Creating noise

Patch files for the Scope modular synths

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
Roland Kuit
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: NL/SWE
Contact:

Creating noise

Post by Roland Kuit » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:43 pm

We know that Noise is made of sine waves over the whole frequency spectrum.
An old Dutch pioneer Jan Boeman created noise is this way.(as I explained on the Concertzender broadcast).
Random modulating a sine wave oscillator, With the LFP level low, we get a Pinkish kind of Noise.
With the level full open, we create White Noise:
Attachments
DIY Noise.rar
(358.08 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
Roland_Kuit_DIY Noise.jpg
Roland_Kuit_DIY Noise.jpg (48.72 KiB) Viewed 3762 times
Avant-electronic composer | synthesis research | lecturer
http://www.rolandkuit.com/

User avatar
Roland Kuit
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: NL/SWE
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by Roland Kuit » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:45 pm

Jan Boerman was filtering this noise to create powerful orchestral timbres:
Attachments
DIY Boerman.rar
(421.79 KiB) Downloaded 127 times
Roland Kuit_DIY Boerman.jpg
Roland Kuit_DIY Boerman.jpg (48.76 KiB) Viewed 3761 times
Avant-electronic composer | synthesis research | lecturer
http://www.rolandkuit.com/

dawman
Posts: 13036
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Creating noise

Post by dawman » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:19 pm

A great day for more studying.
Thanks

Loved the Polar Terrain soundscape, very cool.

User avatar
Roland Kuit
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: NL/SWE
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by Roland Kuit » Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:37 pm

Thanks Dawman.
In this way it is possible , not only creating pink or white, but brown, yellow, red noise as well.
Avant-electronic composer | synthesis research | lecturer
http://www.rolandkuit.com/

User avatar
ShogunSpy
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by ShogunSpy » Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:00 am

Roland I am enjoying your work with Scope Modular. I am also interested in how it stands up sound wise to the real hardware stuff also with Silent Way would it be possible to combine scope software to modular hardware would love to try some of that Metasonix tube stuff!

User avatar
Roland Kuit
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: NL/SWE
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by Roland Kuit » Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:24 am

Listen to the first simple patch here:
http://forums.planetz.com/viewtopic.php ... 57#p296657

ShogunSpy, thanks. I love hardware. Saving patches is a problem. You can make patch sheets but it is time consuming.
The Nord Modular I&II and Reaktor, Max/Msp have a better workflow.
Just because you can work everywhere with this programs and a laptop.
Working with Scope and the Modulars has to be done with the hardware attached. For me this is a big problem traveling so much.
But this is the same with a hardware modular. You can't fly and patch at the same time ;)
I have would like to see things improve in the near future regarding to the Scope/Modular software.
But its sound is really GREAT. At most universities they work with Buchla hardware. I think this is a highly overrated system.
In comparison of systems of f.i. Tom Bugbrand. Working with hardware just gives an other feel. Mentally.
Combining hardware modular and Scope can be done. By Midi AND audio.
But my question to you is what are you trying to accomplish? Or, what is your need?
You can use Scope as a recording studio for any hardware.
Avant-electronic composer | synthesis research | lecturer
http://www.rolandkuit.com/

dawman
Posts: 13036
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Creating noise

Post by dawman » Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:35 pm

I agree that Buchla gets all the Rave at the NAMM show and there are so many custom hardware mods like the Seven Woods version of the Ursa Major Space Station, etc.
But it just doesn't hit me as a musical instrument as much as other hardware Modulars.
It could also be that the bulk of people over at the Buchla booth seem to love Crickets and shit. So most demos are just not my cup of Tea.

Thanks Again RK.

User avatar
ShogunSpy
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by ShogunSpy » Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:40 pm

I was talking out loud or out my ass whatever :lol: and wondering if you could combine Scope Modular with a hardware Modular and back in to Scope again to take advantage of all the Modules. If you could use for example http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/es3.html problem is there is no way of getting Control Voltage back into Scope only Audio..maybe I don't understand how it all works yet. But if all I can make is the sound of crickets the I would just go for a nature walk in the Desert and maybe pay Jimmy a visit in Sin City !

User avatar
Roland Kuit
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: NL/SWE
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by Roland Kuit » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:22 am

You can covert analogue control signals to midi. Midi --> Xite-1.
On the Nord forum people tested the NM 1 and outside control signals to audio in.
But I don't remember the outcome nor do I have time to look that up now. :)
I've seen some modules by CW, I don't have tested these in this way.
Avant-electronic composer | synthesis research | lecturer
http://www.rolandkuit.com/

jksuperstar
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Creating noise

Post by jksuperstar » Fri Jun 14, 2013 5:43 am

Roland, thanks for exploring the SCOPE Modular like this :) I really enjoy the small experiments and soundscapes.

