PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
for somewhere around 10$ in parts. So if you're missing this one and have an ADAT plate with 2 MIDI ports, stay tuned! I will provide the pinouts (have an old analogue scope) and pictures. Need more hardware MIDI ports. I don't trust those USB ones.

Danke schön,

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3638
Location: Melbourne Australia
Cool - will add to ScopeRise


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 1:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
It will be a couple weeks or so. The 'cheap' parts are coming from China :d

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Hmm,

The parts are arriving here slowly. I am just looking for some really thin 3 conductor cable (I don't think shielding is necessary for this cable length).

Cheers,

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Almost everything is here. Still waiting for the 6 MIDI female connectors.

In the meantime I should test my Tektronix. I don't think it was triggering when I used it last time. I probably fried it :(

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Having a little bit of a problem.

I totally forgot that MIDI uses current, not voltage. How do I determine which pin is the current source and which one is the sink?

jhulk?

Thanks,

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Well, I found the MIDI out pins... by experimentation.

Found both of them.

I have the M3 controlling the DX7s. What is really weird, the DX7 sound better played from the Korg than from itself! It probably has to do something with the DX7 only sending up to 99 velocity max.

Pretty pictures:

Image

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Seems to be impossible to find MIDI in, hmm.

My yamaha is playing a sequence so it's sending MIDI (I checked on my oscilloscope). I tried various pin combinations. Only took me around 15 minutes to find MIDI out! I think I've been trying different combinations for almost 3 hours :lol:

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 1263
tlaskows wrote:

I have the M3 controlling the DX7s. What is really weird, the DX7 sound better played from the Korg than from itself! It probably has to do something with the DX7 only sending up to 99 velocity max.


What´s "better" ?
The DX factory (and most other) patches are programmed to work w/ that velocity range.
Much higher velocity values than 105+ deteriorate sound quality of these patches,- but I remember, in a specific project, I also used it as a feature to create insanely agressive sounds.

Bud


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
I am not sure ahahaha. They sound louder for some reason. Must be different velocity curve.

BTW, back to basics. Took off the plate and used a $10 multimeter to find the pins. Found the pins! But will they work? :lol:

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Found the MIDI in pins in about 15 minutes including taking out the card and putting it back in then testing both inputs.

Great success. But now it's time for green tea with my friend and maybe some Mario...

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
Dante has the pinout on ScopeRise, too....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Not for the ADAT plate, I couldn't find it anywhere!

This pinout is quite different than all the other plates.

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
oh, 24 ADAT plate?
you should post the pinout for posterity...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Still working on it. Just gotta find/trace the MIDI thru from the optocouplers :D

I've been up too early again, so now it's relax time.

I will have the whole complete project and drawing hopefully soon enough...

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
This is the plate I am talking about. Haven't really seen these around. You can clearly see the two optocouplers, it's it's definitely got 2 MIDI ins.

Image

Anyways, I am stuck right now, because my female MIDI connectors are not here yet. So no easy way to test MIDI thru.

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
24 ADAT is the name of the plate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Ok cool :D

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
The final parts are here boys. The 6 MIDI female connectors. I shall spend a few minutes today to find the MIDI THRU outputs. But I am not sure how much time I will get to do that. It only took a month and a half for these to get here from HK. Buy hey, 5$ CAD with shipping for 6 connectors :D

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I will be building an ADAT plate MIDI connector plate
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
:D

All the pins found. I will not post the pinout yet until I solder all the cables and double check.

Here's a little sneak preview of my debugging skills:

Image

Cheers,

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group