PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 9:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
I made a huge Xite project. So huge that I couldn't put anymore device. - I kept my 3 PCI boards when I bought an Xite-1 for all the i/o and linked Xite & PCI via ADAT i/o.- I had the idea to use my PCI board for the three master verbs of my huge project.
It was an amazing idea : now, I don't know when I'll get a Scope message saying "stop ! No more connexion ... gnah gnah gnah...". I can go much higher on the dsp meter than ever.

So.. If you kept your pci boards like me for i/o, have a try ! It's incredible ! Reverbs devour dsp power !
Attachment:
Huge project.jpg
Huge project.jpg [ 551.64 KiB | Viewed 1845 times ]


Merci de votre attention.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 11:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3607
Location: Melbourne Australia
Way to go !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 889
I can't resist showcases...

very carefully tuned Xite-1 (sdk) Project in 96kHz. 9 (custom) sdram reverbs, 102 instrument synthesized voices, 17 chorus


Last edited by fra77x on Sun Nov 09, 2014 1:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Waow !

Yes sdram reverbs are good for xite ! But puting the reverbs in the PCIs is even better !

But which Scope version are you using ? Isn't it SDK ?

Did you keep your PCI boards ?

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 889
yes sdk.

I have my pci boards but they are positioned in my old pc which is situated in my closet so to keep the noise down... Nevertheless i don't use it anymore so to streamline my work setup. I just use my laptop which is almost silent and 2 monitors. Unfortunately HD4000 doesn't work with a 3rd display.

Yes your idea is very good. Also positioning of the asio driver gains some extra bandwidth.
I use dsp 10 for asio these days, i believe its better than 1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
I see... You just need long adat optic cable to go in you closet ! :D
It is worth it.

Dsp 10 ?? I thought it's SC who made dsp 2 for asio ! I Never heard dsp 1 about asio... The dsp 1 is for hardware i/o, isn't it ??

The bible :
Attachment:
DSP assignment.JPG
DSP assignment.JPG [ 30.67 KiB | Viewed 1781 times ]

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 889
i don't want to confuse you. I put Vdat in dsp 2.
I do tests with different positioning of the asio and i have reached the conclusion that it allows more channels in 10.
Perhaps it was something else...
------
My (practical) understanding of the dsp structure of the xite-1 is as follows:
1-6 old sharcs. VDAT works only on dsp 2.
7-18 new sharcs. That's it.
7-11 have better (probably) communication with asio.
I only use the new dsps.

Connections inside a dsp doesn't consume any communication. Connections between dsps cost communication.
--------------

My old pc groans and cough. I believe it has fulfilled the purpose of its existence. :D

Keep on the great work! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Xite & PCI on same pc.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
:)

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group