Clock for Vdats

Request a new device/modular module, and hope that some enterprising developer grants your wish!
Post Reply
Music Manic
Posts: 1525
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Clock for Vdats

Post by Music Manic » Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Is it possible to Sync more than one VDAT in Scope?

Why doesn't the clock out of one not send the clock info to the other.

Would be a great help for me to have them all working together in time.

Thanks

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 7954
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Clock for Vdats

Post by astroman » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:56 am

you can have up to 8 virtual Adats within 1 device which are 'autosynced'
the 'number of VDATs' in device control can be set up to 16, but the GUI runs out of inputs then :D

afaik Adat-Sync isn't just a simple clock signal
(as mentioned earlier VDAT + VRC 128 are a very close imitation of the physical devices)
I faintly recall a comment from Creamware tech support why it's supposed to be extended within the device instead of multiple instances

ps: just read your comment in another thread about 32 channels...
you probably mean Asio pairs, so you're effectively using up all 64 virtual inputs already

cheers, Tom

Music Manic
Posts: 1525
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Clock for Vdats

Post by Music Manic » Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:54 am

8 Vdats would be perfect. That's all I need. I though I could only get 4 because it only allowed me to arm 32 tracks. Will double check.

Nice having you back. You're info is appreciated.

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 7954
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Clock for Vdats

Post by astroman » Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:36 am

you're welcome... and you're correct about the 4 tapes
the surface only counts up to 4, but clicking + continues (and you can arm all but the respective button)
I can't check the VRC on my XP machine as it crashes with Scope 5
(dunno if that's related to the OS, but iirc it always acted this way)

while the tape transport of a physical Alesis BRC can be tricky to sync, the arming/muting part is reliable
if you have a Sync plate (and some desk space) it's a no-brainer for often less than 100€
the 9 pin Adat-Sync connector is a regular RS232 cable (both sides male)
it should be of good quality, tho (shielding etc)
certain original Alesis cables do NOT match required specs (according to Alesis support)

cheers, Tom

Music Manic
Posts: 1525
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Clock for Vdats

Post by Music Manic » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:04 am

Tom

Yes VRC works on windows 7 here. Will test it more tonight and get back to you.

I have sync plate but I don't have Adats.

Thanks

Post Reply