Random Clicks Pops or Crackles While Idle

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.

Moderator: valis

Post Reply
User avatar
ronnie
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Contact:

Random Clicks Pops or Crackles While Idle

Post by ronnie » Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:14 pm

Just a quick tip from experience. If you ever notice a random click, pop or crackle from your speakers even though you are not running your DAW or playing audio it could be static electricity. You might notice it more when you move around, especially your feet. Of course your studio sound system has to be on! I have found that sometimes this can be caused by loose screws holding equipment in the rack. Since I discovered this by accident when jiggling a unit to add one of those screw in rack hook things to hold headphones, I make it a point to tighten the screws on everything every month or two and make sure there's a nylon or teflon washer between the screw and the unit. It works. I don't know why. While the noises don't print, they are a real pain in the arse. I heard that hearing this is a good thing because it shows a good ground on the offending equipment's circuitry so I guess it makes sense that the chassis needs to be tight in the rack rails.
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1536
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Random Clicks Pops or Crackles While Idle

Post by tlaskows » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:47 pm

I had crackling when recording (on a different sound card a long time ago) when I was running a software RAID array.

I've had crackling noise with Scope when my ADAT cables come loose from the A16 Ultra...

-Tom

Post Reply