AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc

Moderator: valis

Post Reply
User avatar
Polarity
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Location: Milano (Italy)
Contact:

AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by Polarity » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:51 am

Some users here has succeded in having a well working SCOPE audio workstation with older AMD sockets motherboards.

But I saw that these and the newest AM3+ have an ITE chips near the PCI slots...
that are the same ITE chips that are near the PCI slots of intel 1155 socket motherboards, as you can find on Gygabyte models.
(ASUS PZ8Z77 Pro and MSI Z77A-G43 models have a different chip near PCI slots instead)

So I wonder, why AMD are considered native PCI supporting mobos...
and instead Intel ones (with Z77 chipset for example) are considered PCI to PCIe bridge ones??

I was considering to build an AMD FX 8350 CPU based workstation, but the greater heat and energy consuming compared to Ivy Bridge CPUs and the fact that I didn't found AM3+ mobos with enough PCI slots stopped me a bit.
About the power and benchmarksthe FX8350 seems not so distant from an i5 3570 model... and would be a good improvement from my 5 years old Q6600 (and a mobo that never liked much Windows 7... :| ....)
So I could live with it....
really I don't need an updgrade of my DAW talking about the power...
but I've enough of instability of it with Windows7...

Any consideration?
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
lunaorbit
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by lunaorbit » Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:17 pm

I like the look of these boards.

http://www.asus.com.au/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A87/
3 pci slots


or this one
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%2 ... fessional/
2 pci slots

thinking about trying these with AM3+ 8 core

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21201
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by garyb » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:39 pm

personally, i'd choose a server board over a gamer board any day, if it's for an audio machine.

i haven't heard anything bad about AMD boards for quite some time, and there are several users here who have had excellent results with AMD boards. i have no specific knowledge about the latest offerings, however. just because there's a third party chip handling PCI traffic doesn't mena it can't work, afaik. i think it's the implimentation that is the question.

i keep expecting a bios rev that fixes socket 1155 problems, i just haven't seen it yet. perhaps the AMD chipsets are actually better these days(at least where PCI traffic is concerned). unfortunately, you may be a guinea pig in finding this out.

User avatar
Polarity
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Location: Milano (Italy)
Contact:

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by Polarity » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:15 am

garyb wrote:just because there's a third party chip handling PCI traffic doesn't mena it can't work, afaik. i think it's the implimentation that is the question.
That was my doubt infact.
Some users here has succeded in having a well working SCOPE workstation with "OLDER" AMD sockets motherboards.
But I saw that these newest AM3+ mobos have an ITE chips near the PCI slots...
that seems to be the same ITE chips you can find near PCI slots of some intel 1155 socket motherboards, as on Gygabyte models for example.
ASUS PZ8Z77 Pro and MSI Z77A-G43 models instead have a different chip near the PCI slots: the Asmedia 1083 chip.

So I wonder, why AMD are considered natively PCI supporting mobos...
if they have those chipsets of Z77 boards that are PCI to PCIe bridge ones??
i keep expecting a bios rev that fixes socket 1155 problems, i just haven't seen it yet. perhaps the AMD chipsets are actually better these days(at least where PCI traffic is concerned). unfortunately, you may be a guinea pig in finding this out.
Actually user Braincell here told about his success with an MSI Z77A-G43 mobo:
could be they fixed with bios updates as you hope.
But the fact is that he doesn't use regularly a Scope card but he works with an Echo Gina
and his tests seem incomplete.
I don't know... but perhaps I'm tempted about a AMD FX8350 with a Gygabyte GA-990XA-UD3 (for example), more than the Z77 solution..

I also started thinking this:
Z77 boards have PCIe 3.0 and don't work well with legacy PCI audio cards,
B75 boards have native support of PCI and have PCIe 3.0,
but two users here had no great result with them,
Instead AMD boards still have PCIe 2.0 and work fine.
I start to wonder if there is a correlation with PCIe 3.0 more than the "bridge" solution for the issue with legacy PCI audiocards.
What you think of this?

