PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CV Inputs On ASB Prodyssey Possible...?
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 3:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12610
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Just curious as these using audio rate modulations might be worth checking out.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CV Inputs On ASB Prodyssey Possible...?
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 10:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 1287
Location: FRANCE
From what I know, the audio inputs are just available as a sound source just like Oscillators or noise but won't be able to be used as modulation source without a software update ...
Moreover, the stereo inputs are summed before entering the sound source mixer (the level control being only available from the remote software or with additionnal midi control message).

What could have been a nice addition would be to be able to select this external input as a noise in the noise type selection (White/Pink/Ext) with the corresponding led blinking to show this selection.
Then the external input could have been used as an alternate source for the S/H Mixer or provide direct control to external level from the original front panel, sacrifying the Ring Mod or Noise Gen in that case.
As the S/H ouput can be used to modulate VCO1, VCO2 and the Filter Cutoff, this could have added some nice features.

The ASB being discontinued, this is just one more dream.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CV Inputs On ASB Prodyssey Possible...?
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 6:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12610
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Too bad as I had the Klangbox Prod and the ASB B3000.
THey sounded better than the software, but the XITE-1 converters seemed to fix that.
Would have loved to have one of these with audio rate mods.

Thanks Chief.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CV Inputs On ASB Prodyssey Possible...?
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 2:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 1287
Location: FRANCE
Yep, only possible external modulation is slower MIDI control message ...
As I said the Prodyssey would have been the easiest to expand to had such features but you wouldn't have had a full modulation matrix except from using the already existing path.
The most obvious would have been to allow the use of external audio in as an extra noise source ...

Maybe this could be a nice addition to the Scope Plugin ... but then you would probably be able to emulate this and add such extra features with the Modular ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group