PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am
Posts: 24
Hi,
I have a Pulsar II PC DSP card with Z-link installed in my computer. Now I must buy a new computer. My computer is Windows XP
and therefore I must as soon as bossible buy a new computer or update my old computer to windows 7 etc.
The new computer must include PCI-slots. In find the HP Z400 computer and I will now asking (the specs below) if
this computer make install this DSP card and make working as well?
Here is specs:
HP Z400 Expansion Slots
(see
system board section for
more details)
2 PCI slots (full-height, full-length)
1 PCI Express Gen1 slot x8 mechanical/x4 electrical
1 PCI Express Gen2 slot x8 mechanical/x4 electrical
2 PCI Express Gen2 slots x16 (one dedicated for graphics)
NOTE:
The PCIe x8 connectors are open ended, allowing a PCIe x16 card to be seated in the slot.

Matti


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
as it is socket 1366, it should work. i don't know of anyone who has tested it, however.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am
Posts: 24
Hi,
Chipset is Intel X58Express?

Matti


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
yes?

most of the newer chipsets are fine. it is mainly socket 1155 motherboards and a couple of the newest chipsets that do not work(the very new Z170 appears to work great!).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Slovenia
garyb wrote:

-mainly socket 1155 motherboards that do not work
-the very new Z170 appears to work great!).



I guess i'm lucky then with socket 1155 and no problems in 4 years :)
In my experiences so far, gigabyte have nice mobos.

As for Z170, i have it about 1 week now, been working (procuding) last 2 days with and also no problems at all.

I'm not familiar with socket 1366.

Best


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
socket 1155 works, but with really poor PCI performance...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 1:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am
Posts: 24
Hi,
I´m installed the Pulsar II to HPZ400, but not work! Do´t recognize at all.
However I can use my old XP to recording etc. and use software in HPZ400
(Windows 7) to mastering etc. Not good, but better than nothing.

Matti


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 9:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 21166
Location: ghetto by the sea
that sounds like a problem with the computer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group