User avatar
Polarity
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Location: Milano (Italy)
Contact:

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by Polarity » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:25 am

lunaorbit wrote:I like the look of these boards.
http://www.asus.com.au/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A87/
3 pci slots

or this one
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%2 ... fessional/
2 pci slots

thinking about trying these with AM3+ 8 core
what I like of AMD boards is that all storage connectors are SATA 3
(most intel ones generally stop at two)
didn't know about these two AM3+ boards.
but about ASrock brand I never had great confidence.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21201
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by garyb » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:43 am

Polarity wrote:I start to wonder if there is a correlation with PCIe 3.0 more than the "bridge" solution for the issue with legacy PCI audiocards.
What you think of this?

i don't know. i wouldn't think so, but...

fokas
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:32 am

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by fokas » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:32 pm

I will be purchasing an ASUS P8B-C/4L.
http://www.asus.com/Commercial_Server_W ... on/P8BC4L/
I will take some time out Scope testing it .
Along with a Xeon 1275 v2 it will be in the same price category
as an I7 3770 CPU with a full featured Z77 motherboard .

Maybe ServerScope ia a solution for Diehards like me

Regards to all

User avatar
lunaorbit
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by lunaorbit » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:59 pm

well now i am seriously thinking of this one..

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/890GX%20Extreme4%20R2.0/

3 pci slots , 8 core compatible, and a onboard dual screen GPU.

I will let you know if i have good progress with this with 64bit win7.

fingers crossed.

User avatar
Polarity
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Location: Milano (Italy)
Contact:

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by Polarity » Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:48 pm

good, let us know!
thankyou :)

fraz
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt

Post by fraz » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:02 am

Polarity wrote:
garyb wrote:just because there's a third party chip handling PCI traffic doesn't mena it can't work, afaik. i think it's the implimentation that is the question.
That was my doubt infact.
Some users here has succeded in having a well working SCOPE workstation with "OLDER" AMD sockets motherboards.
But I saw that these newest AM3+ mobos have an ITE chips near the PCI slots...
that seems to be the same ITE chips you can find near PCI slots of some intel 1155 socket motherboards, as on Gygabyte models for example.
ASUS PZ8Z77 Pro and MSI Z77A-G43 models instead have a different chip near the PCI slots: the Asmedia 1083 chip.

So I wonder, why AMD are considered natively PCI supporting mobos...
if they have those chipsets of Z77 boards that are PCI to PCIe bridge ones??
i keep expecting a bios rev that fixes socket 1155 problems, i just haven't seen it yet. perhaps the AMD chipsets are actually better these days(at least where PCI traffic is concerned). unfortunately, you may be a guinea pig in finding this out.
Actually user Braincell here told about his success with an MSI Z77A-G43 mobo:
could be they fixed with bios updates as you hope.
But the fact is that he doesn't use regularly a Scope card but he works with an Echo Gina
and his tests seem incomplete.
I don't know... but perhaps I'm tempted about a AMD FX8350 with a Gygabyte GA-990XA-UD3 (for example), more than the Z77 solution..

I also started thinking this:
Z77 boards have PCIe 3.0 and don't work well with legacy PCI audio cards,
B75 boards have native support of PCI and have PCIe 3.0,
but two users here had no great result with them,
Instead AMD boards still have PCIe 2.0 and work fine.
I start to wonder if there is a correlation with PCIe 3.0 more than the "bridge" solution for the issue with legacy PCI audiocards.
What you think of this?
I know this is an old thread but it is still relevant -

I've checked out some of the Gigabyte AMD AM3+ motherboards and they are PCI-e 2 throughout -

Also some of the Asus Z97 boards which work with Scope PCI apparently and some of the MSI Z97 boards and an Asus Z77 board and all these boards seem to have one PCI-e 3 x 16 with the rest of the PCI-e slots conforming to PCI-e 2 - so it is a mixture of PCI-e 3 and PCI-e 2 on the same boards.

As of yet I've not had the chance to check out enough of these boards to see if they work

What are the differences with the PCI controllers among all the boards??? on Intel and AMD platforms

Post Reply