PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:52 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm
Posts: 300
Has anyone been successful getting the STS samplers to work without freezing/crashing on Windows 8, with a multi-core cpu?

As much as I love the speed of making music with strickly VSTs and Kontakt and etc, evrytime I play a song I did with the STS sampler it sounds better to my ears(IMO) and any other dsp based sampler for that matter, missing it right now. Its about the sound for me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
32 or 64bit?
there's no issue that i know of in 32bit, but of course there are no sts samplers in 64bit...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm
Posts: 300
for reasons you mentioned, on 32 bit with a Muti-Processor CPU(non-disabled cores).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
shouldn't be an issue, although there's an update to win8 that's been making trouble, KB2919355


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm
Posts: 300
Does this one cause the many dialog prompts when opening scope? I have that issue and even after reinstalling scope.

I have never been able to get the sts samplers to stop freezing on xp without change the processer type to uni


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
dialog prompts? i'm not sure what you mean. i'd have to see the screenshots.

uni-processor only on XP? well, maybe in v3 or XP sp1. there haven't been problems with multiprocessors for some time as far as Scope and XP goes. maybe something about your setup or mix of software?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: STS sampler on multiprocessor CPU/Windows 8
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:49 am
Posts: 935
have you got the sdk

as some of us had problem where it used an earlier driver file and the delays stopped working

reverting to the scope 5.1 driver sorted this out


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group