PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12620
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
I use an ancient hardware MIDI patch bay and totally avoid USB for anything other than powering up the USB Controllers.
I have sold my collection of Klangboxes but they worked fine for me and actually have a better sound from the hotter analog I/O's.
I hope it's not a Vista driver problem. I used XP32 and had a blast with those buggars.
SInce the stuff is mobile take it to your nearest Guitar Center or whatever, and mess around with USB or MIDI only patch bays. Then thank them and go buy it used for half price on ebay... :lol:

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 7938
Location: Germany
maybe that's no immediate help, but I'm almost certain you're on the wrong track.
Your problem isn't any midi interface, but the respective part of the virtual OS.
In other words it's the implementation of the USB and midi drivers between the host OS (Vista) and the virtual machine (XP).
What applies to your Klangbox may apply to the next best (hardware) Midi Interface as well.
It's quite common with virtualization that this isn't obvious at first glance.

As the 'standard' multimedia drivers are often passed correctly by the host, you can try a midi cable with 15 pin connector to 2xDIN - most mobos have an onboard midi connector (some just lack the outboard plug)

If you have to stick (for whatever reason) with Vista and want to edit the box 'live', you need a dedicated machine, a small notebook for example (say 50-100 bucks).
Another option might indeed be to sell the Klangbox and get a Plugiator instead...
But my favourite option atm would be... :oops: I admit... to visit Dave Smith's site and check out his Mopho - darn f*cking hot
You'll loose the virtual Moog filter, but gain a physical CEM and a couple of extras :D

cheers, Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 2:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 7938
Location: Germany
you have been perfectly clear, but didn't yet fully understand what a virtualization effectively does.
Don't worry - I've been fooled myself by that stuff in an almost embarassing way...

Quote:
...The software editor (Version 3.3) was installed both under Vista end XP with no apparent problem, and I get to see the MiniMoog panel replicated in my computer screen. Unfortunatelly I get the "The MiniMax remote software could not connect to the Hardware box! Please check your MIDI setup and the selected MIDI devices on the property page!" as soon as I fire up the editor....


sure it does install (visually) - it even installs on my system without any Klangbox or ASB around
that is just the wallpaper (so to say) without any functionality at all.
But as soon as it starts activating the driver, it fails.
Because there is no communication between Vista (handling the physical port) and XP (dealing with a software device that only fakes hardware)

A possible exception though: usually there are several hardware USB ports, but there may be only one single software counterpart...
Which means you might try to plug the Klangbox connector into another USB port and check if the situation changes.

cheers, Tom

ps
Quote:
...Could you please elaborate on the idea of using a "midi cable with 15 pin connector to 2xDIN - most mobos have an onboard midi connector (some just lack the outboard plug)"?...

as you use a notebook this doesn't matter, unless it has a 15 pin 'game-connector' (rather unlikely)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
Go for the Plugiator....

both my SonicCore ASBs and USE Audio Plugiators work over USB on a XP...

8 instruments with some knobs aint bad for $600 Canadian....

http://www.use-audio.com/pplugins.htm

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 4:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
In a word...no. New drivers for Vista are needed. Sonic Core's website will deliver new drivers when they can. Stick to XP for now. Use true XP, not XP mode in Viste, due to the hardware driver conflicts, until new drivers are released.. :)

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
Vista is Junk......

That is why Microsoft re-instated XP support for several more years.....

I would XP my current Laptop and stop those woes....

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
Yeah, I tried doing this with my Compaq Desktop some months ago... and it almost drove me crazy. Looks like everything is designed to prevent you from doing it, including a "backup/system restore" copy of the Vista OS that is impossible to remove from the hard disk. It might be possible for someone with computer skills beyond mine, but in the end I had to re-install the bloody Vista and nurse my anger and frustration.

One thing that I dream I could succeed in doing is installing some sort of dual boot in my laptop. I heard that people used to do it with older systems in a way that, when you switch the computer on, DOS prompts you to choose whether you want to boot the Vista OS or the XP OS.

