PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to manage a gap between PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:33 am
Posts: 37
Hey, there!

It seems, that I need a new motherboard soon. I have already one there with 3x PCI slots, BUT in between two PCi slots is an PCI-Express x8 slot... It is a problem? Actually I have 3x Creamware cards 1x Scope and 2x Pulsar2. My STDM-Bus cables are long enough... Hm...

[PCI] - [PCI] - [PCI-Express 8x] - [PCI] - [PCI-Express 16x]

The board is for Intel Core 2 Duo and have an Intel 975X chipset...

Cheers, Andreas

_________________
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Macbook Pro A1286/C2D/Leon + Logic 9
SFP5.1 + ScopePro + Pulsar2 + Adern Modular


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20984
Location: ghetto by the sea
nope, that doesn't matter unless something in the PCIe slot is so physically wide that it blocks the PCI slot.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:33 am
Posts: 37
Fine! So I'll try it. One of my STDM cables is very short (just for 3x PCIs in the row), but since I unfortunately have just one Scope (instead of two in the past) I do not need five STDM cables to match. Also heard about experimenting with fewer numbers of cables on STDM bus with better results... I'll report my progress in a couple of days...

_________________
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Macbook Pro A1286/C2D/Leon + Logic 9
SFP5.1 + ScopePro + Pulsar2 + Adern Modular


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Posts: 181
Location: New York
I first noticed in 2010 that motherboards that still have 3 PCI card slots have that big gap because of the PCI Express slot in between them. The reason for that spacing is to accommodate multiple graphics cards that use PCI Express slots. I think its called SLI.

I've had two motherboards like this including the one I have now. As long as the STDM cables extend that far you will be fine (I think two STDM cables works best. Never use all five.). By the way, your podcast radio show is cool. I listened to it and liked the variety of electronic music.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How to manage a gap between PCI slots
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:33 am
Posts: 37
Thanks, 53E7! ;)

_________________
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Macbook Pro A1286/C2D/Leon + Logic 9
SFP5.1 + ScopePro + Pulsar2 + Adern Modular


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group