Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 5000

Discuss Scope XTC mode.
Post Reply
dorteb
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:01 pm

Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 5000

Post by dorteb » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:53 am

To install and work with Scope on Win8 64bit you have to run Windows in testmode:
(The only reason why Scope doesn't run under Win 8 is because the drivers are not signed for Win 8.
FU Sonic-Core!!!)

1.
run execute as administrator -> cmd.exe -> bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON -> restart.
Now install Scope PCI.

2.
Go to C:\Program Files\SCOPE PCI\App\Bin, right-click Scope.exe -> properties -> compatibility -> activate "run program as Administrator".
Build your XTCProject.pro, if you like to.

3.
For XTC Mode only 32bit Hosts work -> Install for example Cubase 32bit.
You have to run Cubase as Administrator too.
Tell Cubase where your XTC-Plugins are placed.

Thats it.

Some Bonus:
Now the Sampler "STS 5000 x64" works in XTC Mode. Do the dll-Trick for it.


Have fun.

asktoby
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 500

Post by asktoby » Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:46 am

What's the "dll-Trick"?

User avatar
petal
Posts: 2100
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 500

Post by petal » Fri Oct 30, 2015 3:51 am

Each XTC-VSTplugin has an dll in the designated vst-folder.

Just pick another XTC-synth and rename it from say: MINIMAX.dll -> STS 5000.dll

The renaming is the dll-trick :)


However, I can't make XTC-mode run stable on my machine running windows 7. IT crashes after a while both in Live Suite 9.2.3 and Cubase 7.0.
If anybody has it running without crashes under windows 7 + Live/Cubase I'd like to know more about how they made it work.

Cheers,
Thomas

jksuperstar
Posts: 1475
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 500

Post by jksuperstar » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:32 am

For Live, you must run as administrator, and also turn off multi-processor in the settings.
Configuration->Multicore/Multiprocessor = OFF.
From what I could figure out, Live can place each track on it's own processor, and I don't think it does much to keep them phase aligned. This confuses SCOPE XTC.

If you have a Preference setting for PLug-in buffer latency, set it to be the same as your ASIO latency.

Sucks to limit Live to a single core, but since your using XTC plugins, that might not be so bad.

User avatar
petal
Posts: 2100
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 500

Post by petal » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:40 am

Cubase, Live and Scope are all running as administrator, I have also turned off multi-processor under the settings in Live. (And my bios has been optimized for Scope as weel).

I havn't tried the Plug-in buffer latency step yet though.

jksuperstar
Posts: 1475
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Win 8 64bit, XTC - Mode, Cubase ----- Tutorial + STS 500

Post by jksuperstar » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:55 am

And we're overlooking the fact that STS works in Windows x64, I assume by using it within a x86/32-bit application?

So, all we really need is a wrapper for STS to run as 32-bit within SCOPE?


Post Reply