PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 533 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2221
Location: Fregene.
I thought that a specifical thread to check the PCI performance of the Motherboards would be nice and useful.

My idea was to just provide these data:

1)Motherboard, CPU and RAM

2)CWA cards installed and eventual other PCI cards.

3)Graphic Card used

4)Number of Masterverbs loaded in an empty environment before PCI overflow is reached.

Ok, I'll recheck my system and post my data soon.

:smile:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2367
Location: Australia
1) Asus P5AD2-E Deluxe motherboard
Intel P4 640 3.2Ghz processor
Corsair Twin2X1024-5400C4 memory

2) Scope Pro

3) Radeon X-300 Pci-X graphics

4) 10 Masterverbs

edit - corrected - i run out of dsp memory at 10 (as per AndreD below)

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: wayne on 2005-10-17 10:38 ]</font>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 717
Location: hamburg-audio.de
16 masterverbs and I´m runnig out of dsp-memory.
(still no pci-overflow)

1)
ASUS P5 AD2 E Premium

2)
Pulsar 1 (still :wink: )
Pulsar 2
Scope 1

3)
Matrox P650 PCIE

4)
16 masterverbs :smile:

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: AndreD on 2005-10-17 07:20 ]</font>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 620
Location: Toronto
1)Asus P4C800e DLX, P4 3.0, 2 GB Kingston Ram-KHX3200 (4x512)

2)Scope Pro (14 dsp), SRB (6 dsp), Luna (3 dsp)

3)Matrox P650 AGP

4)!0th Masterverb causes PCI overflow. 9 is OK.
Using Warp69 P100 I can load 5, 6th causes overflow.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: dbmac on 2005-10-17 07:40 ]</font>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 917
Location: Italy
My configuration:

1) Asus Cusl2-C, P3-800 coppermine, 512Mb Ram
2) Pulsar1(4 DSP) + pulsar2(6 DSP)
3) Ati All-in-wonder Radeon (first serie, without any number)
4) 9 masterverbs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 12:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Milano
i've recently changed my motherboard, so i have 2 tests to submit:

asus k8v deluxe (via chipset)
1 x pulsar1, 2 x scope srb (15 dsp each)
graphic card asus g 9550 ge

4 masterverb

asus k8n socket 754 (nforce3 chipset)
1 x pulsar1, 2 x scope srb (15 dsp each)
graphic card asus g 9550 ge

15 masterverb


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 781
1) Gigabyte K8NS 754, AMD64 3000+ 754, Corsair PC3200C2Pro

2) Scope Pro, Luna

3) ATI Radeon 9800Pro 128Mb

4) 12 Masterverbs, running out of DSP memory at the 13th


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 1:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 492
Quote:
On 2005-10-17 05:49, wayne wrote:
1) Asus P5AD2-E Deluxe motherboard
Intel P4 640 3.2Ghz processor
Corsair Twin2X1024-5400C4 memory

2) Scope Pro

3) Radeon X-300 Pci-X graphics

4) 10 Masterverbs

edit - corrected - i run out of dsp memory at 10 (as per AndreD below)

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: wayne on 2005-10-17 10:38 ]</font>


You have the same mobo as me - do you have any problems with IRQ asignments? On mine both my Scope cards share IRQ's with network adapters which causes freezes when I have the network running while Scope is on and as there are only 3 PCI slots (and one I can't access as the graphics card is in the way) I have no options to move them around. Also they are on different IRQ's - I'd prefer them to be on the same.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 260
Location: Finland
1. AMD64 3200MHz, MSI NEO Platinum nForce3 (socet 754), 1G ram

2. Pulsar II zlink + Pulsar II xtc (12 dsp) + UAD-1

3. Radeon 9600Pro

4. 16 Masterverbs. 17th --> dsp maxed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 12:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 181
Location: slovenia
Amd athlon 2200 xp, via kt 400 mobo, 512mb ram,
pulsar II zlink.