In case anyone has knowledge of a successful example of this I am all ears.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
Using system restore will not do the job.

You will need a Vista OEM install DVD (Not a system restore DVD, you get from the manufacturer)
and an XP install CD (not system restore cd, you get from the manufacturer)

Take your Vista DVD, boot from it, delete any & all partitions on the hard drive.

Create 1 partition 1/2 the size of your "C" drive.

Format the partition NTFS (not quick format)

Install Vista along with all the driver needed.

Take a XP install CD, boot from it, format the other partition NTFS, install XP on the other partition, then drivers.

Depending on the unit, you might need SATA controller drivers for the XP install.

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
The Plugiator "DOES NOT" connect correctly with the original CC#s for the ASB's, Noah and Klangbox....
being that your problem lies with your OS.... that is what you will need to fix....
If the ASB drivers dont work, the Plugiator certainly wont....

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:44 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Canada
ops, double post


Last edited by alower on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am
Posts: 191
The software edition of the Plugiator's Minimax is not compatible with the Klangbox Minimax.

All CC# are different.... :o

Quote:
Subject : Re: Creamware ASB Control to Plugiator Bundle...




Slammah2012 wrote:
I am a New owner of the "plugiator bundle" and also longtime owner of 2 Creamware ASB units(Prodyssey and B4000)...
Seeing "Use-Audio" may be familiar with the CCs on the old Creamware stuff, would an optional firmware patch be possible to have made so the Creamware ASB controls affect the matching CCs on the Plugiator?

If that is possible I would be forever thankfull.....


Hi Slammah2012,

Thank you for your email.

The Midi Implementation of Creamware ASBs are totally different from that of the Plugiator's. We've also made some optimizations, tweaks and bug fixes on the Plugiator's plug-in algorithms which means that we will have to do some major re-working on it. Currently we are in the process of developing a DSP OS for the Plugiator with some additional features and hence it is extremely difficult for us to make the firmware (patch) release now.

Please write to me incase you require further assistance.

Best regards,

Sujeeth
Product Specialist
Use Audio Inc.



Vista is your problem :cry: ....dump it and start fresh with a new Hard drive...


The problem is the OS Changed :-? , the hardware remained the same and Creamware ended its existance and split up to become 2 separate entities before you bought your laptop...., That Klangbox product is only useless if the associated OS you stay with, is Useless :wink: ....vista :( is useless ... It is simply absurd to stay with that faulty OS.
Many synth users are experiencing the same woes as you 8) .....Its the Microsoft Vista :( ......Drop vista....and your worries will be over :) .......Microsoft release faulty Beta's all of the time :D ......That is why they rereleased XP :D

Quote:
OK, I tested my Klangbox in a computer running the real Windows XP (instead of a Vista machine running XP as a "Virtual Machine" by VMware) and it worked fine. :)

That points out to a Windows Vista driver problem :) , and here is my question: Did CreamWare ever release a Driver software for either the MiniMax ASB or Klangbox that was specifically Vista compatible?(No....maybe SonicCore did) Did anyone succeed in running the MiniMax under Vista at all?

My problem is that I simply do not have a computer that runs Windows XP. I wonder if the Vista incompatibility will remain if I connect the devices (computer to Klangbox) via MIDI instead of via USB as I've been trying to do. I will get hold of a MIDI interface and try this...

In the meantime, please share your experience.

_________________
Time has No Master.
*NOW* is the Password.
Just *ASK* and *INVITE* every-
thing you are after..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 372
Location: wellington.newzealand
For those having problems running this stuff with Vista - have you tried using XP Compatibilty mode on the shortcut when running the apps?

I had SFP 4.5 and Ableton Live 7 running just fine with ASIO when I ran BOTH sfp.exe and live.exe in XP Compatability mode...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help needed
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
It is strictly an emulator...the hardware drivers are still needed..XP drivers only will work...there are no Vista drivers. Go back to XP if you want it to work :wink:

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group