MiniMax & CuBase 5

Discuss the Creamware ASB and Klangbox hardware boxes

Moderators: valis, garyb

nimaccess

MiniMax & CuBase 5

Post by nimaccess »

Please bear with me if this seems a silly question (or has been presented before)
I am relatively new to MIDI recording (my experience limited to the early 90's) so the technology has evolved way beyond my experience and competence. I have a pretty steep learning curve ahead of me. (The [manual/my understanding] is hardly helpful)
I am trying to integrate the MiniMax into my system, and am having difficulty determining the best use of the instrument with regard to CuBase 5.
1. There are two versions of the Remote software, and both work to a certain extent. (Installed the updated factory presets.)
* The CD that came with the unit v1.0.17 dd 2005 (presets work, but the unit is a full tone out, and has to be re-tuned every session. (the response I received from Sonic-Core was to engage the tone wheel once to reset the tone, which is cumbersome and amateurish)
* Downloaded version 2.3 dd 2006 (presets are a mess and inconsistent. Tried to upload from box and get gibberish)
* Neither app relates in any way to CuBase apart from being able to change patch numbers.(even this is inconsistent)
2. If CuBase is running, the remote software won't load correctly (claims not enough memory on an 8gb computer??)
3. How does one get the patch names into CuBase 5, and have the units talk to each other. Surely the remote software should be able to be controlled from within CuBase 5 - as with the .xml download for Prodyssey ASB which I tried out of frustration, but this is not what I think is the right application so removed it) At least it talked to the MiniMax from within CuBase.