PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 20
hi, ive been using scope for effects n synths, but as far as mixers goes, i set all my levels in the sequencer mixer , would there be any point to routing all my channels out into different channels on the stm mixer regarding sound? like would there be an advantage summing wise, increased seperation 3d,clarity... like on outboard mixers?
thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
that's how i hear it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3608
Location: Melbourne Australia
Theres another option : Submix in native then main mix in Scope.

For Example : I have 32 tracks of 'choral' harmony vocals. I use the Steinberg mixer to mix those to one stereo channel, and then route that to Scope for the u-bewt Scope processors (stm w/ C350 eq, RMX160 verb etc)

Way to go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
of course, it's not all or nothing....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1436
Location: Italy
i usually set up drum (separating kik, snare, hat, toms, cymbals, ambient), bass, guitar, lead gtr, clean gtr, (etc), strings, brass, woodwinds, synths, etc on separate tracks on scope mixer.
i always felt that was sounding better than mix everyhing in the seq.

_________________
My website: http://www.alchemystudio.it
Find me also on Facebook, Bandcamp Soundcloud and YouTube


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3103
Location: Cupertino, California US
I use a hybrid approach doing tracking through Scope into/through Samplitude, and have often summed out through Scope again during final mix.

WAY more depth-of-field and 'mass' using Scope than just using doing everything through Samplitude (and Samp. is pretty damn good at summing).

It's a modern day equivalent of the studio guys running through external hardware and summing boxes.

Greg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 20
awesome! looks like time to change things up, everyday i learn more about scope it gets better :)
thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 1327
Location: Denmark
@siriusbliss. Are you talking about summing alone? Or mixin as well.. I can understand differences in mix, native vs scope, but not really summing.
Might have to try it myself:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3103
Location: Cupertino, California US
Yeah, one test is to run your mix out of your DAW, through Scope i.e. 4896 mixer to a stereo mix, and RECORD this back into a separate channel in your DAW host.

Check the quality of sound compared to rendering a stereo mix directly out of your DAW.

It may surprise you. :wink:

Greg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Italy
siriusbliss wrote:
Yeah, one test is to run your mix out of your DAW, through Scope i.e. 4896 mixer to a stereo mix, and RECORD this back into a separate channel in your DAW host.

Check the quality of sound compared to rendering a stereo mix directly out of your DAW.

It may surprise you. :wink:

Greg


Greg you're the man,thanks for confirming my long-time opinion that some DAWS mixer "fucks up" the sound. I've ALWAYS had this problem with cubase,example : open a vst into an external host = bright and "punchy sound",no clipping on SFP MIXER.Instead if I open the same vst inside cubase THERE IS A DIFFERENCE,especially in terms of dynamic.....there's something going on into that master bus,i swear it...plus it goes to red with NOTHING ! I've just tried your method ,instead of exporting from cubase i re-record cubase output (on SCOPE ASIO 2 OUTPUT) in real time inside the DAW....and the sound is PUNCHY and ..i don't know how to explain,it's more ALIVE to me. When I say this on other forum people get mad at me,because of the sacred law "daws are all the same". Heck,even Fruity Loops sounds better than Cubase ! There's clearly something goin' on into that fucker ,but people don't notice it.If only I had a sequencer into SCOPE :( :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3169
Merkury wrote:
If only I had a sequencer into SCOPE :( :(


With Open Scope and ParSeq, we may very well have that soon.

http://www.the-new-world-of-music.net/f ... a92988c8fa


Last edited by Mr Arkadin on Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
yes.

but even if Cubase's mixer does mess things up, Scope users don't need to mix there, so no problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: scope vs sequencer mixer regarding sound
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Italy
Mr Arkadin wrote:
Merkury wrote:
If only I had a sequencer into SCOPE :( :(


With Open Scope and ParSeq, we may very well have that soon.



:o that looks promising !!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group