STS bad MIDI timing...

Talk about the STS series of Creamware samplers.
Post Reply
Grok
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour

Post by Grok » Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:49 am

all is in the title...Seen this with STS 5000 and Windows XP

There are little timing imprecisions with the execution of MIDI notes on...

Is there a way to get the STS more precise? Where do the issue come from?
Toujours l'Amour!

User avatar
braincell
Posts: 5894
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Shenandoah

Post by braincell » Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:54 am

It's impossible to say with such little information. You need to list everything about your computer. I uses the STS series with windows xp and can go as low as 4 mil delay which is practically zereo latency.

Grok
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour

Post by Grok » Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:00 pm

Well, the only thing I can say is that my XP is tweaked for audio...

I've seen this little timing imprecision when recording a drum sequence that was in two part: a VSTi and the STS 5000.

When I looked to the resultings waveforms, the VSTi one was in perfect synchro, and the STS one had inconstants imperfections, like if it was "humanized"...

So maybe the STS has an inbox automatic humanizer?
Toujours l'Amour!

kimgr
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue May 22, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Easter Bronx, DK
Contact:

Post by kimgr » Tue Feb 11, 2003 3:18 am

The VSTi is an "audio-instrument", and is therefore sample accurate on playback. (But not when played "live".)
The STS-5000 is a (hardware) midi-instrument, and therefore does not have that advantage...
On a correctly installed/tuned OS, the STS has a latency of approx. 1-1.5 ms +-0.5 which is way better than any other hardware sampler...

Kim.

Grok
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour

Post by Grok » Tue Feb 11, 2003 5:35 am

Thank you for your answer, Kimgr :smile:
Toujours l'Amour!

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Post by spacef » Tue Feb 11, 2003 6:25 am

Normally those midi timing issues on NOte ON have been solved. It was pretty bad on the first versions of the STS (irregularities in the Note On triggers, rather than latency) but with the latest versions it should be fine. At least that's what i see here, it is much better now (sts5000).

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: spacef on 2003-02-11 06:25 ]</font>

Grok
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour

Post by Grok » Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:28 pm

Yes, it is usable anyway: it can be seen on the waveforms but I can't hear these "imprecisions"
Toujours l'Amour!

User avatar
braincell
Posts: 5894
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Shenandoah

Post by braincell » Wed Feb 12, 2003 3:23 pm

If you can't hear it I would not refer to it as "bad midi timing"!

Grok
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour

Post by Grok » Thu Feb 13, 2003 4:38 am

Ok, so just refer it as "bad timing"

or: "inconstant timing response on MIDI notes on"
Toujours l'Amour!

mr swim
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Londres
Contact:

Post by mr swim » Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:13 am

I'm pretty sure there are midi timing problems coming from the sequencer too. At least, I know that it used to be an ongoing problem for cubase users (including myself) - and still is an issue (at least for me !). This is particularly noticable for me when I'm using midi control data. If midi data changes on the beat, it is <i>sometimes</i> noticable just milliseconds afterwards. I always presumed that this was the same issue that caused midi clock irregularities on the bpm-timed delays etc in Scope. In other words, that it was an issue with the sequencer data and not the Pulsar environment . . . .

User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4583
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Post by at0m » Mon Mar 03, 2003 5:23 pm

Hi,

The extra latency can be caused by some processing (ie. formants) being done on cpu. CPU means latency.

The wiggly timing can be improved by using non-emulated drivers or other than CW's software drivers. The latter means sending time critical MIDI via the hardware input to dsp.

Good luck!
more has been done with less

finfreluchette
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:02 am

Re: STS bad MIDI timing...

Post by finfreluchette » Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:43 pm

same problem for me in 2013 with Samplitude and Scope 5.1 32 bits :cry:

samplers timings are bad (like if it was "humanized", sometime it's audible)
but strangely, synth timings are perfect (Minimax, Profit 5 ...)

I don't use emulated ports and Bios is correctly set.
Any idea ?

fra77x
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: STS bad MIDI timing...

Post by fra77x » Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:04 pm

Midi timing and latency are unrelated. You can have huge or minimum latency and good or bad midi timing. Inaccuracies in midi are called midi jitter.

There is no bad "sts" midi timing and "perfect" synthesizers. You just don't listen to the jitter at the synth sounds but becomes evident at percusive sounds.

Most software sequencers offer mediocre midi timing. That does not applies only to scope, it applies to all hardware synths driven with these.

Solutions: Good midi interfaces. Hardware sequencers. MDS-8 or others scope modular sequencers. Audio driven sequencers.
Sampling and using vst samplers.

Regards

finfreluchette
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:02 am

Re: STS bad MIDI timing...

Post by finfreluchette » Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:34 pm

I just found the solution :)

The problem was that I have an old Pulsar (version 1) in my computer with Pulsar II.
I removed the Pulsar 1.

Thank you anyway for the advices fra77x !!

Post Reply