How to manage a gap between PCI slots

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc
Post Reply
User avatar
readymedia
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:33 am
Contact:

How to manage a gap between PCI slots

Post by readymedia » Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:32 am

Hey, there!

It seems, that I need a new motherboard soon. I have already one there with 3x PCI slots, BUT in between two PCi slots is an PCI-Express x8 slot... It is a problem? Actually I have 3x Creamware cards 1x Scope and 2x Pulsar2. My STDM-Bus cables are long enough... Hm...

[PCI] - [PCI] - [PCI-Express 8x] - [PCI] - [PCI-Express 16x]

The board is for Intel Core 2 Duo and have an Intel 975X chipset...

Cheers, Andreas
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Macbook Pro A1286/C2D/Leon + Logic 9
SFP5.1 + ScopePro + Pulsar2 + Adern Modular

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21189
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots

Post by garyb » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:04 am

nope, that doesn't matter unless something in the PCIe slot is so physically wide that it blocks the PCI slot.

User avatar
readymedia
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:33 am
Contact:

Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots

Post by readymedia » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:19 am

Fine! So I'll try it. One of my STDM cables is very short (just for 3x PCIs in the row), but since I unfortunately have just one Scope (instead of two in the past) I do not need five STDM cables to match. Also heard about experimenting with fewer numbers of cables on STDM bus with better results... I'll report my progress in a couple of days...
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Macbook Pro A1286/C2D/Leon + Logic 9
SFP5.1 + ScopePro + Pulsar2 + Adern Modular

User avatar
53E7
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Location: New York

Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots

Post by 53E7 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:52 pm

I first noticed in 2010 that motherboards that still have 3 PCI card slots have that big gap because of the PCI Express slot in between them. The reason for that spacing is to accommodate multiple graphics cards that use PCI Express slots. I think its called SLI.

I've had two motherboards like this including the one I have now. As long as the STDM cables extend that far you will be fine (I think two STDM cables works best. Never use all five.). By the way, your podcast radio show is cool. I listened to it and liked the variety of electronic music.

User avatar
readymedia
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:33 am
Contact:

Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots

Post by readymedia » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:33 am

Thanks, 53E7! ;)
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Macbook Pro A1286/C2D/Leon + Logic 9
SFP5.1 + ScopePro + Pulsar2 + Adern Modular

Post Reply