I've heard glowing reviews about the quality of the dsp synths - Minimax being the 'cream of the crop' of Minimoog emulations. However, I don't hear anything mentioned about the effects. What are they like compared some native offerings e.g. some of the reverbs such as Arts Acoustic Reverb, IK CSR or even the new Lexicon plugins?

Thank you!
pollux

Re: A couple more Xite questions

Post by pollux »

Hi,

1) what you mention is not XTC, but normal scope mode. you add your favourite VSTi or VST FX to tracks, pre mix them in the host, and then send them through ASIO for mixing and adding DSP FX in Scope. You can even send back the output (direct, buses or full mix) back to the host for recording these parts.
In XTC, you load the DSP FXs and Synths like regular VST/VSTi, alongside your native VST/VSTi, but they are processed in the DSPs and not in the CPU (same as UAD or Duende).
You can also have a mixer in XTC mode, where you can set up monitoring mixes, add bigger FX chains with zero latency, and so.. but you cannot use Scope's routing window.