Page 1 of 1

Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on XP 32

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:18 am
by tonymite
Hi,

I have Creamware Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC DSP - std. PCI 32/33 ) Card.

Last Software I used was v 3.1 (a,b & c) on Windows XP (32-bit).

Can I use my current set-up with Scope v 5.1 (with Windows XP 64 bit edition/Windows 7?) and do I need to register and actually pay for a software update?

I also plan to run a second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT (as one of my Adat ports no longer works - and I have also had trouble with the MIDI port - (* Looking to purchase either Pulsar 1 or Pulsar 2 - or even - spare parts to repair current Pulsar - please P.M me for any offers to sell).

My PC(s) are;

HP

XW 8400
2 x Dual Core Xeon 5160 @ 3.00 GHz
32 Gb DDR2

and/or

Z800
2 x Hex-Core 5680 @ 3.33 GHz
48 Gb DDR3


I wish to use it in tandem with my 6-SHARC Pulsar 2 but I only have 1 x PCI 32/33 per Motherboard and propose following solution;

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/PCI-E-t ... lsrc=aw.ds

Perhaps alongside this:

https://www.pccasegear.com/products/401 ... cie-riser/

Otherwise - VST Link with 2 computers.

Has anyone had any success with configuration such as my proposal?



Thanks,
Tony.

Creamware Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC DSP - std. PCI 32/33 ) Card, v 3.1 (a,b & c) on Windows XP (32-bit), HP XW 8400 2 x Dual Core Xeon 5160 @ 3.00 GHz 32 Gb DDR2 and/or Z800 2 x Hex-Core 5680 @ 3.33 GHz 48 Gb DDR3, RME PCI 9652 HammerFall

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:50 am
by garyb
just get a computer with multiple PCI slots, it will be cheaper and easier. the expansion chassis do not work well.

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:18 am
by tonymite
Dang!

I realise now after leaving Pulsar 2 dormant since 2014 that I have v 5.1 running under Windows XP-64 bit edition and should also work under Windows 7 64 bit - BUT - Cubase v 5.1 will NOT see SCOPE (ASIO) Driver. Any known reason why?

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:56 am
by garyb
v5.1 works just fine in win7 64bit with Cubase v5.

are you sure the driver is installed correctly and that the needed modules are in the routing window BEFORE opening Cubase?

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:07 pm
by tonymite
I'm not sure if I need to install the driver manually as I have not seen a separate driver anywhere. All I have done is install the software and opened/created Scope Project (yes BEFORE opening Cubase - it came back to me like riding a bike!)

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:14 pm
by tonymite
Although WaveLab DOES see Scope MME Driver

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:38 pm
by garyb
are there two unmatched ASIO modules in the routing window?
what driver is installed according to the device manager?

i have used those three together many times. they definitely work together. what driver is selected in the device setup?

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:46 pm
by tonymite
Please see attached to indicate what is going on;

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:55 pm
by tonymite
Please See Attached;

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:00 pm
by tonymite
Pleas see attached SCOPE Project

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:02 pm
by tonymite
Any of these ought to work ... right ... ??

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:03 pm
by tonymite
The latest above is a Factory Preset

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:09 pm
by tonymite
Cubase Device Setup No Driver

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:13 pm
by Ripper
Wasn't there someone mentioning some issues worked with Steinberg and then he found out it was something with compatibility mode or so?

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:43 pm
by tonymite
More information please?

As in something like this?:

https://www.howtogeek.com/forum/topic/c ... p-sp2-help

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:27 am
by garyb
i don't need compatibility mode for Cubase 5 and win10 here...neither for win7...

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:31 am
by Ripper
garyb wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:27 am
i don't need compatibility mode for Cubase 5 and win10 here...neither for win7...
That is the point. IIRC the problem is exactly that it WAS on, not letting things work right.
Pitty i don't remember what was the thread and where, but i think it was here in the Z.

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:37 am
by Ripper
I was wrong, it was Ableton, and needed to be in Admin and Win 8 compatibility Mode. So, not XP.
Sorry for having misleaded you.

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:45 am
by garyb
at least you tried to assist!

Re: Pulsar -2 (6 SHARC PCI 32/33 ) w/ second Pulsar in tandem for 24 -32 Chanels of ADAT currently; v 3.1 (a,b & c) on X

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:39 am
by tonymite
Yes - thanks for the prompt replies guys - I tip my hat. I'm kind of stuck at moment but let you know how I go - always open to suggestions.