Pro 12 asb midi out?

Discuss the Creamware ASB and Klangbox hardware boxes

Moderator: valis

Post Reply
User avatar
the19thbear
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by the19thbear » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:55 am

I dont htink i have had this problem before, but now i do:
When i use the pro 12 asb as a midi controller for a soft synth i get uneven knob output.
Lets say i use the filter cutoff of the pro 12 to control the filter cutoff of monark or diva or whatever in native land, the cutoff freq has bumps in it and is not smooth at all.
Can anyone check to see if they get the same error?
Thanks!

hubird

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by hubird » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:50 pm

you could check Midi Monitor to see if the values are coming smooth or interrupted in timing or value.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21203
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by garyb » Fri Dec 13, 2013 7:44 pm

that sounds like you have an older version of the firmware. the first was very "steppy". write to S|C sipport with the serial number of the box and i'll give you the key, so you can try updating the firmware.

it's possible that the controller is dirty. if you spin it a bit, does it improve?

User avatar
the19thbear
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by the19thbear » Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:05 am

No all of the controllers are behaving the same way. If i use the built in controller on my midi keyboard everything is fine.
I have the newest firmware, but I might need to re-do it... who knows.
It seems the first couple of movements are fine, but then it starts to be uneven after that.

I watched with a midi monitor already - its not smooth :cry:
Thanks :)

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21203
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by garyb » Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:20 am

the controller is probably dirty or damaged....

User avatar
the19thbear
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by the19thbear » Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:54 am

well since they are all behaving the same way i dont think they are all dirty or damaged - unless the pro12 itself is damaged.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21203
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by garyb » Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:27 pm

oh, i misunderstood.
yes, in this case, you might try rerunning the firmware update(as long as you have the key).

otherwise, you're just stuck using the external controller, since there probably isn't any repair available.

User avatar
the19thbear
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Pro 12 asb midi out?

Post by the19thbear » Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:12 am

Ok. Might have to give sc a call (email) about the key.
Thanks a lot Gary. You're always helpful:)

Post Reply