PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Posts: 142
Location: Milano (Italy)
Some users here has succeded in having a well working SCOPE audio workstation with older AMD sockets motherboards.

But I saw that these and the newest AM3+ have an ITE chips near the PCI slots...
that are the same ITE chips that are near the PCI slots of intel 1155 socket motherboards, as you can find on Gygabyte models.
(ASUS PZ8Z77 Pro and MSI Z77A-G43 models have a different chip near PCI slots instead)

So I wonder, why AMD are considered native PCI supporting mobos...
and instead Intel ones (with Z77 chipset for example) are considered PCI to PCIe bridge ones??

I was considering to build an AMD FX 8350 CPU based workstation, but the greater heat and energy consuming compared to Ivy Bridge CPUs and the fact that I didn't found AM3+ mobos with enough PCI slots stopped me a bit.
About the power and benchmarksthe FX8350 seems not so distant from an i5 3570 model... and would be a good improvement from my 5 years old Q6600 (and a mobo that never liked much Windows 7... :| ....)
So I could live with it....
really I don't need an updgrade of my DAW talking about the power...
but I've enough of instability of it with Windows7...

Any consideration?
Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 46
I like the look of these boards.

http://www.asus.com.au/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A87/
3 pci slots


or this one
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%2 ... fessional/
2 pci slots

thinking about trying these with AM3+ 8 core


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20984
Location: ghetto by the sea
personally, i'd choose a server board over a gamer board any day, if it's for an audio machine.

i haven't heard anything bad about AMD boards for quite some time, and there are several users here who have had excellent results with AMD boards. i have no specific knowledge about the latest offerings, however. just because there's a third party chip handling PCI traffic doesn't mena it can't work, afaik. i think it's the implimentation that is the question.

i keep expecting a bios rev that fixes socket 1155 problems, i just haven't seen it yet. perhaps the AMD chipsets are actually better these days(at least where PCI traffic is concerned). unfortunately, you may be a guinea pig in finding this out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Posts: 142
Location: Milano (Italy)
garyb wrote:
just because there's a third party chip handling PCI traffic doesn't mena it can't work, afaik. i think it's the implimentation that is the question.


That was my doubt infact.
Some users here has succeded in having a well working SCOPE workstation with "OLDER" AMD sockets motherboards.
But I saw that these newest AM3+ mobos have an ITE chips near the PCI slots...
that seems to be the same ITE chips you can find near PCI slots of some intel 1155 socket motherboards, as on Gygabyte models for example.
ASUS PZ8Z77 Pro and MSI Z77A-G43 models instead have a different chip near the PCI slots: the Asmedia 1083 chip.

So I wonder, why AMD are considered natively PCI supporting mobos...
if they have those chipsets of Z77 boards that are PCI to PCIe bridge ones??

Quote:
i keep expecting a bios rev that fixes socket 1155 problems, i just haven't seen it yet. perhaps the AMD chipsets are actually better these days(at least where PCI traffic is concerned). unfortunately, you may be a guinea pig in finding this out.


Actually user Braincell here told about his success with an MSI Z77A-G43 mobo:
could be they fixed with bios updates as you hope.
But the fact is that he doesn't use regularly a Scope card but he works with an Echo Gina
and his tests seem incomplete.
I don't know... but perhaps I'm tempted about a AMD FX8350 with a Gygabyte GA-990XA-UD3 (for example), more than the Z77 solution..

I also started thinking this:
Z77 boards have PCIe 3.0 and don't work well with legacy PCI audio cards,
B75 boards have native support of PCI and have PCIe 3.0,
but two users here had no great result with them,
Instead AMD boards still have PCIe 2.0 and work fine.
I start to wonder if there is a correlation with PCIe 3.0 more than the "bridge" solution for the issue with legacy PCI audiocards.
What you think of this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Posts: 142
Location: Milano (Italy)
lunaorbit wrote:
I like the look of these boards.
http://www.asus.com.au/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A87/
3 pci slots

or this one
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%2 ... fessional/
2 pci slots

thinking about trying these with AM3+ 8 core


what I like of AMD boards is that all storage connectors are SATA 3
(most intel ones generally stop at two)
didn't know about these two AM3+ boards.
but about ASrock brand I never had great confidence.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20984
Location: ghetto by the sea
Polarity wrote:
I start to wonder if there is a correlation with PCIe 3.0 more than the "bridge" solution for the issue with legacy PCI audiocards.
What you think of this?



i don't know. i wouldn't think so, but...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:32 am
Posts: 61
I will be purchasing an ASUS P8B-C/4L.
http://www.asus.com/Commercial_Server_W ... on/P8BC4L/
I will take some time out Scope testing it .
Along with a Xeon 1275 v2 it will be in the same price category
as an I7 3770 CPU with a full featured Z77 motherboard .

Maybe ServerScope ia a solution for Diehards like me

Regards to all


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 46
well now i am seriously thinking of this one..

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/890GX%20Extreme4%20R2.0/

3 pci slots , 8 core compatible, and a onboard dual screen GPU.

I will let you know if i have good progress with this with 64bit win7.

fingers crossed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:36 am
Posts: 142
Location: Milano (Italy)
good, let us know!
thankyou :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AMD mobos for Pulsar/Scope PCI cards: doubt
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Springfield !
Polarity wrote:
garyb wrote:
just because there's a third party chip handling PCI traffic doesn't mena it can't work, afaik. i think it's the implimentation that is the question.


That was my doubt infact.
Some users here has succeded in having a well working SCOPE workstation with "OLDER" AMD sockets motherboards.
But I saw that these newest AM3+ mobos have an ITE chips near the PCI slots...
that seems to be the same ITE chips you can find near PCI slots of some intel 1155 socket motherboards, as on Gygabyte models for example.
ASUS PZ8Z77 Pro and MSI Z77A-G43 models instead have a different chip near the PCI slots: the Asmedia 1083 chip.

So I wonder, why AMD are considered natively PCI supporting mobos...
if they have those chipsets of Z77 boards that are PCI to PCIe bridge ones??

Quote:
i keep expecting a bios rev that fixes socket 1155 problems, i just haven't seen it yet. perhaps the AMD chipsets are actually better these days(at least where PCI traffic is concerned). unfortunately, you may be a guinea pig in finding this out.


Actually user Braincell here told about his success with an MSI Z77A-G43 mobo:
could be they fixed with bios updates as you hope.
But the fact is that he doesn't use regularly a Scope card but he works with an Echo Gina
and his tests seem incomplete.
I don't know... but perhaps I'm tempted about a AMD FX8350 with a Gygabyte GA-990XA-UD3 (for example), more than the Z77 solution..

I also started thinking this:
Z77 boards have PCIe 3.0 and don't work well with legacy PCI audio cards,
B75 boards have native support of PCI and have PCIe 3.0,
but two users here had no great result with them,
Instead AMD boards still have PCIe 2.0 and work fine.
I start to wonder if there is a correlation with PCIe 3.0 more than the "bridge" solution for the issue with legacy PCI audiocards.
What you think of this?


I know this is an old thread but it is still relevant -

I've checked out some of the Gigabyte AMD AM3+ motherboards and they are PCI-e 2 throughout -

Also some of the Asus Z97 boards which work with Scope PCI apparently and some of the MSI Z97 boards and an Asus Z77 board and all these boards seem to have one PCI-e 3 x 16 with the rest of the PCI-e slots conforming to PCI-e 2 - so it is a mixture of PCI-e 3 and PCI-e 2 on the same boards.

As of yet I've not had the chance to check out enough of these boards to see if they work

What are the differences with the PCI controllers among all the boards??? on Intel and AMD platforms


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group