I think of all the digital/software based modulars, SCOPE sounds the best, to me. It is much less clinical and more musical than all the others. And I'm also glad it's still being expanded and developed.

Of course, I sympathize with portability and travelling...sometimes I wish I had a PCIe ExpressCard with 1 DSP on it just for playing wherever I happen to be. I've also thought a small external hard drive sized box with 3 DSPs plugged in via Thunderbolt/PCIe would be killer. But I can't really complain, this is the smallest Studio-In-A-Rack I've ever owned. And I have taken off the rack ears and can fit everything in a Courier Bag all too easily. Maybe I just need a battery supply ;)

User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4583
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by at0m » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:34 pm

ShogunSpy wrote:I was [...] wondering if you could combine Scope Modular with a hardware Modular and back in to Scope again to take advantage of all the Modules. If you could use for example http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/es3.html problem is there is no way of getting Control Voltage back into Scope only Audio..maybe I don't understand how it all works yet. [...]
Hi ShogunSpy,

Most AD/DA convertors block DC, they roll off quick below a couple Hz. There was hacks for older soundcards to enable CV throughput, and convertors from line voltage or balanced to 0-5V, -2.5,+2,5V. This ES-3 looks like the all-in-one solution for the purpose.

So yea, you can perfectly combine raw analog phatness with the surgical precision of digital CV and create hybrid analog/digital systems.

Flexor for example uses direct (digital and at samplerate) CV for far most modulation connections, so after D/A conversion its directly compatible with any analog CV. Try to combine with it's sequencing :)

Regards,
at0m.

PS. Roland, great to see someone posting fresh modular tricks to the forum, keep the flow! :D
Last edited by at0m on Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
more has been done with less

dawman
Posts: 13036
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Creating noise

Post by dawman » Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:44 pm

I am waiting for a German cat to finish making the SE-1X Modular.
Once that happens I will get the ES hardware too since it's very small and I can just have it sit inside my 4U.
As of now I am using the envelopes, Silectway DC and the SWS LFOs into Modular and really getting the precision controls and rate (like .01) that I enjoy so much.

For example Rolands Excellent Terrain Patch made me try all sorts of new combinations of Terrains w/ Walfdorfs, etc. and the slower the LFO rate the more smooth the modulations become. And when I increase the LFO depth/amount it's just georgeous.
It's the best VST plug in I own.

I really look forward to using the latest hardware along with the SE-1X as soon as the guy starts accepting units for modifications. :)

Nice to see you Brotha' Man at0m...

User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4583
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by at0m » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:22 pm

And you, dawman :)

Roland, try a bipolar2unipolar between randomSigGen. RandomSigGen, like osc and lfo, creates bipolar (-1,+1) signals, and if I remember correctly, Freq input takes unipolar (0,+1). If so, the negative part will be viewed as 0, or a flat line on the osc out. And the bi2uni before Freq in will give you some more control over the oscillators.

I add some background, some Scope internals that may clear up some modular quirks:
How Freq input works dates from the early Pulsar days where DSP power was expensive and DSP clock cycles were saved on modulation signals. Modulation signals (Freq, Amp Mod, Pitch, ...) were below sample-rate, a bit like the 400Hz control signal sample-rate on Reaktor back in the day. These signals often came from MVC and not from audio sources so there was no real need for sample-rate sync. These control signals were "async". Again, I'm not sure about the modulation signals in the latest Modular IV, but this sure applies to the Modular I-III series.

Flexor's increased DSP usage is caused by it being full sync, and not async, except for modulated preset changing etc. A quick A/B: Monitor a subosc (-7, -12 semitones?) modulating Flexor and stock LPF filtering the base pitch osc filter will show the difference. The Flexor LPF sub osc modulation can be tuned into formanting sweetness only because the LPF modulation is "sync", it reacts to the subosc at sample-rate.
more has been done with less

User avatar
ShogunSpy
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by ShogunSpy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:03 pm

Thanks Atom and Roland

User avatar
Roland Kuit
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: NL/SWE
Contact:

Re: Creating noise

Post by Roland Kuit » Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:22 am

Thanks At0m,
I use the module a lot between the single lfo's. Signal rectifiers too.
Avant-electronic composer | synthesis research | lecturer
http://www.rolandkuit.com/

Post Reply