PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Clock for Vdats
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1496
Is it possible to Sync more than one VDAT in Scope?

Why doesn't the clock out of one not send the clock info to the other.

Would be a great help for me to have them all working together in time.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Clock for Vdats
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: Germany
you can have up to 8 virtual Adats within 1 device which are 'autosynced'
the 'number of VDATs' in device control can be set up to 16, but the GUI runs out of inputs then :D

afaik Adat-Sync isn't just a simple clock signal
(as mentioned earlier VDAT + VRC 128 are a very close imitation of the physical devices)
I faintly recall a comment from Creamware tech support why it's supposed to be extended within the device instead of multiple instances

ps: just read your comment in another thread about 32 channels...
you probably mean Asio pairs, so you're effectively using up all 64 virtual inputs already

cheers, Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Clock for Vdats
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1496
8 Vdats would be perfect. That's all I need. I though I could only get 4 because it only allowed me to arm 32 tracks. Will double check.

Nice having you back. You're info is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Clock for Vdats
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: Germany
you're welcome... and you're correct about the 4 tapes
the surface only counts up to 4, but clicking + continues (and you can arm all but the respective button)
I can't check the VRC on my XP machine as it crashes with Scope 5
(dunno if that's related to the OS, but iirc it always acted this way)

while the tape transport of a physical Alesis BRC can be tricky to sync, the arming/muting part is reliable
if you have a Sync plate (and some desk space) it's a no-brainer for often less than 100€
the 9 pin Adat-Sync connector is a regular RS232 cable (both sides male)
it should be of good quality, tho (shielding etc)
certain original Alesis cables do NOT match required specs (according to Alesis support)

cheers, Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Clock for Vdats
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1496
Tom

Yes VRC works on windows 7 here. Will test it more tonight and get back to you.

I have sync plate but I don't have Adats.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group