How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.
User avatar
dante
Posts: 3702
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by dante » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:14 pm


Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by Immanuel » Fri Apr 11, 2014 12:11 pm

Aah! I saw these pictures too. But when I looked at Neutron's picture, it appeared to me that they where single clamps used for two cables. Maybe they are individual clamps, which just sit shoulder to shoulder on the cards?
Information for new readers: A forum member named Braincell is known for spreading lies and malicious information without even knowing the basics of, what he is talking about. If noone responds to him, it is because he is ignored.

haba
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:55 am

Hello I'm from Germany and in the need of one STDM cable. The standard cable dosn't fit my motherboards PCI slots. Does this two Items would fit my needs?
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2PCs-Card-Edge-C ... EoS9knYCyw
http://www.ebay.de/itm/20-Pin-Card-Edge ... SwKrhVds5r
Thank you for watching!
haba

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21192
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by garyb » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:17 am

S/TDM cables connect two or three cards together. they go on the card, not the PCI slot.

this one looks correct, but i'd use gold contacts, not phosphor bronze. the bronze contacts may oxidize, which will eventually make the cable fail. i think nickel would be better than bronze as well, even though nickel is also prone to oxidation.

haba
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba » Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:12 am

Thank you Gary, I know, but my PCI slot spacing did`nt fit the standard cable (its too short). What do you think about the other one? would require some soldering but it sould not be that bad.
They say it uses gold contacts.
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2PCs-Card-Edge-C ... EoS9knYCyw

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21192
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by garyb » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:19 am

the other connectors simply crimp on as much ribbon cable as you like. sure, you can solder it, but that's an ugly job.

haba
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:34 am

thanks Gary...I habe two older original cables...the one doesn't sit well...the other doesn't make a good connection...and because I need 4 cables..I thought I'll give it a try with soldering. But your right...60 solderpoints for one cable...it's ugly...

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by Marco » Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:26 am

I bought 2 cards from one guy, this is the easiest way to get the cables for nothing to pay extra because they are part of the offer! :D
I know, this will not help you :o

Now I have 5 cables connected, working great with 3 x 15 dsp cards

Runs like hell!
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

haba
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba » Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:33 am

I finally bought 20 connectors for 15 euro...I have 5 X 6 DSP and 1 Luna to connect...

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by Marco » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:16 am

You are a lucky man! Really.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

haba
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba » Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:55 am

:-) I know! :-)

haba
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba » Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:34 am

This ones don't fit...
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2PCs-Card-Edge-C ... EoS9knYCyw
in case that sombebody wants to to buy them.

ta7

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by ta7 » Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:51 am

I don't know if the question completely answered. But here is a useful link. It is only in German but i thing with a translater easy to understand

http://sonic-core.net/joomla.soniccore/ ... 56&lang=de

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3702
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by dante » Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:45 pm

Selecting the English flag icon works, for both the page and the PDF - no need for a translator.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21192
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by garyb » Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:26 pm

the info here and on Scoperise has part numbers and everything...

Post Reply