MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Please remember the terms of your membership agreement.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
dawman
Posts: 13195
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by dawman » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:53 pm

Incredible MIDI Box.
I have Bomes's MIDI Box and it's Translator Pro software.
I also have a Source Audio Reflex Pedal.
But the best combination is MIO 2 and Reflex.
I'm shocked at the control I have, and how programmable this MIDI Rig is becoming.

Route anything, anywhere, like Scope.
Filter any Port in/out, controllers, messages, sysex, etc.
Perfect for Scope and external hardware.
Exceptional for live work.

https://www.iconnectivity.com/products/midi/mio2
85353DBB-25D0-49BF-9E4F-3521B1CA7DD3-25803-00004132D3656CE1.png
85353DBB-25D0-49BF-9E4F-3521B1CA7DD3-25803-00004132D3656CE1.png (612.86 KiB) Viewed 1128 times
D2108774-DE28-4000-B2AE-D8A94DD8F900-25803-00004132C24AD165.png
D2108774-DE28-4000-B2AE-D8A94DD8F900-25803-00004132C24AD165.png (756.62 KiB) Viewed 1128 times

jksuperstar
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by jksuperstar » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:11 pm

I have an iConnectivity MIDI4+ that'll likely be downgraded to a mio2. I'm glad to hear it is so useful, as the midi4+ has enough power to serve a much larger networked studio or full stage setup, and I just don't use even a quarter of it.

dawman
Posts: 13195
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by dawman » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:05 pm

Well I returned it.
No mention of their flawed editor.
After trying to apply Filters, routing and USB I gave up.

Back to simple reliable MIDI Solutions.

dawman
Posts: 13195
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by dawman » Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:37 am

Great potential with this box once they get their editor sorted out.
I've got quite a few editors.
FS1r Editor was painful but good, Ambika was good too.
SE-02 is suppose to good and out soon.
Source Audio Reflex is good.

No reason this can't be fixed in the future...

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by Bud Weiser » Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:08 pm

dawman wrote:Great potential with this box once they get their editor sorted out.
I've got quite a few editors.
FS1r Editor was painful but good, Ambika was good too.
SE-02 is suppose to good and out soon.
Source Audio Reflex is good.

No reason this can't be fixed in the future...
I waited ´til your comment about the iConnectivity since I had bookmarked one @Thomann for the case I´d need it.
Thx for the report!

Editors ...
Nice toys (requireing a computer).
I prefer handling hardware devices from their front panels.
My experience since the 80s is, software editors CAN be nice, but don´t have to ...
I avoid using software editors as much as I can, but accept using those occasionally when some special features aren´t available from the hardware´s frontpanel,- but then, I expect ´em to work flawlessly which they don´t.

In fact, it´s all a nitemare for the user, disburding the manufacturer from delivering a from frontpanel fully editable hardware unit.
Don´t buy !

Buy hardware when it´s fully functional w/o software.
When you have to use software, buy an app or any other software solution not needing any additional hardware.
Might be the same nitemare though, but cheaper or for free,- what these http://thepiz.org/plugins/?p=pizmidi are.

The by software or newer hardware products unbeatable MIDI processor and 8x8 routing matrix is a Miditemp PMM88E,- period.

It lacks USB and modern computer connectivity, but the feature set and it´s reliability is the best since the 90s !
There´s nothing out there doing this, you have to combine a dozen or more MIDI plugins to get the functionality, but then, the 8 TIGHT MIDI I/O ports, giving you 128 MIDI channels of INDIVIDUAL MIDI-processing in realtime, are missing,- and the remote controller w/ buttons, encoder and large display as well.

Just sayin´ ...

:)

Bud
CFD,- the studio standard :wink:

revel8or
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by revel8or » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:08 pm

Sorry to dredge up an old topic.

I have an iConnectivity midi2+ with a lighting adaptor. It has *never* worked on either a Windows 7 or 10 build. The drivers and editor would install correctly, and when the midi2+ is (was) connected to the computer, the appropriate driver would load into Windows according to device manager. The problem would become that their own editor refused to handshake with the box. Support advised me to install the latest firmware, but this turned out to be an impossibility as it required the editor to communicate with the box.

Support has been rather good insomuch that they have been keeping me up to date with their progress in working out their bugs. As of today, perhaps yesterday, there is a new driver posted on their website, and a rewritten editor has been promised to be posted by 11/17 - so I’d give them another week ;)

As soon as it’s up, I’ll d/l everything and give it another whorl. I’ll also start another thread so as not to continue hijacking this one.

dawman
Posts: 13195
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by dawman » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:42 pm

No please keep us posted.
I’ll change the thread title and we’ll make it a story with a happy ending.
Your incredible patience is impressive.
The guy at another forum who bull shitted me about stopped replying to 5 guys who were pretty pissed off.
He even put up fake Editor screensets and insisted we didn5 read the manual...

I’m ready to try one again even though I no longer need it, It’s a great tool if it would do as advertised.

Thanks..

revel8or
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MIO 2 From iConnectivity

Post by revel8or » Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:57 pm

I got around to installing the new drivers and control software this evening. It still comes back with the same communication error. Admin rights and multiple compatibility modes were tried...

I know it isn’t my rig. I can run SonicCore, Maschine, Ableton, and Serato - and my control synth communicates through Pulsar and Luna with my other outboard synths. Heck, an old Emu 2x2 usb MIDI interface is sometimes hooked up during this freak show of a system and it communicates sysex through Reaper while everything is running. (Sometimes a person needs to load some saved sounds into old synths,y’know).

So, I’ve checked everything. It’s really sad when a solution is practically guaranteed, but the same problem comes back and bites you in the butt.

I’m going to try a second windows 7 PC before I get upset, just in case.

Post Reply