PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
After buying a new pc for my Xite-1, W7 64bits, I had some almost unhearable crackling noise during cubase 8 playback. In cubase, the cpu meter didn't show any spike, thus it didn't came from cubase. But I manipulate ram management nevertheless, cubase asio gard feature, in Kontakt ram option, Omnisphere too ; to see but no good result.

So, I focused on xite. I set up a .bat file to always start Scope with a high process priority level (what you can see in the task manager) and I had much less crackling noise. But I don't want any crackling noise at all !

I don't know how I forgot it but I didn't run Scope as administrator. And guess what, the discrete crackles seem to have disapeared ! I don't remeber to have read anywhere that running Scope as administrator prevented these slight creaking noises but it was useful to load some recalcitrant devices. Apparently, it helps to avoid bad little noises.

Conclusion = there is no reason to load Scope non administrator. I don't know what's the difference or what it does on Scope but the result is incontestable.

My misadventures may perhaps be useful to someone ...

Merci de votre attention.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 11:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3638
Location: Melbourne Australia
Is processor scheduling set for 'best performance of background services' ?
What's your ULLI set at ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 2:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Yes for background services. I did all reasonnable audio improvement.

And it made the noise at every ulli settings.

Now, with administrator mode, it's ok, even if I heard one or two crackling on a 3 hours period. I don't know where it comes from. I bought a MSI MB because of the price, I never had such thing with Asus.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
I forgot to say, according to ulli setings, that if it was a playback issue, I would see the cubase cpu meter lightning in red.. No ?

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
no.
the Cubase meter isn't that accurate. it's possible to have problems long before the meter is activated.
what is sharing an irq again?
no Hyperthreading or Turbo, right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Euuu...h... Just a minute, please....

Here are irqs, apparently the Xite is alone on 18.
Attachment:
irq.jpg
irq.jpg [ 106.33 KiB | Viewed 1531 times ]

Sorry, it's in french -> périphérique = devices ; ressource = ressource...... Ok = ok ! :D

On my ancient pc, the xite shared the graphic card + something else like usb, don't remember well but there was no noise and hyperthreading was on. Yes, I know, it doesn't mean nothing...

If I understood correctly, my cpu doesn't have any hyperthreading feature but turbo, it seems yes :
http://ark.intel.com/products/80816/Int ... o-3_70-GHz
Turbo is suppose to start only when needed and I don't think I've already pushed the pc ressources as hard.. Why would this be a problem ? If I understand well, when turbo is active, instead of running at 3Ghz, the cpu runs at 3.7Ghz...

But I must say that my computer features knowledge is quite limited !

Any idea ?

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Strange ! By looking at irqs I notice that "contrôleur audio haute definition" (High Definition Audio Controller) is there and I deactivated it in the bios... I go to check that...

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
The high definition audio controller IS unable in the bios ! How is it possible to have it in the irqs ?? :-?
I can see it in the device manager too ! :evil:
What is one suppose to do to remove it ? Desoldering its components on the mobo ?

Computer is not an exact science, that's why I prefer physics.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1454
If you have an HDMI video connector or ADAT output on the board, that may show up as a separate Audio device.

Disable in Windows Device Manager (Right-Click on the device in the list, and you'll find the drop-down menu to disable in there)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Jksuperstar'> you must be right. And only the hdmi audio is not deactivable and I need the video outputs.
I disabled it in the device manager but the irq 16 remains to it... Anyway, it won't ask any interuption anymore, right ?

Thanks, JK !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
HD audio isn't a problem.
turn off turbo. it doesn't do anything for your audio work. it can make crackles.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Ah.. Turbo won't help on a heavy cubase project ?

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
no.
try it disabled and see. if i'm incorrect, ignore my advice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
That's it... I disabled turbo to see if those idiot crackling noise disapear totaly.

I've seen another feature that perhaps is involve in that issue : HPET (High Precision Event Timer), it's a feature that appeared with Windows 7. I think I never saw anything like this on my Asus P5Q. Does someone know a bit more about HPET ? Would that feature generate my noisy issue ?

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
:evil: I just heard a light crackling ! With turbo deactivated ! :x

I truly think an Asus would not make such noise.... F..... Each time I buy something else I get troubles ! (second time in 17 years :D )

Ça meuh casseuh les couilleux !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 631
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Have you tried to run LatencyMon? It might help you pinpoint some service or app that maybe doing something.

LatencyMon

_________________
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
EIST is disabled, right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
EIST ? What is EIST ?

And HPET ? Not important ? Pfff ! How many is there ?

Gonna try latencymon tomorrow....

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20990
Location: ghetto by the sea
HPET? not important.

EIST is VERY important.

Enhanced Intel Speedstep Technology- it MUST be disabled.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Discrete crackles
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1782
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Ecco... To day, I deactivated EIST in the bios. When I did that, the 'turbo' disapeared ! Turbo is avaible on ly if EIST is enable on my MSI mobo.

Now, I start the test... See you later ! :)

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group