PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 372
Location: wellington.newzealand
netguyjoel wrote:
It is strictly an emulator...the hardware drivers are still needed..XP drivers only will work...there are no Vista drivers. Go back to XP if you want it to work :wink:


What is an emulator? What are you referring to?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
XP mode in Vista is just an emulator and does not run at the hardware level, which is why you need to run XP as XP (not XP "Mode" in Vista) Vista is still the best virus Microsoft ever wrote...well may be ME... :lol: :lol:

Now that 5.0 PCI RC is out & Vista drivers are available...the upgrade to Win7 will be a snap. But afaik, no luck for USB w/ ASB & Klangbox owners, in Vista or Win7, they'll have to stick to MIDI for now, which isn't so bad...I have a nice patch bay for my outboard hardware synths...

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
MIDI interfaces work great. The software editor will work via MIDI...You have knobs...use 'em, but go MIDI..and use your DAW/Sequencer and have fun! :wink:

The only benefit w/ USB, is afaik, you don't need to use the audio outputs, of the Minimax. The audio is streamed through USB. Streaming audio through USB imo, isn't a good thing. MIDI is thin route the audio outs to a mixer, or other audio interface. Trigger the device w/MIDI, the editor I think works in Vista and can use MIDI to control the device. Like I said before...trigger the device w/ MIDI...use the knobs....make some music!

The audio interface part won't work in Vista. It will just be a synth in your studio. If you want audio IO & USB...I'm affraid XP for now is your only option.

_________________
Joel


Last edited by netguyjoel on Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
My mistake...I thought you had a Klangbox AND a Minimax ASB...This brings me to the previous post...Klangbox & USB will only work in XP. MIDI works fine w/ Klangbox..just no VST action..you should be good to go!

Besides...XP on your laptop will run faster & handle the DAW apps better than the bloated, resource hog of Vista! I think Klangbox will trigger w/ just MIDI as well.

The Uno works just fine.... :wink:

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
I can help you with that....there is certain software, that will "steam" or insert certain drivers, so you can create your own XP boot CD w/ all the drivers you need...so no more adding SATA, audio, network, or video drivers after OS install. What make & model laptop?

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
Dell Inspiron 1525


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
You will need UltraIso and nLite programs.

They are free just use Google

Instructions how to use nLite to add SATA drivers to an XP CD
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows/ ... tallation/

SATA drivers
http://support.dell.com/support/downloa ... eid=224400

a link to ALL other drivers needed
http://en.kioskea.net/forum/affich-2476 ... rading-how

Best wishes... :wink:

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
netguyjoel wrote:
MIDI interfaces work great. The software editor will work via MIDI...You have knobs...use 'em, but go MIDI..and use your DAW/Sequencer and have fun! :wink:

The only benefit w/ USB, is afaik, you don't need to use the audio outputs, of the Minimax. The audio is streamed through USB. Streaming audio through USB imo, isn't a good thing. MIDI is thin route the audio outs to a mixer, or other audio interface. Trigger the device w/MIDI, the editor I think works in Vista and can use MIDI to control the device. Like I said before...trigger the device w/ MIDI...use the knobs....make some music!

The audio interface part won't work in Vista. It will just be a synth in your studio. If you want audio IO & USB...I'm affraid XP for now is your only option.


What do you mean by saying "audio" streams through the USB ports on the minimax ???

I understand USB on Klangboxes and ASBs are for Midi only....

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
alower wrote:
Well, if there is no alternative whatsoever, I guess I'll have to take the pains of migrating my laptop OS from Vista to XP. I was avoiding this option because of the pain of finding XP drivers for everything, etc. But I am definitelly frustrated by lugging the Klangbox in my rack without ever switching it on...

I also hope that the Klangbox communicates with the XP-running laptop via USB, as otherwise I'll also have to buy the MIDI Interface.


What do you mean by "Pain of finding XP drivers" for everything???.....

Xp is supported by microsoft and practically everyone else.....

Finding drivers is a Vista problem......

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
We are trying to downgrade his Inspiron 1525 FROM Vista to XP...and getting the Dell drivers for XP.

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
You can use the audio inputs on the Minimax


slammah2012 wrote:
netguyjoel wrote:
MIDI interfaces work great. The software editor will work via MIDI...You have knobs...use 'em, but go MIDI..and use your DAW/Sequencer and have fun! :wink:

The only benefit w/ USB, is afaik, you don't need to use the audio outputs, of the Minimax. The audio is streamed through USB. Streaming audio through USB imo, isn't a good thing. MIDI is thin route the audio outs to a mixer, or other audio interface. Trigger the device w/MIDI, the editor I think works in Vista and can use MIDI to control the device. Like I said before...trigger the device w/ MIDI...use the knobs....make some music!

The audio interface part won't work in Vista. It will just be a synth in your studio. If you want audio IO & USB...I'm affraid XP for now is your only option.


What do you mean by saying "audio" streams through the USB ports on the minimax ???

I understand USB on Klangboxes and ASBs are for Midi only....

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 372
Location: wellington.newzealand
netguyjoel wrote:
XP mode in Vista is just an emulator and does not run at the hardware level, which is why you need to run XP as XP (not XP "Mode" in Vista) Vista is still the best virus Microsoft ever wrote...well may be ME... :lol: :lol:

Now that 5.0 PCI RC is out & Vista drivers are available...the upgrade to Win7 will be a snap. But afaik, no luck for USB w/ ASB & Klangbox owners, in Vista or Win7, they'll have to stick to MIDI for now, which isn't so bad...I have a nice patch bay for my outboard hardware synths...


Sorry - but completely wrong. If that were true how do I run Scope 4.5 in Vista? The drivers are compatible at the hardware level, and the XP Compatability Mode where sfp.exe is run is to 'fool' sfp.exe that it is running in XP rather than Vista - this changes (removes) some of the Vista additions to make it legacy friendly. I had 3 Scope cards running in Vista with XP Compatability mode, no problems and full performance.

I think you are getting confused with a Virtual PC setup...

My suggestion for the OP is to try mode for their particular setup


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
You are confusing Scope with Klangbox. Vista has, and will all ways suck. Klangbox should be run in XP...not Shista.

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 372
Location: wellington.newzealand
You're confusing anti-Vista rhetoric with helping people get a config operational...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
netguyjoel wrote:
You can use the audio inputs on the Minimax


slammah2012 wrote:
netguyjoel wrote:
MIDI interfaces work great. The software editor will work via MIDI...You have knobs...use 'em, but go MIDI..and use your DAW/Sequencer and have fun! :wink:

The only benefit w/ USB, is afaik, you don't need to use the audio outputs, of the Minimax. The audio is streamed through USB. Streaming audio through USB imo, isn't a good thing. MIDI is thin route the audio outs to a mixer, or other audio interface. Trigger the device w/MIDI, the editor I think works in Vista and can use MIDI to control the device. Like I said before...trigger the device w/ MIDI...use the knobs....make some music!

The audio interface part won't work in Vista. It will just be a synth in your studio. If you want audio IO & USB...I'm affraid XP for now is your only option.


What do you mean by saying "audio" streams through the USB ports on the minimax ???

I understand USB on Klangboxes and ASBs are for Midi only....


Audio inputs on Minimax???

Sorry again.......

There is no audio over the USB on ASBs.....just Midi and Editor control

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 372
Location: wellington.newzealand
alower wrote:
Husker, I will try your suggestion and post back with the results. Thanks for your interest in helping out.


I'd be surprised if you couldn't get it going in Vista - PM if you need some more help. Cheers, Wayne.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group