New folders for all your projects

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Post by Immanuel »

This is a copy of a post kimgr in another thread. I think it deserves a place in this category.

---------------------------------------------

I always create a folder structure for each song/project that I'm working on. I simply run a .bat file that creates the nessary folders, something like this:

mkdir "_NewProject"
mkdir "_NewProjectAcid"
mkdir "_NewProjectAcidXport"
mkdir "_NewProjectAudio"
mkdir "_NewProjectAudioMaster"
mkdir "_NewProjectAudioMix"
mkdir "_NewProjectAudioPreMix"
mkdir "_NewProjectAudioXport"
mkdir "_NewProjectLogic"
mkdir "_NewProjectLogicPlugInSettings"
mkdir "_NewProjectSFP"
mkdir "_NewProjectSFPPresets"
mkdir "_NewProjectSTS_Sampler"
mkdir "_NewProjectORGs"
mkdir "_NewProjectReaktor"
exit

Kim.

---------------------------------------------

I find it a very nice trick for saving time, and keeping things in good order.
R0zzer
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 4:00 pm

Post by R0zzer »

Top Tip :grin:
King of Snake
Posts: 1544
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by King of Snake »

I'be also recently been making folders for each new project. No subfolders though since I usually don't have that many files. Just the SFP and Cubase projects and some audiofiles. But it's much easier to have those in one folder instead of three different folders.
Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Post by Immanuel »

I shortened _newproject to just _
This makes it easyer to rename.
Omb
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: London , UK

Post by Omb »

[quote]
On 2004-01-23 15:38, Immanuel wrote:
This is a copy of a post kimgr in another thread. I think it deserves a place in this category.

---------------------------------------------

I always create a folder structure for each song/project that I'm working on. I simply run a .bat file that creates the nessary folders, something like this:

---------------------------------------------

hello everyone,
Immanuel , how you make this .bat file ?

cheers
Omb
User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4743
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Post by at0m »

A .bat file is a plain text file with .bat instead of .txt extension. I use Notepad to make a batch file...
more has been done with less
https://soundcloud.com/at0m-studio
Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Post by Immanuel »

Yes, just type in all the stuff that looks like code. After that, you rename the file - this is the way, I change extensions.
singleton
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:00 pm

Post by singleton »

Hi!
On 2004-02-01 09:55, Immanuel wrote:
I shortened _newproject to just _
This makes it easyer to rename.
You can save time by passing the name of the project as a command line argument to the batch file.

This way, you don't need to rename anything by hand. Just write a batch like:

mkdir %1
mkdir %1Logic
mkdir %1LogicAudio
mkdir %1SFP
etc.

And use it like this:

>> create.bat RawkSong

To yield a directory tree like:

RawkSong
RawkSongLogic
RawkSongLogicAudio
RawkSongSFP
etc.

P.S. This is my first post to this forum. I've been reading all this CW-related stuff in here for a few weeks now and find it just excellent.
doodyrh
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Neither here nor there.

Post by doodyrh »

On 2004-08-25 05:09, singleton wrote:
P.S. This is my first post to this forum. I've been reading all this CW-related stuff in here for a few weeks now and find it just excellent.
I was about to make the same suggestion but instead I'll say "Great idea!". :wink:
Nobody replied and he hasn't been back in three months so I figure some encouragement is needed.
Or perhaps username suggests there'll only ever be one post.
User avatar
dehuszar
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Chicago, IL United States of Amnesia

Post by dehuszar »

If you don't want to make a batch file, you can do what I do, which is make a directory called "Template" (or whatever) and fill it with sub-directories that are useful to you (Mine are SFP, Cubase, Samples, Presets, Mixes&Masters <for all my bounces>).

When you start a new project, right-click & drag the Template folder into the same window so you can make a copy of the folder, F2 when highlighted and rename.

Then all the Cubase .cpr project files, Audio and automation go in the Cubase folder (note: you have to select this folder at project creation time for Cubase to do it automatically, otherwise the Audio Pool manager is used), and you can then save all the other files where they need to go.

Easy as pie for backups.

Sam
singleton
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:00 pm

Post by singleton »

Nobody replied and he hasn't been back in three months so I figure some encouragement is needed.
Or perhaps username suggests there'll only ever be one post.
Hah, thanks for the encouragement and a good point about the username :smile:. I went out to purchase a new PC & Scope Professional during the summer of 2004 but have spent less than 10 hours with it. :sad: Now yesterday, I loaded a Modular 3 FM patch and played for 3 hours and now I'm here reading the forum again. I'll have to get my motivation back and start making music with the SCOPE stuff.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: singleton on 2005-09-29 23:44 ]</font>
User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4743
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Re: New folders for all your projects

Post by at0m »

Update, creating a folder named per project date: yyyy-mm-dd

REM set pro to your project's main folder instead of c:
set pro=c:
set prodate=%date:~9,4%-%date:~6,2%-%date:~3,2%
mkdir "%pro%\%prodate%"
REM personalise your folders
mkdir "%pro%\%prodate%\cubase"
mkdir "%pro%\%prodate%\fruity"
mkdir "%pro%\%prodate%\live"
mkdir "%pro%\%prodate%\samples"


Counting characters in the output of "echo %date%" in cmd, you can adjust the "~x,y" with x being the amount of characters to skip, and y being the amount to include. Save as newproject.bat and put it within reach :)
more has been done with less
https://soundcloud.com/at0m-studio
Post Reply