PlanetZ@scopeusers.com
http://forums.scopeusers.com/

MIDI modules
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=34763
Page 2 of 2

Author:  YiannisK [ Thu Feb 23, 2017 7:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Thanks for the explanation but I'm still puzzled.
I understand cc assignments so what's the difference when you use midi in, on a synth and assign cc's normally under scope.
Is this for modular?
Or are these sdk modules for developers?
Sorry for my ignorance.

Author:  Marco [ Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

I can't understand it too, I have no idea why cv

Author:  DragonSF [ Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

CV comes from the analog world. It's just a value, to control anything instead of a pot. And yes, all these modules are for SDK.

Author:  YiannisK [ Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Ok got it!
So with this module could you not implement something in a mixer to maybe have osc
Hui, Mackie control for scope?
Just a thought
Thanks for your efforts in keeping the platform alive with new modules, ideas.

Author:  DragonSF [ Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

YiannisK wrote:
Ok got it!
So with this module could you not implement something in a mixer to maybe have osc
Hui, Mackie control for scope?
Just a thought
Thanks for your efforts in keeping the platform alive with new modules, ideas.

There are no implementation limits: wherever there is a pot, you can replace it with one of the outputs. Even switches should work (think of pads).

Author:  Pygmy Audio Farms [ Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Top stuff, a real boon. Thank you

Author:  jksuperstar [ Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Wow, that midi in idea deserves a device, that's HUGE. No need for routing through a DAW just to get midi into scope anymore!!

Author:  DragonSF [ Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

jksuperstar wrote:
Wow, that midi in idea deserves a device, that's HUGE. No need for routing through a DAW just to get midi into scope anymore!!

And no more Midi-Ox fiddling. And you can have as may MIDI-Ins as you like.

Author:  JoPo [ Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

DragonSF wrote:
jksuperstar wrote:
Wow, DragonSF, great device!

Is there any filtering or interpolation to smooth 7bit MIDI to 32bit CV?

I can do that. But you'll always have a step, because there is no in-between state. Value is either 54 or 55, but never 54.6. On the other side, if you have an idea, I'm open to suggestions. Another way would be using 14-bit (N)RPN input. I can do that too.

But when you convert midi --> CV a lot of values can be added between 2 CC values, no ?
On the other way, I understand there is no reason... :D

Author:  JoPo [ Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

YiannisK wrote:
Looks great!
Can you give me an example of how I would use this ?
What's it's purpose?
Sorry but I'm not familiar with CV stuff.
Just wondering if there's a use for me in my setup that I might overlook.
Thanks and keep up the great work.

Have a look at Expert sleepers Silent Way : a collection of vst's that generate audio rate modulation signal you can use inside Scope via asio. And you'll use digital CV signals ! No more midi jitter ! Amazing possibilities !

Author:  JoPo [ Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Dragon !
The ext. midiinput looks really useful ! I hope you'll release it as a module...!
When I load it into my Xite, I don't have any gui ! .... .... I guess you are still working on it ...

Author:  DragonSF [ Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

JoPo wrote:
Dragon !
The ext. midiinput looks really useful ! I hope you'll release it as a module...!
When I load it into my Xite, I don't have any gui ! .... .... I guess you are still working on it ...

Actually, I wanted to finish the basic stuff =SDK device)first, but in that case, I'll make module.

Author:  Pygmy Audio Farms [ Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

DragonSF wrote:
Actually, I wanted to finish the basic stuff =SDK device)first, but in that case, I'll make module.


This is a great development, looking forward to this very useful module. Many thanks

Author:  JoPo [ Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Excellent ! Computer soundcard driver are available in Scope (but doesn't always work perfectly...) and now, we are going to be able to choose any mini input directly in Scope !

:) Dragon, you're making very inovative stuff ! Great ! :)

Author:  JoPo [ Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Do you think it would be possible to make a midi delay ?
I believe it doesn't exist as far as I know... Not even a modular module.

A simple device that delays all midi data on its input with time settings, of course ! :D Let's say ... Hhhh ... Up to 1s maxi !? :D

This would be useful for sending exactly the same midi CC modulation to any other parameter but with exactly 150ms delay..! 8)

It's not device ideas I miss but rather time to build them..! :roll:

Author:  DragonSF [ Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

JoPo wrote:
Dragon !
The ext. midiinput looks really useful ! I hope you'll release it as a module...!
When I load it into my Xite, I don't have any gui ! .... .... I guess you are still working on it ...

Some obstacle is happeing here: As soon as I make a module or putting the device into a surface, I can't connect the MIDI out anymore (and this is not my MIDI-out, it's the MIDI-out of a standard Scope module (Fifo to MIDI).

Author:  JoPo [ Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

ArrrGh ! Very unfortunately, I can't help you at all about this ! :(

Maybe some other developers could ?

Or you could ask on the sdk forum, I'm not sure it's pretty busy...

So ... This message is absolutely useless for you.... Hin hin .. :D Sorry !

Author:  DragonSF [ Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

JoPo wrote:
ArrrGh ! Very unfortunately, I can't help you at all about this ! :(

Maybe some other developers could ?

Or you could ask on the sdk forum, I'm not sure it's pretty busy...

So ... This message is absolutely useless for you.... Hin hin .. :D Sorry !

Thanks for recognizing my problems. I think the only one can help is Holger. But maybe I find a way around.

Author:  eric [ Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

Dragon,

Can you include support for polyphonic aftertouch/pressure?

This is a very neglected aspect of MIDI. Especially useful with Modular.

Eric

Author:  DragonSF [ Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MIDI modules

eric wrote:
Dragon,

Can you include support for polyphonic aftertouch/pressure?

This is a very neglected aspect of MIDI. Especially useful with Modular.

Eric

My MIDI modules are completely transparent. I just pass everything the driver supplies to the output (with some clever buffering of course :-) ). But nothing is filtered out.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/