MIDI modules

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.
DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:05 pm

Fpr my projects, I need to develop some MIDI modules. They are like: external MIDI In/Out, MIDI to CC and CC to MIDI, (N)RPN to and from MIDI.
If someone else is also interested in such modules, please make suggestions (like 1 Module for cc/RPN/NPRN), or 1 Module for CC, with all CCs as array. At the moment nearly anything is possible.

User avatar
enantiodromia
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:55 pm
Location: dark side of the moon

Re: MIDI modules

Post by enantiodromia » Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:42 pm

a simple midi keyboard would be great , the default one have hanging note issue

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MIDI modules

Post by Marco » Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:00 pm

Hi I would like to to have a button or two or 10 where I can fire a few Midi commands. A button can be programmed before with one or a whole bunch of Midi commands.

With this little Midi device I could control e. G. My Hardware devices. My FX machine fire a program change #78 or a synthesizer k5000 e. G. Midi channel 5 bank 4 program number 96.

Each Button can be named. And the whole device can be named so it could be used as a group.
The type of command can be easily selected for none programmer persons

Guitar players could use this as a floorboard substitute. Means easy programming of there real floorboard, they fire from their hardware floorboard one command into scopes new Midi device e. G. Program changes #34 and the new Midi button is translating this into a preprogrammed bunch of Midi commands, e. G. Preamp program change #5 on Midi channel 7 and FX machine program change #65 on Midi channel 3 and a program change on Midi channel 9 to a scope mixer number 3 to set the mixer into recording mode. The button can use scopes Midi learn function for remote control.

This device could also be used to recall stacked synthesizer sounds, e. G. 3 or 4 scope synth or external synths recall presets as one sound with one button in your project. Or combinations of synthesizer mixer and FX settings to experiment with different stacksounds.

The possibilities are endless.

The device could have 2 or more programmable Midi inputs and outputs.

The device could be dynamic, adding buttons or killing and build them into groups or ungroup them again. . Colorize the way you want and having a good overview.

If you need a graphic designer, ask me.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
yayajohn
Posts: 972
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere

Re: MIDI modules

Post by yayajohn » Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:24 am

a midi kill or "all notes off" switch would be nice.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:58 pm

anabella wrote:Hi I would like to to have a button or two or 10 where I can fire a few Midi commands. A button can be programmed before with one or a whole bunch of Midi commands.

With this little Midi device I could control e. G. My Hardware devices. My FX machine fire a program change #78 or a synthesizer k5000 e. G. Midi channel 5 bank 4 program number 96.

Each Button can be named. And the whole device can be named so it could be used as a group.
The type of command can be easily selected for none programmer persons

Guitar players could use this as a floorboard substitute. Means easy programming of there real floorboard, they fire from their hardware floorboard one command into scopes new Midi device e. G. Program changes #34 and the new Midi button is translating this into a preprogrammed bunch of Midi commands, e. G. Preamp program change #5 on Midi channel 7 and FX machine program change #65 on Midi channel 3 and a program change on Midi channel 9 to a scope mixer number 3 to set the mixer into recording mode. The button can use scopes Midi learn function for remote control.

This device could also be used to recall stacked synthesizer sounds, e. G. 3 or 4 scope synth or external synths recall presets as one sound with one button in your project. Or combinations of synthesizer mixer and FX settings to experiment with different stacksounds.

The possibilities are endless.

The device could have 2 or more programmable Midi inputs and outputs.

The device could be dynamic, adding buttons or killing and build them into groups or ungroup them again. . Colorize the way you want and having a good overview.

If you need a graphic designer, ask me.
Interesting ideas. One question: do you know how to add/remove pads dynamivally? AFAIK pads are allocated at the module loading time and can't be changed. I can't use PEP, where it seems to be possible. Do send a stream of MIDI data, the MIDI data can be stored in an ini-file and picked up at run-time.

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MIDI modules

Post by Marco » Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:18 pm

Im not a programmer, Im a musican, I can play several instruments, but no I dont know how to make it dynamic. Maybe it is good enough to have a set of dev.modules e.g. 5 Buttons or 10 Buttons, I guess this is the easy way.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:39 am

Hi, Dragon !

I hope you feel fine and have good succes with Scope development !
I imagine you are working on some Scope devices and by reading your posts on Z, I guess they are going to be unique and special !

I also hope you found a solution to all the issues with your device development and SDK...

