some infos about Klangbox

Discuss the Creamware ASB and Klangbox hardware boxes
Post Reply
User avatar
Ralf
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 4:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Ralf » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:28 am


reflex
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:00 pm
Contact:

Post by reflex » Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:07 am

You guys should hire someone to proofread the Englisch pages on your site to avoid awkward turns of phrase such as "Exactly defined data" and "legendary electromagnetic organ."

User avatar
bill3107
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Europe

Post by bill3107 » Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:23 am

just hope there will be a french translation for ASBs and Klangs .... that would be great as many people here are not good in english ... :wink: :wink: :wink:

Jo

Tiitu
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:00 pm

Post by Tiitu » Wed Nov 01, 2006 1:10 am

Ralf,

A comment for your web designer: The light-green and light-yellow colors are barely visible in case of text.

Rgds,
Tiitu.

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:35 am

I have the Prodessey klangbox, however it has a EURO PSU. What a pain! I would have thought with it being a rack unt it would have had a normal in built power supply. Or even have a UK PSU!

I really do not want to purchase another euro to UK adapter as the weight of the PSU really is not safe (IMHO) when in a power block and then a convertor. Can anyone recommend a good UK 12v PSU that I may be able to power my Klangbox from (even better if it is a multi output psu that will also power my lovely PRO-12 ASB as well from the one mains socket).

I hate wallwarts!!!

At the moment my new toy is having to sit in its box unused!

Anna Lüse
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Elektropolis
Contact:

Post by Anna Lüse » Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:37 am

Where did you buy your Klangbox?
And: It is called Prodyssey

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:54 am

Oops - I must learn to spell! Slap on the wrist! Prodyssey

I bought it from Thomann.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/creamware_klan ... dyssey.htm

I was not aware it was going to be another wallwart like the ASB as the rest of my rack gear is mains using the kettle connectors. If I can just get a means of purchasing a decent 12v multiway psu (I have a 9v multi one that drives 8 other keyboards etc) I will be happy.

Anna Lüse
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Elektropolis
Contact:

Post by Anna Lüse » Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:03 am

Congratulations! You own the mainboard of a real ASB - and this works with an external power supply.

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:13 am

er yes!! but what has that to do with the price of Beef?

I have an PRO-12 ASB that is using a wallwart PSU in a euro to UK convetor. It keeps falling out of the convertor when I get carried away (head banging/dancing etc) at the main keyboard. I really do not want to have to have the same problems with my Klangbox as well.

I am disappointed it is a wallwart and not mains. It would not be a problem if 9v as I have a mutiple output 9v supply, but the ASB and Klangbox are 12V and I have euro PSU's to boot which are unrelaible when plugged into trailing sockets.

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:59 am

My Klangbox is still in it's box as I have not been able to solve the power problem. :cry:

Does anyone know if I used a daisy chain power cord from the existing ASB PSU so that the one PSU powers the ASB and the Klangbox together that the PSU will cope appropriately? Is there enough power in this to power both?

If I can daisy chain the power then what are the specs of the connections so that I can order the parts from ebay/maplin?

I really do not want to overload anything, espec my PRO-12 which sounds better every and better every day. Using the supplied EURO PSU is not something I really want to do if I can help it. The box is now gathering dust in the dark shadows of a room.......

Once again many thanks to all...

hubird

Post by hubird » Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:25 am

if you use them at the same time it can destroy (even burn) the PSU...
I would just 'construct' something that fits and powers the wallwart you have.

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:46 am

Thanks for the quick warning!

Good job I did not do that then!.

Unfortunatley both wallwarts are EURO instead of UK. The Euro PSU I use on my ASB keeps falling out of the euro-2-uk converter and can therefore be unreliable. I am reluctant to tape the wallwart to the power block and really do not want to experience the same headaches for the Klangbox if I bought another convertor.

Klangbox will have to sit in it's box until I can come up with something more appropriate. So far I cannot source a multi output 12v supply like I use for all my 9v gear, There must be one somewhere!

Anna Lüse
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Elektropolis
Contact:

Post by Anna Lüse » Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:16 am

Please contact your local dealer or distributer.

User avatar
Shroomz~>
Posts: 5669
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: The Blue Shadows

Post by Shroomz~> » Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:25 am

Even better than messing about with dealers & distributors LeBone, just do what I've done & buy something like this from ebay >>
Image

The ones in the picture are Italien, but you want to buy a german 4-way or 6-way block. I know this will be ideal for you because it eliminates the need for any adapters & your german wall-warts won't fall out quite as easily. We power several pieces of gear this way without problems.

When you have your new german multi-way, just stick a UK 3-pin plug on the end ... Job done!!

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:35 am

Shroomz - Brilliant - I must be loosing it my old age! So simple a solution I am kicking myself for not thinking about it myself!

Great Idea, I will purchase one today.

Thanks for your input. I do not have a local supplier/distributer as I have bought everything from the web for many years. (now including groceries!).

I cannot tell you how happy I feel having been fed a decent response, that is workable.

Once again - thanks.

User avatar
Shroomz~>
Posts: 5669
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: The Blue Shadows

Post by Shroomz~> » Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:46 am

No problem at all & it's the perfect solution to what isn't a real problem.

What's more of a problem is finding them. I don't know what they're called in German. Maybe someone could post a link to such a thing in an online German equivalent to our UK 'Maplin Electronics' store ??

Le Bone
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England

Post by Le Bone » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:25 am

Believe me it is a real problem when I cannot even power the device safely!

The word to search for is "Steckdosenleiste"

Found out by going to the thomann website in English searching for 220v and finding a mains distribution filter gubbins and then switching to German.

There are a few on ebay - hopefully this time next week i can fire up the klangbox!!! :D

Post Reply