CMS-1

Scope device files created using the Scope SDK

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
roy thinnes
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Graz
Contact:

CMS-1

Post by roy thinnes » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:23 am

The first (non Modular) Scope device which uses ScopeSync.
For those who are unaware what ScopeSync is for: for developers, look here; for users: it's an easy way to remote control Scope devices from your DAW, not via MidiCC but OSC protocol.

Some weeks ago, just when I got upset on a VST's lame sound, Will Ellis contacted me and asked if we could make a collaboration to make a ScSy device. Also because I had an idea for another synth anyway I was more than happy about this change for the good.

So, some weeks later, it's there, it's real, you can download and use it:

Image

:P

Image

The download includes not only the Scope files (device and presets), but also the dedicated VST plugins (VST2 & VST3, both 32 and 64bit) for CMS-1.

More about the device on my site.
Last edited by roy thinnes on Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: CMS-1

Post by t_tangent » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:46 am

Wow, this device looks very interesting indeed. Thanks both to yourself Roy and to Will. You guys are among a handful of developers for Scope still keeping the platform alive with free devices, so I really am most grateful, and I look forward to trying this out. Thanks again, amazing work. :)

User avatar
yayajohn
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere

Re: CMS-1

Post by yayajohn » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:41 am

Awesome! Thanks Roy and Will. Glad to see Scopesync in the headlines again.

dawman
Posts: 13203
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: CMS-1

Post by dawman » Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:42 am

I will see how OSC in Bidule can be used.
CMS-1 certainly sounds big and juicy in the demo.
Love the Matrix.

Thanks Will & RoyT.

User avatar
petal
Posts: 2173
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: CMS-1

Post by petal » Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:55 am

Looks great - Looking forward to try it out :)

User avatar
petal
Posts: 2173
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: CMS-1

Post by petal » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:50 am

My Anti-virus scheme is preventing me from installing. Is it possible to post the devices/files as a non-exe?

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: CMS-1

Post by Bud Weiser » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:38 am

roy thinnes wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:23 am

The download includes not only the Scope files (device and presets), but also the VST ScopeSyncVSTInst-x64_1_0_3.dll.
So, it works in 64Bit system/ SCOPE (PCI/ XITE) & DAW application only ?

:)

Bud

Ripper
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: CMS-1

Post by Ripper » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:58 am

Is it only me?

Windows 10 X64
Scope 7
Restarted the PC, re-installed and... same thing!
Attachments
Error CMS1.jpg
Error CMS1.jpg (172.05 KiB) Viewed 1219 times

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:35 am

petal wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:50 am
My Anti-virus scheme is preventing me from installing. Is it possible to post the devices/files as a non-exe?
Which anti-virus are you using? Does it not have the ability to override for a specific .exe?

The installer has to put things in a bunch of different places, so it will be quite painful for updates if you have to follow the steps. It installs the dedicated CMS-1.dll for Scope, VST2 plugins in one place, VST3 version in a different place and the device and presets in another.

If it's really impossible to override, I can look to create a .zip file release, but you'll need to follow a bunch of instructions to get everything working. Also, same will apply to installing the ScopeOSC modules that are a dependency too.

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:36 am

Ripper wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:58 am
Is it only me?

Windows 10 X64
Scope 7
Restarted the PC, re-installed and... same thing!
Hi Ripper,

I'm looking into it now. I'll let you know once I've worked out what's going on there!

Thanks.
Will

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:42 am

w_ellis wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:36 am
I'm looking into it now.
I've been able to reproduce it here, so hopefully won't be long before I have a fix. Sorry about that. It's because Roy and I have also been working on the full ScopeSync rollout and I forgot to test using CMS-1 without ScopeSync installed (which should work fine in theory!)

Ripper
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: CMS-1

Post by Ripper » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:59 am

w_ellis wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:42 am
w_ellis wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:36 am
I'm looking into it now.
I've been able to reproduce it here, so hopefully won't be long before I have a fix. Sorry about that. It's because Roy and I have also been working on the full ScopeSync rollout and I forgot to test using CMS-1 without ScopeSync installed (which should work fine in theory!)
Hey, no need to apologize compadre! :wink:

(I thought I had Scopesync installed, but after you mentioned it i realised I didn't re-install it after the new Windows install :oops: )

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:11 am

Bud Weiser wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:38 am
So, it works in 64Bit system/ SCOPE (PCI/ XITE) & DAW application only ?
Small mistake from Roy there... we include a CMS-1_1_0_1.dll and CMS-1_x64_1_0_1.dll for the VST2 plugins, so you can run on either 32bit or 64bit. There are also 32 and 64 bit VST3 versions and the Scope DLL works on both 32 and 64bit (when it works!)

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:40 am

Ok, bug fixed :) Just doing a build... should have a new version available for you all in the next 30 mins. Sorry for the tease!

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:00 pm

Ripper wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:59 am
(I thought I had Scopesync installed, but after you mentioned it i realised I didn't re-install it after the new Windows install :oops: )
The new ScopeSync is very different to the old one in how it works, so it wouldn't have helped. Also, you'd still have been missing the GUI for the CMS-1 synth, as it's not in the ScopeSync installer, just built into the CMS-1 synth package.

Anyway, intrepid synth fans can try again with this release: https://github.com/bcmodular/cwmodular/ ... -v0.1.0.43

Ripper
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: CMS-1

Post by Ripper » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:07 pm

Now we're talking.
It works fine.
8)

:wink:

w_ellis
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: CMS-1

Post by w_ellis » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:09 pm

Wow, quick testing! If there was any money involved in this, we should hire you ;)

Ripper
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: CMS-1

Post by Ripper » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:14 pm

w_ellis wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:09 pm
Wow, quick testing! If there was any money involved in this, we should hire you ;)
It was a coincidence!
I was doing another thing and noticed there was a post here. Installed and tried it with one preset with Scope midi keyboard, That was all I did.
I didn't do anything else.
Still, I would drink a fresh beer! :D

User avatar
yayajohn
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere

Re: CMS-1

Post by yayajohn » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:46 pm

Wow, great synth! Thanks for the quick update Will. This morning I thought I had installed something incorrectly when It didn't load the UI.
Works great now, great sounds.
Thanks!

Pygmy Audio Farms
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: CMS-1

Post by Pygmy Audio Farms » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:06 pm

Thank you for the great work bring this to fruition. Massive

Post Reply