Drum Setup?

A space for learning and studying the Scope environment and music-making in general.

Moderators: valis, garyb

grappa

Post by grappa »

Hi,

I've been researching the conventional way in which real drums are mic'd/recorded and wonder if anybody sets up drums from a sampler in this way i.e all out over an overhead pair and individual outs for kick,snare,toms & hihat or do you just fire eveything out on separate outs.
I am just wondering if there is any value in just adding ambience to a psuedo stereo overhead.

Any thoughts gratefully received.

I am using the great SM sample set for STS3000 available from this forum (massive thanks to the guy who spent time doing this) and am experimenting with the Scope platform as I am new to it.

Regards,

Simon

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: grappa on 2004-09-05 16:02 ]</font>
blazesboylan

Post by blazesboylan »

I've never done this (I tend to mic drums :smile:) but it sounds like a great idea. And yes, Stige's kit is awesome, isn't it?

Putting some verb on your "room mic" mix, then mixing that in with the individual drums, could possibly give you a great natural feel.

Another consideration when mic'ing live drums is when to double-mic. For example, I've been double-mic'ing snare for a long time (one on the batter skin, one on the chain). This gives you huge control during mixing. I don't know how easy it would be to do with samples though... Multing signals out to 2 EQs might do the trick. For example, with kick, you could send out the boomy side to a low boost EQ, and send the same kick out through a ~ 2-5000 Hz filter to give it some attack. Then when you're mixing it's easy to just raise the "attack" fader, rather than muck with EQ settings... This emulates putting a mic inside the kick and another one on the batter head for attack.

Just a few stray thoughts! :smile: Cheers,

Johann
grappa

Post by grappa »

Thanks for the reply johann.