PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour
all is in the title...Seen this with STS 5000 and Windows XP

There are little timing imprecisions with the execution of MIDI notes on...

Is there a way to get the STS more precise? Where do the issue come from?

_________________
Toujours l'Amour!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 5861
Location: Shenandoah
It's impossible to say with such little information. You need to list everything about your computer. I uses the STS series with windows xp and can go as low as 4 mil delay which is practically zereo latency.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 7:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour
Well, the only thing I can say is that my XP is tweaked for audio...

I've seen this little timing imprecision when recording a drum sequence that was in two part: a VSTi and the STS 5000.

When I looked to the resultings waveforms, the VSTi one was in perfect synchro, and the STS one had inconstants imperfections, like if it was "humanized"...

So maybe the STS has an inbox automatic humanizer?

_________________
Toujours l'Amour!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 3:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 22, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 621
Location: Easter Bronx, DK
The VSTi is an "audio-instrument", and is therefore sample accurate on playback. (But not when played "live".)
The STS-5000 is a (hardware) midi-instrument, and therefore does not have that advantage...
On a correctly installed/tuned OS, the STS has a latency of approx. 1-1.5 ms +-0.5 which is way better than any other hardware sampler...

Kim.

_________________
Design & Media


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour
Thank you for your answer, Kimgr :smile:

_________________
Toujours l'Amour!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 6:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2398
Normally those midi timing issues on NOte ON have been solved. It was pretty bad on the first versions of the STS (irregularities in the Note On triggers, rather than latency) but with the latest versions it should be fine. At least that's what i see here, it is much better now (sts5000).

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: spacef on 2003-02-11 06:25 ]</font>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour
Yes, it is usable anyway: it can be seen on the waveforms but I can't hear these "imprecisions"

_________________
Toujours l'Amour!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 3:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 5861
Location: Shenandoah
If you can't hear it I would not refer to it as "bad midi timing"!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 4:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Paris, France, toujours l'amour
Ok, so just refer it as "bad timing"

or: "inconstant timing response on MIDI notes on"

_________________
Toujours l'Amour!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 397
Location: Londres
I'm pretty sure there are midi timing problems coming from the sequencer too. At least, I know that it used to be an ongoing problem for cubase users (including myself) - and still is an issue (at least for me !). This is particularly noticable for me when I'm using midi control data. If midi data changes on the beat, it is <i>sometimes</i> noticable just milliseconds afterwards. I always presumed that this was the same issue that caused midi clock irregularities on the bpm-timed delays etc in Scope. In other words, that it was an issue with the sequencer data and not the Pulsar environment . . . .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 5:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 4582
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Hi,

The extra latency can be caused by some processing (ie. formants) being done on cpu. CPU means latency.

The wiggly timing can be improved by using non-emulated drivers or other than CW's software drivers. The latter means sending time critical MIDI via the hardware input to dsp.

Good luck!

_________________
more has been done with less


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS bad MIDI timing...
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:02 am
Posts: 18
same problem for me in 2013 with Samplitude and Scope 5.1 32 bits :cry:

samplers timings are bad (like if it was "humanized", sometime it's audible)
but strangely, synth timings are perfect (Minimax, Profit 5 ...)

I don't use emulated ports and Bios is correctly set.
Any idea ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS bad MIDI timing...
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 889
Midi timing and latency are unrelated. You can have huge or minimum latency and good or bad midi timing. Inaccuracies in midi are called midi jitter.

There is no bad "sts" midi timing and "perfect" synthesizers. You just don't listen to the jitter at the synth sounds but becomes evident at percusive sounds.

Most software sequencers offer mediocre midi timing. That does not applies only to scope, it applies to all hardware synths driven with these.

Solutions: Good midi interfaces. Hardware sequencers. MDS-8 or others scope modular sequencers. Audio driven sequencers.
Sampling and using vst samplers.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS bad MIDI timing...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:02 am
Posts: 18
I just found the solution :)

The problem was that I have an old Pulsar (version 1) in my computer with Pulsar II.
I removed the Pulsar 1.

Thank you anyway for the advices fra77x !!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group