PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
I've got 3 pci board.

I need to set the right board ID on a mixer in which there is board ID 1 -> 5... How could I know which pci card is board ID 1 , 2 , 3, 4 or 5 ? And why ID 1 -> 5 if there is only 3 card ?

Thanks for help !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
assign the mixer to a specific board and watch the dsp load change. Even though there is the option for board 4 and 5 it will revert to the number of boards in your system. Prob just the original programmers thinking ahead before they realized that more than 3 was going to make problems.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Thanks, yayajohn. But there is nowhere to find the ID number <--> corresponding board ? It would be simplier.

Anyway, I don't find it !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20987
Location: ghetto by the sea
you can assign dsps in a PCI system?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3638
Location: Melbourne Australia
Is he talkin bout assigning board (rather than dsp) ?

I though assigning DSP on PCI could only be done with SDK.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
He is talking (i think) about assigning the Board IDs on the STM mixers. Just look on you DSP meter and see what they are numbered


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Yes ! It's about assigning board ID on PCI mixers. It's interesting, indeed, because I tried to do like yayajohn told me and I get a little DSP load benefit on ID 3, the card which receives ADAT from Xite-1 (I believe !!). As explained in mixers manual :
____________________________________
Board ID: If you have multiple DSP
boards in your system and have
connected several external I/Os to the
mixer, you can select which board to
assign to the mixer. When used
appropriately this feature can relieve the
DSP system dramatically. For example,
if you connect multiple hardware inputs
such as an ADAT source module to the
mixer inputs, and these inputs are located
on a different board than the one used to
process the mixer channels, you can
change the board ID to ensure that the
board with the ADAT inputs is the one
used to process the mixer channels.
____________________________________

Since some months, I use my PCI cards like aux. effect rack, so some DSP saving is always good to get...

Assigning board ID is not only avaible on STM mixers but also on micro mixer.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
ah ok I get it. So you are trying to assign the mixer to the same board as the one you have connected to the ADAT from the Xite-1. Is that for possible phase issues or less latency?

What I did to make sure it was going to the right board was, I loaded up the insert effects to make the change more noticeable on the dsp meter.

Personally I haven't had the need to use this feature, but maybe someone else has and would be more helpful to you. I have an Xite-1 and run an ADAT connection to/from a 3 card PCI on a separate computer now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
The purpose is just to optimize as most as possible the dsp ressources.
My pci cards are on the same pc with Xite-1, I kept them for i/o and now, I use them also as aux. send fx, like reverbs and insert fx for analog input wired to some HW synths. To not load reverbs into Xite-1 let you a huge place for loading anything else, it's the way I found to load very very large projects like here :

Image

It's awesome to have such a powerful audio system in a single pc thanks to Scope Xite-1 & pci... When I sit in front of my pc, I am the happiest man ! :)
If you want, you can listen to the result of this project here : https://soundcloud.com/jopo-3/spicy-hot-chili

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Last edited by JoPo on Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:44 am 
:o

Wonderfull track, so the spaghetti was worth it :)


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
:)

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 1:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 1263
JoPo wrote:

... it's the way I found to load very very large projects like here :
...

If you want, you can listen to the result of this project here : https://soundcloud.com/jopo-3/spicy-hot-chili


JoPo !!!
That´s ultra cool stuff I enjoy very much !
Great work.

Bud


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 1:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
:) Thanks a lot, Bud ! :)

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:42 pm
Posts: 359
Bud Weiser wrote:
JoPo wrote:

... it's the way I found to load very very large projects like here :
...

If you want, you can listen to the result of this project here : https://soundcloud.com/jopo-3/spicy-hot-chili


JoPo !!!
That´s ultra cool stuff I enjoy very much !
Great work.

Bud


I love it too !!!
Great job Jopo, I really enjoyed listening to your song, Ozric tentacles style with much more jazz feeling, love it !
You play the bass on it ? awesome skill and sound ! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Woah ! Very pleasant to read ! Thanks a lot, guppy ! :)

No, I just build up some Scarbee (fantastic !) bass midi track by hands & sweat ; like for all instruments on the other tracks, indeed. And I use Scope in Xite & PCI to mix and put some fx, linked by ADAT and now, I even have got a new pc in which I installed Xite and they are still linked via ADAT i/o but also via net and Vienna ensemble pro (prodigious thing !) ! I really enjoy to play with all that stuff.

If one proposes to me to restart my life from the begining by keeping all what I have in my brain / memory, I would make music with the same gear.... :D

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Last edited by JoPo on Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20987
Location: ghetto by the sea
awesome. great job!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
:)
garyb wrote:
awesome. great job!
:)

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:42 pm
Posts: 359
JoPo wrote:
No, I just build up some Scarbee (fantastic !) bass midi track by hands & sweat ; like for all instruments on the other tracks, indeed. And I use Scope in Xite & PCI to mix and put some fx, linked by ADAT and now, I even have got a new pc in which I installed Xite and they are still linked via ADAT i/o but also via net and Vienna ensemble pro (prodigious thing !) ! I really enjoy to play with all that stuff.


lol my bad !
I can hear it now, well done :)
I thought it was a kind of effect applied on a real bass :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 631
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Wow! Really nice, so loose yet so tight! :o

_________________
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pci board ID ?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:57 am
Posts: 598
Location: Ireland
Nice one!

It shouldn't work, but it so does! :-)

Some great lead line work in there. Otherworldly virtuoso saxophones and all!

If only the by-product of my own chili dinners was so tuneful...

_________________
Not because it is easy, but because it is hard...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group