PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 581
Location: Graz
example patch with the Reloopah module, fed by a wave sample module (audio in2).
(but best use of Reloopah is together with Ableton Live)
in1 of the patch is for the ramp, which has to be sent by the host sequencer.
Image
download patch
download rampGen1.dsp (required)

_________________
http://www.cwmodular.org/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 1207
Location: The Land of Cheese, Beer & Fat Chicks
Perfect...This is EXACTLY what I needed! I was a little confused by the "ramp in"...now it all makes perfect sense....I'll PM you on the orgy schedule.... :lol: :lol: Many thanks and much love from the Brew City!

_________________
Joel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 273
hey this device looks like the thing i have ever searched for.
but i´m trying and trying i don´t get it to work like the audiosamples predict.
so do have a little tutorium for those devices?
i could use one for reloopah and relooopahex

thx very much
stevie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 581
Location: Graz
hm, did you connect a ramp signal to audio1 of modular?
if not, or if you don't know how to, see here: http://www.cwmodular.org/html/seq.html (bottom)
did you play a midi note? a note has to played as long as the loop is playing.

_________________
http://www.cwmodular.org/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:35 am 
iching to get back into the studio to try these devs!! OT but has anyone upgraded to live 8? Tried the demo and cant stand the new timestretch method it's horrible for long loops or whole tracks. Live does handle ramp stretching a lot better than cubase it seems...but that could be because I havn't played around enough with the different options in cubase. Anyway I have a track in it's final stages that could do with a bit relooping to spice it up bring it on :evil:


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 581
Location: Graz
sorry for the late reply. good topic irrevelance!
I just made some tests, and made screenshots which actually show differences between CubaseSx and Live8. it's an unfair comparison though, as time stretching is/always was the core feature of Live.
It's a Ramp1Bar120bpm.wav stretched to 175bpm in Cubase (green) and Live8 (red).
Image
CubaseSX is losing expectedly. but it has the possibility to time stretch offline, though in limits of 40bpm up/down, so you can only timestretch 120 to 80 resp. 160 bpm in one go. offline it's curve is absolutely linear/perfect.
Live has different Warp options: Beats, TonesMode, TextureMode, Re-PitchMode, ComplexMode. Beat Mode set to 32Beats, TransientLoopMode Off, TransientEnvelope set to 100 gave me the best results.

_________________
http://www.cwmodular.org/


Last edited by roy thinnes on Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: Haarmania
if you do not have tempo changes you could trigger a ramp inside modular right ? use a short audio sample every 16/32/.. beats or bars to trigger the ramp.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Reloopah patch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 581
Location: Graz
of course you're right, the basic procedure is: MVCgate->FlexorRamp->seq module.
the advantage is that you always get a perfect ramp signal, at any desired tempo.
the benefits of using an audio Ramp, however, are:
no settings required for Ramp tempo
no mvc and ramp modules required
easy tempo change
always in-sync
btw to avoid timstretching artefacts, the best solution is: using different ramp waves, eg for slow (say 90bpm), mid (120bpm), and fast (150bpm) tracks.
I just used this extreme setting 120->175bpm to see the difference between Cubas and Live more clearly.

_________________
http://www.cwmodular.org/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group