Noah or Luna2?

Discuss the Creamware Noah

Moderators: valis, garyb

Mike G

Post by Mike G »

I am new to the world of creamware and I am finding the way the products are marketed a little confusing. I am thinking of trading in my powercore virus and putting the funds towards a Luna 2 or a Noah. At the moment I am leaning towards the Noah as I already own a Powercore and a UAD, the idea of dealing with having 3 different DSP cards in one computer is a little daunting as getting the powercore and uad to play nice was not without work. I want quick and easy access to great synth sounds with little to no load on my cpu with good computer interface. It seems to me that Noah is offering this. I am confused as to what exactly the Noah is. For example is it basicly the same thing as a hardware synth? (midi cable in the back sounds go out back via D/A's). Or is it a dsp in a box? For example will intergrate with my sequencer as if it where a vst? with all the sound being sent via usb. I am sorry if this post is all over the place but as I said I find the product line quite hard to get my head around.

Any feedback is welcome.

Thanks
alfonso

Post by alfonso »

Noah is basically an hw synth with some unique features.
Luna2 is basically a recording card with very limited dsp power, so it's not intended as a synth or extensive mixing platform, larger cards are more functional.

Noah has an Asio driver and the possibility to work as an audio card, but only in a very limited way because of the USB1.1 protocol. But it can receive through BNC connection digital clock and send audio signals through optical port, as adat (8 channels) or spdif (stereo). It has analog unbalanced hi quality inputs and outputs, an internal mixer with great fx, the EX version can load 4 instruments and process audio signals at the same time.