That good old RB-338

Request a new device/modular module, and hope that some enterprising developer grants your wish!

Moderators: valis, garyb

pollux

Post by pollux »

This is my personal litlle utopia..

ReBirth is one of my fetish pieces of software, and dreamt to have it on SFP since I got my powerPulsar :grin:

Since it has been released by propellerheads as free (as in beer) software, I ask myself it if woudl be of any harm to them if a "DSP powered clone" appeared on the nature... it has a sooooooo simple UI that even a nerd like me could make use of it...

I'm a totally noob (ultra totally noob) with SDK, but I saw that every component of the RB-338 has alrady been done (TB-303+pattern sequencer, 800 and 909, delay...); so I believe it would be possible to model it.

thoughts?

R.
sharc

Post by sharc »

Yes I think it would be possible, but even as a free device, it may attract the attention of Roland's lawyers. I think this is probably the reason for Propellerheads making Rebirth a freebie. Would be cool tho. :smile:
sharc

Post by sharc »

...Then again, I suppose if the GUI was different enough in terms of style and layout and any samples used for the drum machines were taken from clones rather than an actual 808/909, then I don't see that there would be a problem :smile:
hifiboom

Post by hifiboom »

jeah, but on the other hand, who would want a sample based 909 or 808...?

We already have that multid drum sample players for CW.
sharc

Post by sharc »

Agreed, but using samples on some of the sounds would free up dsp resources (especially for the drums that are only samples in the first place on the 909). As long as the tone controls, etc are properly emulated it shouldn't make a noticable difference to a lot of the sounds. For instance Fahrenheit on the Chameleon uses samples and yet it performs well against the best of 808 & 909 clones (Drumstation, Jomox etc). AFAIK Rebirth uses samples also.
hifiboom

Post by hifiboom »