XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21720
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by garyb » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:42 pm

Sony Vostro 1400 1.8gb core2 duo/ 2gb/ win7 64bit/ expresscard-
works really well and was dirt cheap. i did turn off all the cpu power management/stepping.

User avatar
alfonso
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Fregene.
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by alfonso » Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:25 pm

garyb wrote:Sony Vostro 1400 1.8gb core2 duo/ 2gb/ win7 64bit/ expresscard-
works really well and was dirt cheap. i did turn off all the cpu power management/stepping.
Dell?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21720
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by garyb » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:14 pm

:lol:

yeah, Dell.

tomato/tomahto :lol:

User avatar
alfonso
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Fregene.
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by alfonso » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:54 pm

:lol:

I have the impression that the core2duo might be a better choice than the i5 and i7 stuff, for something like a Xite-1....not being in need of massive native processing. I don't have any i5 / i7 stuff yet though....

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21720
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by garyb » Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:43 pm

the i series processors work great, but they definitely don't work well if power stepping is enabled. i have power stepping disabled on the core2 as well.

User avatar
alfonso
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Fregene.
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by alfonso » Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:57 am

garyb wrote:the i series processors work great, but they definitely don't work well if power stepping is enabled. i have power stepping disabled on the core2 as well.
I'm having hard time trying to collect infos on laptops with such feature in the bios. Sony Vaio's are out of the bunch it seems...but if anyone could contribute with a list or a suggestion for i5/i7 laptops would be great!

:)

jksuperstar
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by jksuperstar » Thu Jul 28, 2011 12:23 pm

Maybe try something like this:

http://www.diefer.de/speedswitchxp/

It's a program that allows forcing the CPU to be full performance (no speedstep), etc. WinXP allows control over the CPU, but doesn't provide the program or control to actually do that. This program allows one to take full advantage of what the OS provides.

Here's another program that does something similar (I haven't used it)
http://cpu.rightmark.org/products/rmclock.shtml

Rightmark also makes some great audio analyzers for free (I have used those extensively!)

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21720
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by garyb » Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:39 pm

alfonso wrote:
garyb wrote:the i series processors work great, but they definitely don't work well if power stepping is enabled. i have power stepping disabled on the core2 as well.
I'm having hard time trying to collect infos on laptops with such feature in the bios. Sony Vaio's are out of the bunch it seems...but if anyone could contribute with a list or a suggestion for i5/i7 laptops would be great!

:)
i wish i had a list. ADK is really good here in the USA.

jksuperstar
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by jksuperstar » Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:56 am

Here's two laptops I'm looking at right now:

HP Elitebook (8650w)
Lenovo w520

Both go for ~$1500 USD, depending the features you want. Each can be had for as little as $1000 if you cut out 1080p display and put in an i5 or a dual core i7 (i7-2620).

They are quite a bit lighter (50%) than the ADK/Clevo models. And compared to consumer laptops, they come with workstation quality build and features (better case and display hinges, 1080p display, still offering expresscard, plus firewire, even VGA and display port together, 4 slots for RAM, "Professional" video graphics (they use slightly different and faster drivers)).

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21720
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by garyb » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:25 am

Holger has a Lenovo that he uses for demos.

User avatar
Fluxpod
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Telefunkenland

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by Fluxpod » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:37 am

I am Pretty sure that lenovo is using clevo.
I posted this site a few month back.Prices are very good and you can spec em out just like you want.Also you can remove the w-lan card completly which is good for dpc.
http://www.rjtech.com/

I would be very carefull with hp and other manufactures.They might work,or not at all.

jksuperstar
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by jksuperstar » Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:36 am

other options with expresscard/34:

HP ProBook 4530s
< $500

HP EliteBook 8460p
< $1000 USD

User avatar
alfonso
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Fregene.
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by alfonso » Sat Jul 30, 2011 3:46 pm

jksuperstar wrote:other options with expresscard/34:

HP ProBook 4530s
< $500

HP EliteBook 8460p
< $1000 USD
I've read the Elitebooks have expressc./54

are they bios tweakable to remove speed stepping completely?

jksuperstar
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by jksuperstar » Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:51 pm

True, the Elitebooks have 54 slots, but Expresscard/34 fits in a 54 slot.

A coworker got an hp elitebook, I'll find out about the bios next week.

User avatar
katano
Posts: 1404
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by katano » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:19 am

dell vostro will do the job as well, also below 500$ for certain models...

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21720
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by garyb » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:29 pm

yep, Vostro 1400 still works great for me.

jksuperstar
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by jksuperstar » Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:35 am

Never found out about the Elitebook, but I do have a Lenovo w520 laptop now that works phenominally.