8 masterverbs, on 9th i get a pci limit reached

Not bad for via, dont you think :smile:

_________________
May all sentient beings achieve liberation from suffering :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 6:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:00 pm
Posts: 181
Location: Hopeless Oblivion
1) Soyo P4-i865PE Dragon Plus - HT Enabled; P4 Northwood 3.0GHz; 1.0 GB DDR 400

2) Pulsar II + Pulsar II + Scope Project (18 Sharc's)

3) Matrox G450 Dual Head (1600x1200 res on 2 monitors)

4) 14 loaded in XTC Mode. 15th generates PCI Overflow.



<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: narly on 2005-10-23 07:44 ]</font>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Bubble Metropolis
1) Asus P4B533-E, 512mb no brand memory
2) Pulsar2 SRB + Scope
3) Matrox G450me, busmastering disabled
4) 10 MasterVerbs, out of DSP memory on 11th. Reload fixes this, but 12th is too much even w reload...

_________________
more has been done with less


<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: at0m on 2005-10-23 09:06 ]</font>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:54 pm 
* mainboard TUSL2-C
* 512 meg of RAM
* PIII with 1 gig Celeron
* Gforce2 64 meg

2 x Pulsar II
1 x Luna

Materverb count = 16 without a problem.
# 17 gives a PCI master overflow

Masterverb Pro =15
#16 Max out my DSP load.
but NO PCI master overflow

I am very impressed with this machine.


<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: antar on 2005-10-24 16:08 ]</font>


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 361
Location: France
1) Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe + Athlon XP3200 + 1,5 gig PC3200
2)Pulsar II X 2 + Firewire card + UAD1 + PNY geforce mx2 pci
3) Nvidia geforce 2 mx dualhead
4) 14 Masterverb ok, 15-> Pci capacity limit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2221
Location: Fregene.
1)Motherboard, CPU and RAM
Asus Tusl 2c / PIII-s 1,26g / 512 Mushkin 2-2-2

2)CWA cards installed and eventual other PCI cards.
Powerpulsar ,Pulsar2, Pulsar1

3)Graphic Card used
Matrox G550

4)Number of Masterverbs loaded in an empty environment before PCI overflow is reached.
15, when I load the 16th I get PCI error.
But after the 13th I always get a dsp error, despite I have half power left, but I can optimize and go on. I think this happens for the poor STDM connection with the Pulsar1

I'm gonna change this mobo though,I need more ram, and I will put only the Powerpulsar and a new Scope Pro on the new mobo, while I'll build a second little pc based on the Tusl2c with the Pulsar2 and the Pulsar1 to bring some Modulars live...I could also use it along the new main machine, pipelined,in the studio to run some more Reverbs ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
1) intel d850mv2, northwood 3ghz, 2gb rambus

2) powerpulsar, pulsar1, pulsar1 srb

3) evga geforce5200

4) pci overflow at 8, reload dsps, and then pci overflow and dsp memory overflow at 12.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2221
Location: Fregene.
Quote:
On 2005-10-17 07:17, AndreD wrote:
16 masterverbs and I´m runnig out of dsp-memory.
(still no pci-overflow)

1)
ASUS P5 AD2 E Premium

2)
Pulsar 1 (still :wink: )
Pulsar 2
Scope 1

3)
Matrox P650 PCIE

4)
16 masterverbs :smile:

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: AndreD on 2005-10-17 07:20 ]</font>


Andre, wich processor are you using?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1454
Location: California
1) EPoX EP-9NDA3+ nForce 3 Ultra
AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ (running in single core mode)
1GB generic DDR333 memory

2) Scope Pro
Pulsar 1
Scope Home (PowerSampler 1)

3) ATi Radeon 8500 128MB AGP

4) 13 Masterverbs, PCI overflow on the 14th

Not quite as good as some of the others here.... :sad:

Shayne

_________________
Melodious Synth Radio
http://www.melodious-synth.com

Melodious synth music by Binary Sea
http://www.binary-sea.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 11:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20903
Location: ghetto by the sea
Shayne, that looks pretty darn good...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 2221
Location: Fregene.
Quote:
On 2005-10-30 11:11, garyb wrote:
Shayne, that looks pretty darn good...


I think that the graphic card and it's optimization has a role here....the small differences, expecially in the same chipset must be related on some variable, the graphic card seems the most probable one

_________________
Get an Experience of Space
Napster
iTunes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 533 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group