I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:40 pm

for somewhere around 10$ in parts. So if you're missing this one and have an ADAT plate with 2 MIDI ports, stay tuned! I will provide the pinouts (have an old analogue scope) and pictures. Need more hardware MIDI ports. I don't trust those USB ones.

Danke schön,

-Tom

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3727
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by dante » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:40 pm

Cool - will add to ScopeRise

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Oct 07, 2015 1:50 am

It will be a couple weeks or so. The 'cheap' parts are coming from China :d

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:43 am

Hmm,

The parts are arriving here slowly. I am just looking for some really thin 3 conductor cable (I don't think shielding is necessary for this cable length).

Cheers,

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:35 pm

Almost everything is here. Still waiting for the 6 MIDI female connectors.

In the meantime I should test my Tektronix. I don't think it was triggering when I used it last time. I probably fried it :(

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:05 am

Having a little bit of a problem.

I totally forgot that MIDI uses current, not voltage. How do I determine which pin is the current source and which one is the sink?

jhulk?

Thanks,

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:22 am

Well, I found the MIDI out pins... by experimentation.

Found both of them.

I have the M3 controlling the DX7s. What is really weird, the DX7 sound better played from the Korg than from itself! It probably has to do something with the DX7 only sending up to 99 velocity max.

Pretty pictures:

Image

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:00 pm

Seems to be impossible to find MIDI in, hmm.

My yamaha is playing a sequence so it's sending MIDI (I checked on my oscilloscope). I tried various pin combinations. Only took me around 15 minutes to find MIDI out! I think I've been trying different combinations for almost 3 hours :lol:

-Tom

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by Bud Weiser » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:33 pm

tlaskows wrote:
I have the M3 controlling the DX7s. What is really weird, the DX7 sound better played from the Korg than from itself! It probably has to do something with the DX7 only sending up to 99 velocity max.
What´s "better" ?
The DX factory (and most other) patches are programmed to work w/ that velocity range.
Much higher velocity values than 105+ deteriorate sound quality of these patches,- but I remember, in a specific project, I also used it as a feature to create insanely agressive sounds.

Bud

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:40 pm

I am not sure ahahaha. They sound louder for some reason. Must be different velocity curve.

BTW, back to basics. Took off the plate and used a $10 multimeter to find the pins. Found the pins! But will they work? :lol:

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:56 pm

Found the MIDI in pins in about 15 minutes including taking out the card and putting it back in then testing both inputs.

Great success. But now it's time for green tea with my friend and maybe some Mario...

-Tom

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21293
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by garyb » Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:22 pm

Dante has the pinout on ScopeRise, too....

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:26 pm

Not for the ADAT plate, I couldn't find it anywhere!

This pinout is quite different than all the other plates.

-Tom

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21293
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by garyb » Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:32 pm

oh, 24 ADAT plate?
you should post the pinout for posterity...

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:34 pm

Still working on it. Just gotta find/trace the MIDI thru from the optocouplers :D

I've been up too early again, so now it's relax time.

I will have the whole complete project and drawing hopefully soon enough...

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:28 am

This is the plate I am talking about. Haven't really seen these around. You can clearly see the two optocouplers, it's it's definitely got 2 MIDI ins.

Image

Anyways, I am stuck right now, because my female MIDI connectors are not here yet. So no easy way to test MIDI thru.

-Tom

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21293
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by garyb » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:37 am

24 ADAT is the name of the plate.

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:55 am

Ok cool :D

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:22 am

The final parts are here boys. The 6 MIDI female connectors. I shall spend a few minutes today to find the MIDI THRU outputs. But I am not sure how much time I will get to do that. It only took a month and a half for these to get here from HK. Buy hey, 5$ CAD with shipping for 6 connectors :D

-Tom

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate

Post by tlaskows » Mon Nov 23, 2015 4:30 pm

:D

All the pins found. I will not post the pinout yet until I solder all the cables and double check.

Here's a little sneak preview of my debugging skills:

Image

Cheers,

-Tom

Post Reply