pulsar as UAD

Discuss Scope XTC mode.
Post Reply
pulsarll
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:24 am

pulsar as UAD

Post by pulsarll » Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:24 pm

I have Cubase5 and use a firewire audio card as the main.
Can Pulsar2 plugins work in XTC mode in Cubase5 although I do not use a pulsar as the main audio device (like a UAD)?

User avatar
Jesper
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 3:24 am
Location: Sweden

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by Jesper » Sun Jul 06, 2014 9:51 am

pulsarll wrote:I have Cubase5 and use a firewire audio card as the main.
Can Pulsar2 plugins work in XTC mode in Cubase5 although I do not use a pulsar as the main audio device (like a UAD)?
Yes it does. All the info you need is in this forum so do some search.

pulsarll
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:24 am

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by pulsarll » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:51 am

I've searched but did not find anything, if you know the settings link.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by dante » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:15 pm


pulsarll
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:24 am

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by pulsarll » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:27 am

I know that. But I'm interested in options when the pulsar is not the main audio card in Cubase (which I wrote in the first post). How then run XTC mode?

User avatar
ShogunSpy
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by ShogunSpy » Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:04 pm

As far as I know to run in XTC mode you need to be using Scope as a sound card! Try using it in SFP mode then you have endless possibilities ..:)
http://youtu.be/qK89jxQCnJg

pulsarll
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:24 am

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by pulsarll » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:08 am

ShogunSpy wrote:As far as I know to run in XTC mode you need to be using Scope as a sound card! Try using it in SFP mode then you have endless possibilities ..:)
http://youtu.be/qK89jxQCnJg
Unfortunately it does not work because it also requires that pulasr be the main card.
Is there someone else some kind of solution?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21171
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by garyb » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:16 am

you need to search for "Jumper trick"

http://forums.planetz.com/viewtopic.php?t=23125

that should do what you want. of course it's at your own risk(though it should be 100% safe).


still, i have the question of "why?". why do you prefer the firewire card as an interface? i seriously doubt if it offers higher sound quality. i'm just wondering. i don't really need an answer...

User avatar
erminardi
Posts: 1575
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: pulsar as UAD

Post by erminardi » Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:39 am

Yes, IMO the scope boards are still into the 5 best sounding card ever you can use in a PC.
The last USB products are only marketing and best compatibility with laptop, apart maybe RME.
But definitely not best sounding than a Scope/Xite (converters, etc.)
4PC + Scope 5.0 + no more Xite + 2xScope Pro + 6xPulsarII + 2xLunaII + SDK + a lot of devices (Flexor III & Solaris 4.1 etc.) + Plugiator.

Post Reply