A question about FX...

A space for learning and studying the Scope environment and music-making in general.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
___crisis___1
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 pm
Contact:

Post by ___crisis___1 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:21 pm

i was reading an article in computer music, about getting a better bass sound. it was talking about sending the bass through a delay, and having the bass hit dry, then putting a filter, distortion, and maybe even reverb on the echo. how would one go about doing this?

the only way i could think of, was to automate the fx to come on and off? but is there some way to route the signal so that only the echo of the delay gets filter/distortion/reverb, or any other fx?

symbiote
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:00 pm

Post by symbiote » Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:27 pm

Just load the delay/dist/etc as an Aux, then you can have the dry signal in the channel and send some of it to get delayed and distorted etc.

You could also use up a second mixer track, i.e. have one mixer track with the dry signal, and another with a filter/delay/distortion. Just set the delay to 100% wet.

___crisis___1
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 pm
Contact:

Post by ___crisis___1 » Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:22 am

ok... but once you have it all setup, you still have to automate the aux send, or the mixer channel right? cause if not, then th whole signal will get effected.

User avatar
kensuguro
Posts: 4431
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: BPM 60 to somewhere around 150
Contact:

Post by kensuguro » Sun Jan 15, 2006 10:12 am

can't you just send the bass to a reverb, and use the predelay on the reverb? By the way, room reverb on low end works great. You just need to have the low pass set really low. You get the "woof" right in the mix.

symbiote
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:00 pm

Post by symbiote » Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:22 pm

On 2006-01-15 08:22, ___crisis___1 wrote:
ok... but once you have it all setup, you still have to automate the aux send, or the mixer channel right? cause if not, then th whole signal will get effected.
No, if you load the filter/delay/dist as Aux effects and set the delay to 100% wet, only the delay/echo will get effected, the main signal will remain completely dry.

You can still automate the Aux, but that will only control how much dry signal you send to be effected (i.e. control the amount of delay,) not if only the echo gets effected.

User avatar
alfonso
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Fregene.
Contact:

Post by alfonso » Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:55 am

For the best bass sound is good to process its mid-high & high spectrum, leaving the bass bottom untouched, otherwise you loose punch.

Check this device:

http://www.planetz.com/forums/viewtopic ... orum=16&15

:smile:

Post Reply