Do you know when we, poor Scope users, will discover the result of your hard work ? On what kind of device are you working on ? You don't have to answer if you prefer to surprise us ! :D

I'm impatient to try that ! :)

Cheers !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:27 pm

I have different projects in the fire, but regarding MIDI, I'm working on:
- ext. MIDI-IN and out
- convert MIDI-CC into control voltages and vice versa
- same for RPN and NRPN values
- MIDI keyboard (virtual) with options like you have on a real MIDI controller (sliders, knobs, pushbuttons) etc.

Regarding real Scope work, I'm waiting for the Dongle. I working on a multiple harmonics generator (resynthesis). The current device usess too muich DSP power, only 2 voices are available. With a new DSP osc design, I'm expecting at least 4 voices.

dawman
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: MIDI modules

Post by dawman » Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:52 am

Nice to hear.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:29 am

Great ! :)
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

Pygmy Audio Farms
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: MIDI modules

Post by Pygmy Audio Farms » Sat Feb 11, 2017 8:27 pm

Hi, a bit late to reply but for midi, an easy way to handle MPE

looking forward to the new devices

dawman
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: MIDI modules

Post by dawman » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:11 pm

Excellent idea as MPE is really starting to mature.
Not into the Roli stuff, but Continuum and Lin are grabbing my attention.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:17 pm

Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:Hi, a bit late to reply but for midi, an easy way to handle MPE

looking forward to the new devices
So, here is the 1st device: MIDI to CV, 16 CC values can be handled with teaching button: Press the button, apply up to 16 different CCs and press button again. The state will be saved, so next time, you don't need to teach again. The ini file will be automatiically generated in the app directory. The dll goes the usual dll dir (for ex. C:\Program Files\SCOPE SDK XITE\App\Dll). You need the VS 2013 runtime dir too (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=40784.
Example pro (incl):
midi2cv.png
midi2cv.png (60.2 KiB) Viewed 1463 times
Attachments
midi2cv.zip
(742.97 KiB) Downloaded 38 times

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:44 am

At the moment, only one instance is useful. If someone needs more than one, just reply and ask for it. I might have an idea, to make each module unique.

YiannisK
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by YiannisK » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:53 am

Looks great!
Can you give me an example of how I would use this ?
What's it's purpose?
Sorry but I'm not familiar with CV stuff.
Just wondering if there's a use for me in my setup that I might overlook.
Thanks and keep up the great work.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:05 am

YiannisK wrote:Looks great!
Can you give me an example of how I would use this ?
What's it's purpose?
Sorry but I'm not familiar with CV stuff.
Just wondering if there's a use for me in my setup that I might overlook.
Thanks and keep up the great work.
If you got a MIDI keyboard controller, it might have some CC controller as well (buttons, sliders, pots etc). If any of these can produce CCs (Continuous Controls), you can use these outputs to control any potentiometer in Scope. It can be volume, frequency, time - whatever comes to mind. AS exmaple, you can control the frequency of a LP Filter like a Wah-Wah from your keyboard. If you keyboard controller allows a foot pedal: her you have your wah control connect the Midi2CV out to the LP Filter F control, push the T button, move the pedal, push T again and you're done.

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 516
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: MIDI modules

Post by t_tangent » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:47 am

Looks very interesting, and thanks for the example use. I look forward to trying this out, and congrats on your first device. :)

jksuperstar
Posts: 1475
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by jksuperstar » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:41 pm

Wow, DragonSF, great device!

Is there any filtering or interpolation to smooth 7bit MIDI to 32bit CV?

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:50 pm

jksuperstar wrote:Wow, DragonSF, great device!

Is there any filtering or interpolation to smooth 7bit MIDI to 32bit CV?
I can do that. But you'll always have a step, because there is no in-between state. Value is either 54 or 55, but never 54.6. On the other side, if you have an idea, I'm open to suggestions. Another way would be using 14-bit (N)RPN input. I can do that too.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:04 am

A new module: external MIDI IN. If uou encounter note-hanging, push the off-button. To selct the Midi In device, push show and select the device from the combobox. Enjoy!
ext midi in.png
ext midi in.png (20.4 KiB) Viewed 1351 times
If you encounter hanging notes, please tell me. There is a speed limit within Scope, which gives problems at BPM > 160. I might need to increase the buffer.
Attachments
extmidiin.zip
(1.18 MiB) Downloaded 38 times

Post Reply