PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:07 pm
Posts: 138
Hello,

Running Scope 5.1 software in 'native mode' works superb. I can execute XTC mode and I can load and play Scope based synths. But when (or after) I want to switch synth, I'm getting error message warning that 'A serious problem has occurred...'. Se attached image for more info.

Image

Following synths crash usual after loading or unload, but never during performance playing in Scope environment:

BlueSynth
MiniScope MkII
Poison
Prisma


Here is a copy of Cubase crash log:

===================================================================
Cubase6.exe Version 6.0.0 Build 229 - 20.2.2011 7:03
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Timestamp is 4cf95e35 (Fri Dec 03 22:16:37 2010)
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Cubase6.exe
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Exception code: C0000005 ACCESS_VIOLATION
Fault address: 7784E3BE 01:0001E3BE C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll

Registers:
EAX=056abf40 ECX=18580000 EDX=185e4a98 EBX=185e4a98 ESI=7fa46981 EDI= 185e4a90
EBP=0018ef7c EIP=7784e3be ESP=0018ef48 CS= 00000023 SS= 0000002b Flags=00210206
DS= 0000002b ES= 0000002b FS= 00000053 GS= 0000002b

Float Save:
Control Word= 0000027f Status Word= 00000120 Tag Word=0000ffff
Error Offset= 09737bc7 Error Selector=05d80023
Data Offset= 0018e4dc Data Selector= 0000002b
Cr0NpxState= 0a3b1858

Bytes at CS:EIP:
8b 46 04 89 45 f4 c6 47 07 80 c6 47 06 00 8b 5e
08 8b 4e 0c 89 5d e0 83 c3 01 89 4d e4 83 d1 01

Call stack:
Address Frame
7784E3BE 0018EF7C RtlInitUnicodeString+196
7784E023 0018EF94 RtlFreeHeap+7E
759314D1 0018EFA8 HeapFree+14
0CEE87D7 0018EFE8 0001:000177D7 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CEDE266 0018F010 0001:0000D266 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CED938C 0018F02C 0001:0000838C C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CED932F 0018F038 0001:0000832F C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CEE2F48 0018F058 0001:00011F48 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CED361F 0018F074 0001:0000261F C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CED35BF 0018F080 0001:000025BF C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CED313C 0018F0A4 0001:0000213C C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CEFB329 0018F0B0 0001:0002A329 C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CEFBE8F 0018F0BC 0001:0002AE8F C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Components\VSTPlugManager.dll
0CF0A571 0018F0EC GetPluginFactory+D0D1
0CF0A72B 0018F0F8 GetPluginFactory+D28B
0108F0CF 0018F140 0001:00C8E0CF C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Cubase6.exe

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Before I contact Steinberg, I want to see if you people can recommend some solution.
Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:07 pm
Posts: 138
bump...

Anyone?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 46
I have had many problems with the new Cubase 5.5 to 6.0 VST bridge, using older design plugins.
I recommend you using Jbridge to bridge older vst's including XTC.

http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridge/

Its worked for my issues.

Please tell me about 5.1 xtc native mode?
Is this any different to 5.0 xtc?

If so maybe i will looking into updating.

Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:07 pm
Posts: 138
lunaorbit wrote:
I have had many problems with the new Cubase 5.5 to 6.0 VST bridge, using older design plugins.
I recommend you using Jbridge to bridge older vst's including XTC.

http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridge/

Its worked for my issues..

This thread is about problems that I have with Scope platforms plugins. jBridge wont help there.
BTW, I was forced to abandon 64 bit version of Cubase 6 because some important plugins that I use don't support 64 bit. So now I'm using a 64 bit OS with 32 bit Cubase 6 :(

lunaorbit wrote:
Please tell me about 5.1 xtc native mode?
Is this any different to 5.0 xtc?

If so maybe i will looking into updating.

I was jumping right into 5.1 XTC so can't say anything about 5.0 XTC. However, the answer I got from Sonic|Core regarding my described problem as stated in topics first post, is that XTC mode is a complicated thing (...) and that I should avoid to unload Scope platform synths from Host after loading. Because some of them are mono, so loading a stereo or vice versa in same slot causes crashes as stated in first post. I guess that is something we need to be learn to live with....
Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20896
Location: ghetto by the sea
64bit?

there's no assurance that xtc mode will work at all. the 64bit environment itself is far from complete or stable. some apps may work and others may not. again, i point to rewire as an example. regular Scope mode operation in 64bit is solid...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:07 pm
Posts: 138
garyb wrote:
64bit?

there's no assurance that xtc mode will work at all. the 64bit environment itself is far from complete or stable. some apps may work and others may not. again, i point to rewire as an example. regular Scope mode operation in 64bit is solid...

Well my XTC mode related problems I described above happens actually when running Cubase 5/6 32bit...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:12 am
Posts: 288
Hi There ....

That error is sometimes indicative of Memory shortage.

Try checking to see what your memory usage is (using Task Manager) and google for the "/3GB" switch ... :)

P34CE,
Yogi

www.facebook.com/yogimeisters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20896
Location: ghetto by the sea
i wouldn't say that the 32bit version of Cubase is running correctly on win7 64(if that's the os) just because it's running...

v5 xtc mode does work though. others have used it...
unless i saw your computer, it'd be pretty hard to guess what the difference is.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 46
well i seem to be getting "Blue screen of death" recently in XTC mode.

It says its vstin.sys which i am pretty sure is sonic core related.
I think it may be minimax, so i have removed this from the project.

Sometimes i get a pci overflow warning and then BSOD.

maybe when vstim is integrated with scope 5.1 pci we will remove some of these errors.

otherwise its back to the good old routing window, if the bsod keeps poppin up its ugly head.

8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: XTC mode crash Cubase 5/6
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 46
Yes my problem was Minimax..

So windows 7 64bit XTC mode.
Minimax causes the Blue Screen of Death.

XTC users beware.

Back to work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group