setting up your computer

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.
User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1536
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: setting up your computer

Post by tlaskows » Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:25 pm

You may have a good point, Hubrid.

My fans run at very low RPM though, so I don't know how much air they blow. I need to keep things quiet.

Like I said, I will probably close the case once I get all of my stuff...

Are you running Windows on your Mac??

-Tom

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21182
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: setting up your computer

Post by garyb » Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:34 pm

i doubt disabling EIST will make your computer overheat unless it's woefully under-cooled and the case has no ventillation to begin with. even the stock Intel cooler should be fine.

hubird

Re: setting up your computer

Post by hubird » Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:50 pm

tlaskows wrote:Are you running Windows on your Mac??

-Tom
No, I have a dual mac setup, cards on a Quicksilver G4 OS9.2, and Cubase on mac pro OSX, connected through a RME Raydat :)

Windows?
Isn't that the program which runs better on mac than on pc?
:D

User avatar
tlaskows
Posts: 1536
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: setting up your computer

Post by tlaskows » Sun Mar 22, 2015 5:30 pm

Very nice...

I don't have a choice, I have to use Winblows (I need 64 bit drivers). I used to run Logic under OS X on my PC :P

I have a MacBook Pro retina and Windows looks like crap on it :cry: so I sold it (Windows, not my Mac).

I'm using Sonar and learning it, it has changed a lot since 10 years ago when I last used it...

-Tom

User avatar
ronnie
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Contact:

Re: setting up your computer

Post by ronnie » Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:49 am

ronnie wrote:
Since we brought up virtual machines I'd like to share something I recently tried. It's called SpaceDesk and along with Mouse Without Borders allows you to control another machine over the network connections. I've been trying it from my Win 8.1 laptop to control my HP XW4600 Scope system and so far so good. The screen resolution is not the best and there is a slight lag on the mouse but very workable. I don't have a Win 8 tablet with touch but the products should work there which would be interesting to control Scope via touch on a tablet. Any one have a tablet to try? :)

Here's a YouTube of the action. The resolution is much better than in the YouTube video. The MIDI control is from the controller on the notebook.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ffq1iI-0dag&t=13

Update: Clicks and pops associated with screen updates. Too bad, looked promising over fast ethernet. Disabled. No clicks or pops. May try again with different compression settings before uninstalling.
Since I have tried Teamviewer 10 which seems more promising. I haven't heard any weirdness yet while controlling my SCOPE workstation from my SONAR laptop with both running. It uses between .5% CPU when idle to 9% full audio playing. You can go IP to IP if the cards are Gigabit over the wire its a pretty fast response. (Meters lag a bit but audio does not to my ears) Obviously this is all inside the same studio so I don't care about the audio, just central control without hooking up more cables for KVM switching.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: setting up your computer

Post by faxinadu » Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:13 am

why isnt this sticky? :0

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21182
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: setting up your computer

Post by garyb » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:29 am

well, it's not a sticky, but Teamviewer IS great.....

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: setting up your computer

Post by faxinadu » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:51 am

half of our device development is done at the pc of my day job with teamviewer to scope sdk at home ;)

fra77x2
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 3:23 pm

Re: setting up your computer

Post by fra77x2 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:56 am

Can you give me your boss telephone number? :D

You remind me of older times when i was using reaktor for "training" in my day job.
F^%ng social stratification!

fidox
Posts: 614
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: setting up your computer

Post by fidox » Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:19 pm

Intel i7 6700 / skylake / Z170 chipset.
I have disabled everything in Bios for CPU configuration.
Attachments
Advanced CPU Core Settings_[22-11-32].jpg
Advanced CPU Core Settings_[22-11-32].jpg (137.92 KiB) Viewed 1658 times

ta7

Re: setting up your computer

Post by ta7 » Mon May 01, 2017 9:34 am

garyb wrote:some general tips:

as in the letter that came with v5.1, in the bios(you may have already done this) disable any of these things, or anything that is obviously the same, but slightly differently named:

Intel EIST
Intel C State
C1E Support
Overspeed Protection
Hyperthreading
Execute Bit Support
Set Limit CPUID MaxVal to 3 (maybe not so important)
Intel Virtual Tech
Intel VT-d Tech

Hi Gary,
I have looked in the bios settings but your listed settings not found. I have the Asrock G31M-GS. Do you know, or someone else here in the forum, witch settings the best for the board?

Sometimes i got audio dropouts and crackles while playback.
The DAW i got is Sonar X1 on XP sp3. In the PCI slots are one Pulsar1 and a SRB1.


Thanks for some Tips.
Cheers, Tomas

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21182
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: setting up your computer

Post by garyb » Mon May 01, 2017 10:56 am

looking in the motherboard's manual, i see that the most important settings are in the advanced cpu settings menu.

hyperthreading and EIST are the most important ones...

exactly what your bios will show depends on what CPU you have, but EIST is ALWAYS there with a newer Intel processor. some 775 processors may not have it, but it's unlikely.

Post Reply