PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
Thought maybe we could share some tips to improve the workflow in Scope.

Here's mine.

Mouse Tips: I have been using a trackball for many years and really love them.

This is the one I use: http://www.logitech.com/en-us/product/w ... kball-m570

Program the back/fwd buttons on the trackball and set them to the left and right arrow keys on the keyboard. This is useful for advancing/decreasing switches on devices. I have found the mouse pointer to be cumbersome for this and am very pleased how this works.
(these buttons also work on advancing thru waveforms, program banks and other pull down lists.)
Note: you must click on each control to make it active first then use the buttons as described.....yeah no duh

Program the wheel button to the "delete" key on the keyboard. This is useful for deleting routing cables and saves you from having to reach down to the keyboard.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:28 pm
Posts: 313
Location: San Francisco
thanks great tips. Will buy one


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
I also have this trackball, same model, it has most advantage if you need more space on your table, you dont need to shift, move a mouse around the table. Thats the biggest advantage. Its same comfort like working with a mouse. When I play lifemusic, I have the trackball with, because on my Keyboard is no big surface to move a mouse

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Workflow tip #2

Buy and use a 4k TV 50" or bigger, super comfortable working with highes Resolution 3849x2160 pix on a big scope scrren. Hisense 880 is very cheap TV. I will buy very soon.... :D

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:02 pm
Posts: 76
Sounds cool. Can you post a pic of your workstation would like to see that in action !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:57 am
Posts: 598
Location: Ireland
You would need a video card to support that kind of resolution on a single display.

3849*2160=8313840 pixels
Whereas 1080*1920 = 2073600 pixels
I.e. four-times more pixels in the larger screen.
But me, I would rather have multiple monitors that I can hit the Maximise button on each window/screen.

Me, I run two monitors, and I would need to find space to put a third. Since Ableton 9.1 now supports dual monitors, I would like to have two with Ableton / Ableton + plugins, and one with Scope.
Turns out my current video card (Nvidia Quadro FX 580) has three outs, but only supports two simultaneous outs... There are a few video cards however now that do support three simultaneous outs, and they don't cost the earth...

_________________
Not because it is easy, but because it is hard...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
anabella wrote:
Workflow tip #2

Buy and use a 4k TV 50" or bigger, super comfortable working with highes Resolution 3849x2160 pix on a big scope scrren. Hisense 880 is very cheap TV. I will buy very soon.... :D



Great topic Anabella. I have been thinking of upgrading to a 27" screen. Then I would have a 27" for the Xite and a 24" for the PCI side.
A 50" would be awesome indeed and I've often wondered if that would work well.
Eanna, good point about the video card resolution. Hadn't thought about having 3 monitors either. I'm going to have to research that a little more before I buy.

Thanks for the input.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
Anyone try anything like this?

http://www.keyboard-and-mouse-sharing.com/demo.htm


This looks interesting too:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zl8HtKgpuO4


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1713
Location: VRRAAaaooO├┤Oooommmh
One of my workflow tip (on Cubase 5.2) :

I use Cubase midi device manager to solo or mute STM channels when I edit some midi track. You can build you own little midi device (inside Cubase) to control what ever you want in Scope via midi. Like this, I don't have to go back in Scope for listening only the midi track I'm working on (if this midi track audio is automated by another Cubase midi track like for instance its STM level fader, if you solo the midi piano roll editor, Cubase sends a 0 value midi controler on the muted Scope midi automation track, thus you don't hear it anymore !) , I can also, thanks to STM mute group, listen to only some channels, solo several channels etc...
Sometimes, I like to listen only to the drums, the bass and the midi track I'm editing.

It seems to be nothing like this but it allows a good workflow and being concentrated on a particular midi track and remove or put back other channels to check quickly the result. Try Cubase midi devices ! It's worth it !

Ecco.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
yayajohn wrote:


Well i just tried this and liked it so much I ended up buying it. 49.95USD If you've only got one monitor on each computer it's free. For me, I've got 2 monitors on my Xite/DAW computer and 1 monitor for my Scope PCI computer so unfortunately you will need to buy the Pro version if you have more than 2 monitors. Hopefully this is going to work out as a great workflow tool for me with two systems running together but separate. You can even keep a separate mouse on each computer and whichever one you are using is the active. Pretty neat stuff if you ask me.
Hmm a thought just occurred to me that i didn't even bother to search for a similar product, oh well too late now :)

Cheers
Dan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Been using this for awhile without issues:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35460


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:57 am
Posts: 598
Location: Ireland
Wow, what a clever idea!

_________________
Not because it is easy, but because it is hard...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
doh!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Workflow Tips
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
I thought about a 4k monitor, but I think everything would be just way too small to see well. I have 2 1080p monitors and I only seem to ever need 1. I have a GTX 770 and I don't even play games anymore. Scope is a lot more fun :D

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group