Lenovo ThinkPad W520 4276
Core i7 2720QM / 2.2 GHz
RAM 8 GB
HDD 500 GB
Quadro 1000M / HD Graphic

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3846
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dante » Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:59 pm

Yeah Bud gives a pretty good wrap on the potential of the Elitebook 8560P here -

http://www.hitfoundry.com/issue_12/xiteltop.htm

...although untested (?) Anyone tried it ?

User avatar
ChrisWerner
Posts: 1734
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by ChrisWerner » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:25 am

Xite-1 5.1 + SDK (haven't dived in though) since August 2011
Mod IV + FleXor 3

PC:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1075T

Cooling: Alpenföhn Groß Clock'ner

MB: ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO / USB3

PSU: Seasonic 520W M12 II Bronze

4 GB memory

ATI Radeon HD 5700 on
2 23" LG E2340 Screens @ 1920 x 1080

Win 7 / 64
DAW host Samplitude Pro x 64, Ableton for loop thingies

I haven't switched off any eye candy because I like it. No probs.

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1451
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by Bud Weiser » Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:18 am

cortone wrote:Hey all XITErs, ... Thanks in advance,
Cory
XITE-1 and SCOPE 5.1 32Bit work pretty well w/ my machine:

OS: Win XP Pro SP 3
Processor: Intel D945 Dual Core (stock speed 3.4 GHz) o/c 11-12% to 3.832 GHz
MoBo: ASUS P5WD2 Premium
Processor cooler: ZALMAN CNPS 9900 MAX,- fits into the 4 HU rackmount case
Case: 19" EYE server case ATX / 2x 3.5" / 4x 5.25"
Case fans: NB Multiframe M12-S2 (120mm) & NB MF8-S2 (80mm)
Graphics: EVGA Nvidia 9500 GT (512-P3-N954-TR) in PCIe x16 slot #1
RAM: Mushkin Redline PC800 w/ selected Micron chips (running @ 901 FSB), 4GB
PSU: Corsair HX 520W modular 80+
Internal harddrives: WD Caviar Black AALS6401 (640GB / 32MB cache) x3
External harddrives: Samsung 1TB eSATA / 500GB WD Caviar green USB2
There´s Texas Instruments Firewire400 w/ this motherboard as well.
Optical drive: LiteOn iAHS 424 Lightscribe
Floppy: TEAC FD-CR7 w/ 7in1 Cardreader, beige
USB 2 (NEC) high speed hub (PCI) in PCI slot #2 (eLicencer/ Phead RSN dongle/ Kurzweil PC361 & Edirol PCR300 USB MIDI)
XITE-1 PCIe card in the one and only PCIe x1 slot on that mobo.

For MIDI, I´m using a MusicQuest (Opcode) 8PortSE 8x8 MIDI interface w/ Earthvegaconnections 32Bit Direct Music driver,-
http://www.earthvegaconnection.com/evc/ ... index.html
- the interface connected to the LPT parallel port of the Mobo,- and MIDI OX virtual MIDI cable(s) in addition to XITE-1 MIDI I/Os.
That´s a very stable and tight solution,- and for 64Bits, it will run too because there´s a Earthvegaconnections 64Bit Direct Music driver available too for the 8PortSE MIDI interfaces.
Sadly, this driver will be discontinued from july 30th, 2012. Read yourself please.

I´m running physical MIDI and USB MIDI to the computer and XITE-1,- USB and physical from Kurzweil PC361 and USB MIDI only from Roland/Edirol PCR300.

This machine runs SCOPE 5.1 32Bit, Presonus Studio One Pro v2.06, Phead Reason 6.02, Reaper 4.2x, NI Komplete 7 and all my other VST plugins too.

According to XITE-1 PCIe on that motherboard, I only had to disable 1 USB controller which shared IRQ w/ XITE-1 PCIe.
Gary B. found out and it was a 5 second task then.

Connected to XITE-1:
Nuendo/RME 8 I/O (ADI 8 Pro) AD/DA converter - ADAT source/destination A
Nuendo (Rosendahl) Timelock Pro synchronizer - BNC Wordclock & MIDI, reading SMPTE
2nd rackmount PC, Intel P4 2.8 GHz/400FSB, 2GB Kingston RAM, ASUS P4T-E, Enermax PSU, NEC/TI USB2/Firewire combo PCI card,-
Creamware 15DSP Classic / SCOPE 4.0,- connected to XITE-1 via ADAT (source/dest B) and MIDI.

Bud

Post Reply