HP Z400 and PCI slots

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
Matti
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am
Contact:

HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by Matti » Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:24 am

Hi,
I have a Pulsar II PC DSP card with Z-link installed in my computer. Now I must buy a new computer. My computer is Windows XP
and therefore I must as soon as bossible buy a new computer or update my old computer to windows 7 etc.
The new computer must include PCI-slots. In find the HP Z400 computer and I will now asking (the specs below) if
this computer make install this DSP card and make working as well?
Here is specs:
HP Z400 Expansion Slots
(see
system board section for
more details)
2 PCI slots (full-height, full-length)
1 PCI Express Gen1 slot x8 mechanical/x4 electrical
1 PCI Express Gen2 slot x8 mechanical/x4 electrical
2 PCI Express Gen2 slots x16 (one dedicated for graphics)
NOTE:
The PCIe x8 connectors are open ended, allowing a PCIe x16 card to be seated in the slot.

Matti

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21357
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by garyb » Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:26 am

as it is socket 1366, it should work. i don't know of anyone who has tested it, however.

Matti
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am
Contact:

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by Matti » Fri Apr 29, 2016 9:54 am

Hi,
Chipset is Intel X58Express?

Matti

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21357
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by garyb » Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:19 am

yes?

most of the newer chipsets are fine. it is mainly socket 1155 motherboards and a couple of the newest chipsets that do not work(the very new Z170 appears to work great!).

fidox
Posts: 628
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by fidox » Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:13 pm

garyb wrote:
-mainly socket 1155 motherboards that do not work
-the very new Z170 appears to work great!).

I guess i'm lucky then with socket 1155 and no problems in 4 years :)
In my experiences so far, gigabyte have nice mobos.

As for Z170, i have it about 1 week now, been working (procuding) last 2 days with and also no problems at all.

I'm not familiar with socket 1366.

Best

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21357
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by garyb » Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:19 pm

socket 1155 works, but with really poor PCI performance...

Matti
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am
Contact:

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by Matti » Sat Apr 30, 2016 1:24 am

Hi,
I´m installed the Pulsar II to HPZ400, but not work! Do´t recognize at all.
However I can use my old XP to recording etc. and use software in HPZ400
(Windows 7) to mastering etc. Not good, but better than nothing.

Matti

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21357
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: HP Z400 and PCI slots

Post by garyb » Sat Apr 30, 2016 9:05 am

that sounds like a problem with the computer.

Post Reply